Welcome to the Fayette County Conservation District



News Release

Applications for Purchasing Development Rights Program in Fayette County due Sept. 3

PDR picture

The Lexington-Fayette County Urban County Government (LFUCG) Rural Land Management Board (RLMB) recently announced an opportunity for Fayette County landowners located in the Rural Service Area to apply for the Purchase of Development Rights (PDR) Program.  Through this program, landowners sell (or donate) conservation easements to ensure that the land remains in agriculture and is not developed. 

Since 2001, through USDA’s Farm and Ranchlands Protection Program (FRPP), the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) in Kentucky has partnered with the RLMB to acquire more than 135 easements on over 17,000 acres.  Approximately $22 million has been provided to the RLMB to help acquire these easements, which are valued at more than twice that amount.   Although FRPP was repealed in the 2014 Farm Bill, NRCS continues to provide similar assistance through the Agricultural Conservation Easements Program.

The deadline for Fayette County landowners to apply for the PDR program is September 3, 2015

An informational meeting will be held on August 20, 2015

More information about the program and the meeting may be found at http://www.lexingtonky.gov/index.aspx?page=497  offsite link image      Questions should be directed to PDR Director Beth Overman at eoverman@lexingtonky.gov

This year's national competition was held in Springfield, Missouri July 27-August 2. This year, our Fayette County Envirothon team came in 12th out of 52 entries. Next year's competition will take place in Ontario, Canada.

 Carly Burton, (Environmental Coordinator) has had 5 state champions accredited to her coaching abilities.  

District Information

The Fayette County Conservation District is a non-profit organization that was organized in 1946 under state statue KRS262. The Conservation District is a subdivision of County Government and is funded by the LFUCG in the form of a millage tax. The Conservation District is operated by a locally elected seven member board.
The purpose of the Conservation district is to educate the public both young and old, in both the urban and rural areas about the preservation of our natural resources. The District helps develop conservation plans on the farms and works with the farmers and landowners to implement conservation minded practices on the land. The district also works within the schools to educate the young on how to protect our natural resources.
The Distrct operates out of the USDA Service Center which houses several agencies that we work with to better service the agriculture sector. The Distrct works in conjunction with the Natural Resources Conservation Service as they are the "technical" agency that services our cost share programs. These NRCS employees are Federal employees who are responsible for administering Farm Bill Programs as well as State Cost Share.
The State Division of Conservation also provides a Field Representative to act as a liason between County and State. The field representative advises the board, attends board meetings, assists the board and staff, provides training to all district staff, ensures that all funding is spent properly and inspects practices that are implemented through State Cost Share.
We are located at 141 Leestown Center Way, Suite 210, Lexington, Kentucky 40511. Office hours are 7:30-4:30 Monday thru Friday. Phone No. is 859-254-5806/3.

See map below for directions

Fayette County Conservation District Office