The Electronic Materials Symposium is an inter-disciplinary conference that presents a broad spectrum of expert views on problems at the intersection of electronic materials and devices. The one-day symposium seeks to inform participants about challenges that excite today's materials scientists through a series of invited talks by experts in their respective fields.

The 44th Annual Northern California Electronic Materials Symposium, co-sponsored by TMS and IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section, will be held at IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose on Friday, May 20, 2016. The program features presentations on advanced electronic materials processing techniques and devices, and analytical techniques by outstanding speakers who have made significant contributions to their respective fields. Registration will begin at 8:00 am.

Some of the speakers.

Prof. Thomas H. Lee, Stanford University (Internet of Things)

Prof. Irfan Siddiqi, UC Berkeley (Quantum Computing)

Prof. Tom Jaramillo, Stanford University (CO2 Reduction)

Dr. Greg Whiting, PARC (Flexible Electronics)

Dr. Anubhav Jain, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Computational Materials)

Dr. Paul Nuyujukian, Stanford University (Brain-Machine Interfaces)

Dr. Geoffrey Burr, IBM Research - Almaden (NVM for accelerating Machine Learning)

The registration fees for the 2016 EMS meeting are as follows:

General: $100 (after May 10th - $120)

Graduate Students: $50 (after May 10th - $60)

Retired: $90 (after May 10th - $110)

Undergraduate and High School students: FREE

Click here to register.

Click here for the location. Detailed map of the venue can be found here.

To view past programs of the Symposium, click here.


IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section
IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section, Monterey Bay Subsection
The Material Society



Ernesto Marinero

Purdue University

Ho-Cheol Kim



Jie Yao

Vice Chair

UC Berkeley

Jeongwon Park 

SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Dragoslav Grbovic

Naval Postgraduate School

Ning Cheng 


Toshishige Yamada

Santa Clara University & U. C. Santa Cruz

Lawrence Muray

Keysight Technologies

Alberto Salleo

Stanford University

Kristin Persson

Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

Jonathan Fan

Stanford University

Kalapi Biswas


James Spallas

Keysight Technologies

The Electronic Materials Symposium Committee exists to promote the understanding of electronic materials within the industrial and academic communities of the San Francisco Bay Area. This committee organizes the annual Electronic Materials Symposium, featuring presentations on advanced electronic, magnetic and optical materials processing, characterization and devices by outstanding speakers who have made significant contributions to their fields. Proceeds of the symposium are used to support electronic materials research and education in local universities.

Subpages (1): Sponsors