Home Page

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society to Induct 34 Islander Nursing Students


CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – A total of 34 new members will be inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing on Thursday, August 3, at 7 p.m. in the Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Performing Arts Center.  Each inductee will receive a lavender and white honorary cord, along with an inductee ribbon from Eta Omicron Chapter officers. The event is free and open to the public and a reception in the lobby will follow the ceremony. 

Twenty-seven inductees will receive a Bachelor of Science and seven will receive a Master of Science in Nursing from Texas A&M-Corpus Christi.

 The keynote address will feature Dr. Susan Dyess, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, NE-BC, HWNC-BC.  Coming from Florida in May 2017, Dyess is the new Associate Dean for Graduate Nursing Programs and a Professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi.  The title of her presentation is “Leadership and Scholarship: A Lifelong Pursuit”.

“Leadership and scholarship need to be intentional, lifelong pursuits if nurses want to attain the fullness of excellence” said Dyess. “Leading others and leading care are central to advancing excellence in individual and collective professional nursing practice.”  Her presentation will address how concurrent practice, research and education go hand-in-hand.

Membership in the nursing honor society consists of undergraduate and graduate students, as well as nurse leaders from the community.  New inductees meet the requirements of academic success, academic integrity, professionalism and leadership potential.     

The mission of the only honorary society of Nursing is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Eta Omicron is the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. It was chartered in 1984 by many faculty members of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. 

Purchase Professional Ticket

Purchase Student Ticket


Previous events:

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

The Art Museum of South Texas

The annual presentation highlights both local and national nursing leaders to stimulate thoughtful discussions about nursing leadership and research.  This year, the presentation has been approved for Continuing Nursing Education (1.0) 

Tickets $50 Per Person  

 6pm Reception    6:30pm Welcome in Auditorium    6:45pm Lecture

Art Museum of South Texas in Johnson Building, 1902 N. Shoreline

Purchase online below or mail checks to:

Eta Omicron Chapter, College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

6300 Ocean Drive, Unit 5805
Corpus Christi, Texas 78412-5805

For More Information, contact Eta Omicron President Yvonne Serna at Yvonne.serna@tamucc.edu