It was such a great event! Kudos to Lauren Greenfield 
the #ECEA Pride Chair and the 
Committee on a wonderful year and 
Pride Reception. 

Congrats to Chris Cannella and 
Phil McCormick (Co-Chairs) of the #ECEA
LGBTQ Committee on a successful event 
on May 9th titled called 
"Issues Facing the LGBTQ+ Youth, 
Community and their Allies." 
along with the Pride Chair Lauren Greenfield
The newly elected NJEA 
Secretary-Treasurer Steve Beatty 
joined in on the event.

Congratulations to Chris Cannella Co-Chair of the
 #ECEA LGBTQ Committee for receiving the 
SOGI Equality Champion Award 
this weekend at the
Minority Leadership & Recruitment Conference.


Kudos to the ECEA Human & Civil Rights Committee on 
a wonder Dinner/Workshop where Larry Hamm 
(Chairman of the People's Organization
 for Progress) 
was the guest speaker!

The ECEA Overnight Express was a success.
Kudos to Pat Landon (chairperson) and the
 ECEA Overnight Express Committee

Congratulations to the newly elected President Marie Blistan 
& Secretary /Treasurer Steve Beatty for 
winning the NJEA Elections

Congratulations to the Essex County 
Teacher of the Year
SFC Harvey Craig from Irvington High School (IEA)

                                             ECEA Pride for Public Education 
                                                                                                                                                                             Essay Contest
We were so ecstatic to see the amazing turn out for 
the ECEA Pride in Public Education Essay Contest 
held at Livingston Mall tonight.
 Our students rock with the artwork 
that is displayed at the mall. 
Some of our ECEA Team Members attended the 
NEA ESP Conference this weekend in 
Dallas, TX
(Left-Right)- Jason Frasier (NEA Director), Christine Candarella (ECEA-Treasurer), Kimberly Scott (NJEA Executive Committee & NEA Director) , 
Jacqui Greadington (ECEA- 1st VP) & Sabina Ellis (ECEA-Public Relations)

ECEA Annual 
Legislative Dinner
Click on the photo highlights tab to view the 
pictures from the event

Wow!!! Essex County is always representing across the country.
This week some of our #ECEA Executives
Committee and Representative members 
are advocating for students at the 
NEA Today Leadership Conference 
being held in Orlando,FL. #ECEA Rocks!


Our very own Anthony Rosamilia (ECEA President) 
and Kimberly Scott (NJEA Executive Committee Member) 
attended the Essex County Democrats Labor Breakfast.


ECREA held their Annual Winter Luncheon
 at the Hanover Manor

Kimberly Scott-Hayden 
(NJEA Executive Committee Member)
At the NFIE (National Foundation for the Improvement of Education) Gala 
presented by NEA on Friday, February 10, 2017 
held at the National Museum Building in Washington, DC.


Here is ECEA's 2nd VP Michael Rollins with some ECEA members 
at a rally at The Robert Treat Hotel in Newark N.J. today (1/15/17) 
to oppose repeal of Obamacare

Essex County was in the house for the 
NJEA Human & Civil Rights Celebration that took place on 
Saturday, January 14th

(l to r): Brian Rock (ECEA Secretary) , Kimberly Scott (
NJEA Executive Committee Member) , 
Michael Rollins (ECEA 2nd VP) and Peter Blodnik (ECEA-Belleville E.A)


We celebrated our new location in Cedar Grove!


"Torchbearer for Education Awards"

Congratulations to all those being honored, but I especially want to congratulate SANDY LINTON, my good friend, and colleague in ECEA & ECREA! Sandy has been the Director of Essex County Education Association for many many years and she puts her all into the position. It has been a pleasure working with her and she's so deserving of this honor. I hope everyone from ECEA lets her know how excited and happy we are for her!
(Alex Protopapas)

🏆 Congratulations Sandy! 🎊



GLORIA STEWART, a veteran paraprofessional at Heywood Avenue School in the District of Orange, has been named ESP OF THE YEAR for ESSEX COUNTY. Her name was submitted to NJEA as ECEA's nomination for ESP of the state. You can go to and sign up for the ESP Conference. There will be an NJEA ESP Awards Dinner on Saturday, February 4, 2017 at the Hilton Hotel in E. Brunswick to honor New Jersey winners. 

(Pictured with NEA's Princess Moss)

11/10 & 11/2016

Another successful NJEA Convention!  
Many ECEA Members participated, attended our ECEA Hospitality Suite, and traveled with our members on buses sponsored by ECEA. 
ECEA #1 again!


ECEA President,  Anthony Rosamilia and Mike Rollins, ECEA 2nd VP with 
AMBASSADOR PHIL MURPHY, Candidate for NJ Governor


Our very own Kimberly Scott representing us as NEA Director: 

Rich discussion with Congresswoman Bonnie Watson-Coleman on ESSA, equity, and giving students and families access to necessary resources to help ensure success. — with Caleb,James Frazier, Bonnie Watson-Coleman and Kimberly Scott at Cannon House Office Building.



Essex County Education Association had its NJEA Fall Focus Meeting on Wednesday, September 21 at Nanina's in the Park in Belleville, NJ. Fall Focus Meeting are important because they inform members about relevant issues in public education such as Chapter 78, Pensions, and creating local ESSA teams. Anthony Rosamilia, ECEA President, introduced the officers, NJEA Sec/Treas. Sean Spiller, Kim Scott NEA Director, program coordinator Denise Policastro, as well as ECEA UniServ staff and other NJEA Representatives. The meeting was well attended and members networked and exchanged ideas which they will turnkey back to their members in their local districts.
Thank you to all who attended! 
(For more photos go to Photos tab)




Cedar Grove Education Association to use grant to enhance community relationship with school district



Proud of Team EOEA. An awesome group of leaders who are dedicated to advocating for our members. Honored to be your President. Together we can change the landscape for members and therefore have impact upon the futures of the students were serve. EOEA leaders and members are second to none!! ONWARD in our struggle for public education!!!!! (Courtesy of Jacqui Greadington - Facebook))




Phillip McCormick representing ECEA at Columbia High School