Welcome to IEEE EM-RITE 2013

IEEE International Workshop on Empirical Methods for Recognizing Inference in TExt

In conjunction with IEEE IRI 2013

San Francisco, USA
August 14, 2013

Textual Entailment and Paraphrase are inference tasks of natural language processing (NLP) for automatically detecting entailment, paraphrase, and contradiction in texts. The aim of this workshop is to provide a forum for original high-quality research contributions on empirical methods for recognizing inference in text as well as multidisciplinary research opportunities.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to practical areas that span a variety of aspects of empirical methods for recognizing inference in text including:
  • Guidelines, standards, best practices and models for the construction and annotation of Textual Entailment datasets
  • Evaluation of Knowledge Resources for Textual Entailment
  • Recognizing Inference in Text
  • Recognizing Textual Entailment
  • Question Answering
  • Information Retrieval
  • Information Extraction
  • Text Summarization
  • Text Mining
  • Web Mining
  • Natural Language Processing Applications
  • Sentiment Analysis
  • Opinion Mining 
  • Social Computing
  • Social Media Mining


Authors are invited to submit a paper up to 8 pages (in English) in double-column IEEE format following the submission guidelines available at the IEEE IRI-2013 web page. Papers must be original and not submitted to or accepted by any other conference or journal. An electronic version (PDF format) of the full paper should be submitted by the paper submission deadline to EasyChair (https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=emrite2013). All submissions will be acknowledged.

  • Regular paper submission: April 30, 2013 May 20, 2013
  • Notification of acceptance: May 30, 2013 June 15, 2013
  • Camera-ready paper due: June 14, 2013 July 1, 2013
  • Author registration due: June 14, 2013 July 7, 2013
  • Conference events: August 14-16, 2013


Workshop Co-Chairs
  • Min-Yuh Day, Tamkang University, Taiwan
  • Cheng-Wei Lee, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan
  • Hideki Shima, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Program Committee
  • Paavo Arvola, University of Tampere, Finland
  • Weide Chang, California State University, Sacramento, USA
  • Chi-bin Cheng, Tamkang University, Taiwan
  • Wen-Lian Hsu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Hyeju Jang, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Mike Tian-Jian Jiang, Yaraku Inc., Japan
  • Chi-chang Jou, Tamkang University, Taiwan
  • Lun-Wei Ku, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Chuan-Jie Lin, National Taiwan Ocean University, Taiwan
  • Chao-Lin Liu, National Chengchi University, Taiwan
  • Rick Cheng-Yu Lu, PIXNET Media, Taiwan
  • Maryoly Ortega, Universidad Simon Bolivar, Venezuela
  • Eriks Sneiders, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Ming-Feng Tsai, National Chengchi University, Taiwan
  • Richard Tzong-Han Tsai, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan
  • Vincent S. Tseng, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Yotaro Watanabe, Tohoku University, Japan
  • William Webber, The University of Maryland, USA
  • I-Chin Wu, Fu Jen Catholic University, Taiwan
  • Shih-Hung Wu, Chaoyang University of Technology, Taiwan
  • Youzheng Wu, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan
  • Jean-Daniel Zucker, Institut de Recherche pour le Developpement, France