Aim of the workshop 

"The many faces of QCD" will be a workshop organized in the city of Ghent (Belgium) from Monday  November 1st until Friday November 5th 2010 . The workshop will take place in an ancient monastery which now serves as a congress centrum and a hotel 
                        Monasterium Poortackere
                        Oude Houtlei 56

                        9000 Gent (Belgium)


We expect the workshop to start at 9.00h on Monday until 17.00h on Friday. 

The aim of the workshop is to bring together experts on QCD in order to face a variety of subjects, including

  • The QCD spectrum of hadrons, mesons, glueballs
  • QCD Green's functions: Lattice studies, Schwinger-Dyson approach, Gribov copies and quantization of Yang-Mills theories

  • QCD at finite temperature, local CP-violation in quark gluon plasma, influence of strong magnetic fields
  • Holographic descriptions of QCD and quark-gluon plasma
  • Topological aspects of QCD
  • (De)confinement and/or chiral symmetry breaking
  • Vacuum condensates, sum rules, ...

We plan to have 40 talks and a poster session. The number of talks (30' + 5') will be limited to allow for ample discussion time.

The deadline for registration was August 31st 2010, therefore the registration is closed. Anyone still interested in coming to the workshop, please email to faceqcd@gmail.com to verify if there is still place left. 

Any question regarding the workshop can be addressed to faceqcd@gmail.com.

This workshop  is supported by



(Invited) Speakers include

  • Reinhard Alkofer  (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz)
  • Christina Aguilar (Federal University of ABC) 
  • Daniele Binosi (ECT*, Trento)
  • Fabien Buisseret (Université de Mons)
  • Maxim Chernodub (Université de Tours & Ghent University)
  • Attilio Cucchieri (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Aldo Cotrone (KU Leuven) 
  • Johanna Erdmenger (MPI, Munich) 
  • Eduardo Fraga (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro) 
  • Jeff Greensite (San Francisco State University) 
  • Markus Huber (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz)
  • Kei-Ichi Kondo (Chiba University) 
  • Axel Maas (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz) 
  • Vincent Mathieu (Université de Mons & Universidad de Valencia)
  • Tereza Mendes (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Michael Müller-Preussker (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
  • Stephan Narison (Université de Montpellier II) *
  • Antti Niemi  (Uppsala University & Université de Tours)
  • Stefan Olejník (Slovak Academy of Sciences, Bratislava)  
  • Orlando Oliviera (Universidade de Coimbra)
  • Joannis Papavassiliou (Universidad de Valencia)
  • Olivier Pène (Université de Paris XI, Orsay) 
  • Jan Pawlowski (Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Mikhail Polikarpov (ITEP)
  • Olivier Rosten (Sussex University)
  • Enrique Ruiz Arriola (Universidad de Granada)
  • Silvio P. Sorella (Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro)
  • André Sternbeck (Regensburg, Germany)
  • Gerrit Schierholz (Universität Regensburg & DESY)
  • Pierre Van Baal (University of Leiden, The Netherlands)
  • Antoine Van Proeyen (KU Leuven)
  • Harmen Warringa (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) 
  • Valentine I. Zakharov (ITEP & MPI, Munich)
  • Daniel Zwanziger (New York University)

* To be confirmed


  • Nele Callebaut (Ghent University)
  • Maxim Chernodub (Université de Tours)
  • Jean-René Cudell (Université de Liège)
  • David Dudal (Ghent University)
  • Silvio P. Sorella (UERJ)
  • Nele Vandersickel (Ghent University)
  • Antoine Van Proeyen (KU Leuven)
  • Henri Verschelde (Ghent University) 
  • Valentine I. Zakharov (ITEP, Moscow)

 Workshop Fee

To cover certain expenses we will ask for a fee of € 150.

We kindly request to transfer the amount of € 150 to the following bank account before October, the 15th:

IBAN CODE:       BE59-3900-9658-0026


ADDRESS:         Universiteit Gent
                             Sint-Pietersnieuwstraat 25
                             9000 Gent, Belgium

Very important! In order for the money to be processed correctly, please mention on the transfer "1000105484 + your name".
As a proof of payment, we ask to bring a copy of your bank transfer to the registration desk.