Home‎ > ‎Family History‎ > ‎

Genealogy links

Selected Web Sites useful for Family History

These links are based on talks presented to family history groups, the last of which was to the Bishopsgate Branch of the East of London FHS on 29th February 2008.

Gateways

Cyndis List  www.CyndisList.com
GENUKI  www.genuki.org.uk
Genealogy Links - UK  www.genealogylinks.net/uk/
England GenWeb  www.rootsweb.com/~engwgw/

Search Engines

Google  www.google.com
Google for Genealogy  www.genealogy-search-help.com/
Vivisimo (groups results)  http://vivisimo.com/

Organisations

Borthwick Institute for Archives (York)  www.york.ac.uk/inst/bihr/
Burkes Peerage & Baronetage  www.burkes-peerage.net/
College of Arms  www.college-of-arms.gov.uk
English & Welsh Probate  www.gov.uk/search-will-probate
Essex County Council  www.essexcc.gov.uk
Essex Soc. for FH  www.esfh.org.uk
Family Records Centre  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/frc/familyrecords.htm
Federation of FHS  www.ffhs.org.uk
Guild of One name Studies  www.one-name.org
Harleian Society  www.harleian.co.uk
Imperial War Museum  www.iwm.org.uk
Inst. of Heraldic & Gen. Studies  www.ihgs.ac.uk
National Archives  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Soc. of Genealogists  www.sog.org.uk

Resources

Access to Archives www.a2a.org.uk
Archives Hub (20 Universities)  www.archiveshub.ac.uk
British Library  www.bl.uk
Essex Record Office  http://www.essexcc.gov.uk/vip8/ecc/ECCWebsite/dis/cha.jsp?channelOid=13813
Essex Libraries  www.essexcc.gov.uk/libraries
Family Tree Magazine  www.family-tree.co.uk
Hospital Records Database  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/hospitalrecords/
National Newspaper Library  www.bl.uk/collections/newspapers.html
National Archives  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/
SEAX (Essex Archives)  seax.essexcc.gov.uk/
Good Web Guide (The) - Genealogy  http://www.thegoodwebguide.co.uk/genealogy/

Sources

Abney Pk Cem. (N. London) Burials  http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~abneypark/abneyy.html
Canadian 1901,1906 & 1911 Census indexes  http://automatedgenealogy.com
Canadian WW1 Expeditionary Force
 www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/military/025002-6100-e.html
Comm. War Graves Commission  www.cwgc.org
Ellis Island On-line Database  www.ellisisland.org
Essex Baptisms 1780-1840  http://sturnidae.com/Essex/Baptisms.htm
Essex Marriages 1754-1851  http://sturnidae.com/Essex/Marriages.htm
Essex Burials 1813-1865  http://essex.sturnidae.com/Burials.htm
amilySearch  www.familysearch.org
FreeBMD  freebmd.rootsweb.com
Historical Directories  www.historicaldirectories.org
UK Register of Electors  www.192.com
World Wide Telephone Directories  www.infobel.com/World/
WW1 British POWs  www.1914-1918.net/pow.htm
Church of Eng. Clergy (CCEd)  www.theclergydatabase.org.uk/
UK Register of Electors  www.b4usearch.co.uk/

Subscriptions

Ancestry  www.ancestry.co.uk/
British Origins  www.britishorigins.com
BMD - searchable indexes  www.bmdindex.co.uk/
Census - searchable name indexes  www.thegenealogist.co.uk/
Certificate ordering  www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificate/
England & Wales BMD Indexes  http://www.findmypast.com/
Family History Online  www.familyhistoryonline.net/
Family Relatives  www.familyrelatives.com/
Findmypast.com  www.findmypast.co.uk/ UK record collection, (was 1837online)
Genes Reunited  www.genesreunited.co.uk/
Lost Cousins  www.lostcousins.com/
National Archive of MIs  www.memorialinscriptions.org.uk/
Origins Network  www.originsnetwork.com/
Scotland's People  www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
Surname Index of 2,500 historical books  www.theoriginalrecord.com
TNA docs on line (PCC wills; WW1 medals etc)  www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/
UK Register of Electors  www.192.com/
Victorian Wars Archive  www.wartimesindex.co.uk/

Newsletters

Eastman's on-line Genealogy  blog.eogn.com/

Mail lists

Rootsweb hosted  http://lists.rootsweb.com/
John Fuller's Genealogy  www.rootsweb.com/~jfuller/gen_mail.html
Message Boards  http://boards.ancestry.com/

Software

Genealogical Software Report Card  www.mumford.ca/reportcard/
Reviews, ratings & comparisons  genealogy.about.com/od/software_reviews/
Richard Wilson comparison  http://rwilson.us/comparison.htm

Suppliers

Anguline Research Archive  http://anguline.co.uk/
Archive CDBooks  www.archivecdbooks.org/
Back to Roots  www.backtoroots.co.uk/
Direct Resources  www.direct-resources.uk.com/
Family History Indexes  www.fhindexes.co.uk/
Family History Shop  www.jenlibrary.u-net.com
GENFair  www.genfair.co.uk/
JiGraHResources  www.jigrah.co.uk
Midlands Historical Data  www.midlandshistoricaldata.org
S&N Genealogy Supplies  www.genealogy.demon.co.uk
TWR Computing  www.twrcomputing.co.uk
UK Genealogy Archives  www.ukgenealogyarchives.com/

General

Adoption Search & Reunion  www.adoptionsearchreunion.org.uk/
Archaic Medical Terms  www.genealogy-quest.com/glossaries/diseases2.html
Battle of Britain Hist. Soc.  http://www.battleofbritain.net/bobhsoc/
BBC History  www.bbc.co.uk/history/
Berkshire Genealogy Resources  www.rootsweb.com/~engbrk/
British & Commonwealth Regiments  http://regiments.org/default.htm
 site temporarily unavailable
British Empire Battles, 18th & 19th Centuries  www.britishbattles.com
BMD Eng. & Wales Cert. ordering  www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificates
Crew Lists of Merchant Mariners, 1861-1913  www.crewlist.org.uk
Enclosure Maps (Arts & humanities data)  http://www.ahds.ac.uk/history/collections/historical-maps.htm
Family History Fairs  http://members.aol.com/aquarterma/familyhistoryfairs.html
Free Translation  www.freetranslation.com
Gazetteer of British Place Names  www.gazetteer.co.uk/
Historic Maps  www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/products/historicalmapdata/
IGI Batch Numbers - British & N. America  http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~hughwallis/IGIBatchNumbers.htm#PageTitle
Look-up Exchange Index  http://aztecrose.tripod.com/LookupExchange.htm
Newcomers Guide to FH  www.genuki.org.uk/gs/Newbie.html
Ordnance Survey Maps  www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/
Old Towns  www.oldtowns.co.uk/
Printed Family Trees  www.genealogyprinters.com
Railway Ancestors FHS  www.railwayancestors.fsnet.co.uk