Awards & Memberships
11th International Platinum Symposium poster prize in Sudbury, Canada in June 2010 for the poster titled 'Projectile identification in terrestrial impact structures and ejecta material'.
The 2010 Antarctica InBev-Baillet Latour Fellowship Award with the MICROMETA project that will look in-depth at micrometeorites to try to gain a better insight into planet formation and the evolution and development of our Solar System. Since 2007 the InBev-Baillet Latour Fund and the International Polar Foundation have awarded a scientific grant dedicated to the study of climate changes and their impact on the environment. Taking the form of a research grant of the sum of 150,000 euros, the Antarctica InBev-Baillet Latour Fellowship Award is awarded every two years to a project carried out as part of a doctorate or post-doctorate at a Belgian university. It enables its beneficiary to carry out his/her work in the discipline and field of his/her choice, at the new Belgian polar station Princess Elisabeth, construction of which commenced in the Autumn of 2007. Also see the International Polar Foundation website here. 
Travel Award to go to the Large Impact and Planetary Evolution IV conference, Johannesburg, South Africa, August 2008, received from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, Houston, Texas.
The Barringer Family Fund for Meteorite Impact Research in 2007 with the project "PGE analyses for projectile identification of the late Eocene ejecta layers". This special fund was established by the Barringer Crater Company to support field work by students interested in the study of impact cratering processes. It provides a small number (3 to 5) competitive grants each year for financial support of field research at known or suspected impact sites worldwide.
"JONGERENPRIJS 2006 - PRIX DES JEUNES 2006" of the Geologica Belgica: Award for the best Master Presentation in 2006 received during the annual meeting on Friday the 6th of october, 2006. Thesis: Geochemistry and distribution of platinum group elements in the impact structures of Bosumtwi (Ghana) and Gardnos (Norway). Promotors : Prof. Philippe Claeys, VUB and Prof. Marlina Elburg, UGent.