Club History

Pub Based Team started as The Talbot, played at Astley Park in the Chorley Alliance Cricket League in 1976, then became Euxton Cricket Club 1978.  The team moved to Greenside playing fields in 1980 and joined Horwich and Churches League same year.

1980 - Euxton found their first season in the league difficult finishing second from bottom winning only three games out of 16.

1981 - Euxton made steady improvement finishing fourth from bottom with 6 wins and made it to the Taylor Trophy Cup Final.  The game was played at Adlington C.C. Euxton batted first scoring 94-8 but where defeated by Haslams 94-7 on a least wicket rule.

1982 – Euxton continued to improve finishing fourth and making it to the Taylor Trophy Cup Final again at Adlington C.C. but this time ended up winning the trophy beating St Marys 74 – 9, Euxton 76-6.

1983 – Euxton finished league runners up and won the Hann Cup against Lee Lane Cong.  The game was played at Horwich RMI, Euxton scored 88 a/o with P Skelly scoring 35 and J Loughrey scoring 23 with the bat. R Glover 7/26 B Jackson 7/27.

1984 – Finished as league winners, winning 10 out of 14 games.  Euxton also won the Taylor Trophy for the second time in three seasons.  Euxton beat Lee Lane Cong in the final, Colin Bakewell top scored with 25 as Euxton finished on 114-7.  Lee Lane Cong only managed to score 100-7.

1985 – Defended their league title winning 11 of 16 games played.  Euxton appeared in the Hann Cup Final at Metal Box but finished runners up against All Saints.  Euxton only managed 59 batting first as All Saints won by 5 wickets.

1986 – Won the league again making it three years in a row winning 17 of 20 league games. Euxton completed the treble by winning the Hann Cup and Taylor Trophy.  In the Hann Cup Euxton chased St Marys score of 136 for the loss of 3 wickets with I Stringfellow 47, Colin Bakewell 30, M Porter 30 all making contributions with the bat. The pick of the Euxton bowlers was Colin Bakewell taking 4/51.  In Taylor Trophy Cup Final Euxton scored 125-5 batting first and again Euxton’s I Stringfellow 47 and M Porter 30 where in the runs. Euxton won the game by 50 runs bowling St Johns out for 75. 

1987 – Finished  3rd in the league, Astley Village won league and Hann Cup.

1988 – Won league won 17 out of 22, won Hann Cup 90-9 vs. Catherine’s 86 a/o & Chortex Trophy Euxton 106-6 against Haslams 67-9. M Lee 47* M Dunn 23*.

1989 – Won league, Hann Cup & Chortex Trophy Final

Hann Cup 145-7 against St Johns 143 B Paling 32*, K Riley 27* & A Lee 27.

Chortex Trophy 129-6 M Fisher 35 beat St Johns 89 a/o

1990 – Finished 3rd

1991 – Finished 3rd won Hann Cup against St Johns 91 a/o Euxton 92/3 I Jones 33 B Pailing 31* K Riley 4/36 C Dolderson 4/22

1992 – Finished 2nd behind Astley Village who won treble.

1993 – Finished 5th, lost to Astley Village in Hann Cup Final.  Astley village 193-7 C.Millward 58, A Patel 39, A Snell 28.  Euxton scored 130 M Dunn 26, J Nightingale 26, A Snell 4/24.

In 1993 Balshaw Park was signed over to Euxton on 23rd April and ground was registered 28th May. 

1994 – Finished 4th, won Chortex Trophy beating Catherine’s.

Inaugural Day 15th May 1994.

At the beginning of the season Euxton decided that it would be there last season in Horwich & Churches after an application to join Wigan & District League was accepted.  During a 14 year period Euxton were league champions 5 times, runners up 2 times. 5 times winners of Hann Cup, runners up 2 times.  Taylor Trophy later named Chortex Trophy winners 6 times, runners up 1 time.  Won league 5 times in a 6 year spell.  Euxton were the first club to achieve the treble twice, and also the first club to win all four summer trophies in one season.  Euxton also share a record of most wins in a season 17 (1986, 1988).

Rivals Astley Village folded and players and committee members joined Euxton for 1995 season.

Euxton’s Horwich & Churches League Honours Board.

League Champions 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989.

League Runners up 1983 & 1992.

Hann Cup Winners 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991.

Hann Cup Runners up 1985 & 1993.

Taylor Trophy/Chortex Cup Winners, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1994.

Taylor Trophy/Chortex Cup Runners up 1981

Festival Trophy winners 1982, 1984, 1989, 1991, runners up 1983.