About Me


  



Emily Voelkel 
PhD Candidate
University of Houston Counseling Psychology Program
emily.voelkel08@gmail.com


Thank you for taking this opportunity to learn more about me and my APAGS Chair-Elect Candidacy! You can read my candidate statement, learn about my initiatives, and watch my video on the APAGS Chair-Elect Candidacy page. I hope these pages give you a better idea of my professional accomplishments and goals. I am currently a counseling psychology doctoral student at the University of Houston, where I am actively engaged in research, clinical work, advocacy, and leadership. After joining the Teach for America (TFA) 2006 corps post-undergrad, I continued to pursue my passion for psychology by completing my master's degree in clinical psychology at the University of Dayton (go Flyers!). In keeping with my TFA roots, I am passionate about diversity, education, and social justice efforts aimed at ameliorating systemic inequities, societal values, and policies/practices that contribute to marginalization and discrimination. While I love my clinical work and research, I have also developed a passion for advocacy efforts, leadership and professional development, and mentorship. I envision that my future career will incorporate all these aspects.



While I am typically drawn toward any research that informs my clinical practice, my research interests today broadly include:
  • Multiculturalism and diversity issues
  • Traumatic stress, coping, and resiliency
  • Veterans' issues (e.g., womens' issues, reintegration, coping and stress)
  • The impact of psychological variables on surgical and health outcomes

My clinical interests are varied and largely include:
  • Working with adults who have experienced trauma across the lifespan
  • Working with adults and families coping with and recovering from serious mental illnesses
  • Integrated, multicultural, and comprehensive psychological assessment
  • Incorporating spirituality, mindfulness, and culturally diverse treatment options into counseling practice

Presenting at the 2011 TPA Convention in San Antionio






While I hope you find these pages informative in regarding to my professional endeavors, I do also hope they help you get to know a little more about me personally. When I have spare time, I enjoy cooking, gardening, reading, traveling, playing sports, and being outdoors. I also spend a lot of my free time with my husband, Kolby, and our 11 month old pup, Hadley! While he is certainly very cute, we sometimes call him "Badley" (see photo below...).