Area Envirothons

2020 Area Envirothons across North Carolina:

Remember: to qualify for the state-level NC Enviorthon competition, teams must first Register, Compete and Qualify at a local Area Envirothon. For questions regarding local Area-level Envirothon competitions contact the Area Representative for your County or you can contact your local Soil & Water Conservation District to find out more.

Mountain Region

Area 1 Mountain Envirothon

(Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey)

2020 Date: March 25th (snow date April 1st) - Mountain Research Station, Waynesville, NC

Area 2 Northwest Envirothon

(Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin)

2020 Date: March 25th (snow date April 2nd) - McGee Center

Piedmont Region

Area 3 Envirothon

(Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Guilford, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham)

2020 Date: March 18th - Elon University

Area 4 Envirothon

(Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wilson)

2020 Date: March 19th - Owens Park, Louisburg, Franklin County

Area 7 Sand Hills Envirothon

(Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland)

2020 Date: March 19th (rain date March 26th) - Jones Lake State Park

Area 8 Southern Piedmont Envirothon

(Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, Union)

2020 Date: March 24 & 25 - Catawba College, Salisbury, NC

Coastal Region

Area 5 & 6 Coastal Envirothon

**Areas 5 & 6 hold a joint NC Coastal Envirothon each year, but each Area will have it's own set of winners qualify for the state-level NC Envirothon competition

2020 Date: March 17th - Cool Springs EE Center, Askin, Craven County

Area 5: (Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington)

Area 6: (Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Wayne)

Or you can contact your local Soil & Water Conservation District to find out more