Chronological order

After the creation of the third film, Tokyo Drift, filmmaker Justin Lin and writer Chris Morgan decided to connect their newest sequel with the original film of the series by casting Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Michelle Rodriguez, Jordana Brewster, and Sung Kang to reprise their roles in subsequent sequels, Fast & Furious and Fast Five, whose plots provide a back-story of the characters and events that lead to The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift. The installments are listed here in chronological order based on storyline instead of release order.

  1. The Fast and The Furious (2001)

  2. Turbo-Charged Prelude (6 minute film) (2003)

  3. 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003)

  4. Los Bandoleros (20 minute film) (2009)

  5. Fast & Furious (2009)

  6. Fast Five (2011)

  7. The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (2006)