October 2007

Site Council Meeting

Room A208 – October 25, 2007



Karen Boden – Teacher

Kelly Burner – Parent – Absent

Paulette Caudill – Teacher

Tracy Churchill – Teacher

Colleen Cox – Student

Jim Garza – Principal

Ray Gen – Teacher/Chairperson

Patricia Guzman – Classified Employee

Riley Peck – Student

Jayne Pimlott – Vice-Chairperson/Parent

Aubrianne Rose – Student

Maxine Walsleben – Classified Person/Secretary

Lisa Wilkin – Parent


AMENDED – 11/28/07


Meeting opened by Dr. Gen who welcomed both returning members and new student members Colleen Cox and Riley Peck.


Minutes from the June 2007 meeting were approved as submitted.


Mr. Garza reported that Ms. Mosquera, Literacy Team Chairperson is working with ELD students  with much success.  Literacy Team and Mr. Garza still seeking funding to purchase the Read 180 software to be used in the CAHSEE English and special education classes.


Mr. Garza reviewed with new members the responsibility of Site Council over the ELAC program.


Approved purchases from 2006-2007 school year were reviewed and the last purchase of 35 computers for the library are in and installed and being used with much success.


New Business:


Mr. Garza reviewed the API Progress Report for 2006-2007.  ESHS met all requirements.  (See Attachments)  Sub groups reports were discussed and how to help increase scores even more.  Discussion was held on ways to help support Latino and Socially-Economically disadvantaged students as well.


Mr. Garza updated council of the possibility of having El Camino Colleges Classes at the high school.  Mr. Garza will keep the council apprised as discussions continue.




Scheduled Meeting Dates for 2007-2008 School Year

November 14, 2007

December 19, 2007

January  23, 2007

February 20, 2008

March 19, 2008

April 23, 2008

May 21, 2008

June 11, 2008*


*Due to finals and graduation the June meeting will be held the 2nd Wednesday of the month.


Amended Portion of Minutes – Terms of Members


Karen Boden – 2007-2008

Ray Gen – 2007-2008

Tracey Churchill – 2008-2009

Paulette Caudill – 2008-2009

Lisa Wilkins – 2008-2009

Kelly Burner – 2007-2008

Jayne Pimlott – 2007-2008

Kellye Larson – 2006-2007

Ida Legesse – 2006-2007

Aubranna Rose – 2007-2008

Patricia Guzman – 2008-2009

Maxine Walsleben – 2007-2008



Meeting Adjourned at 2:10PM




Folder: Site Council