Meaningful Use‎ > ‎

Public Health Meaningful Use

Three of the 10 Meaningful Use menu set requirements specify electronic transmission of the following data to Public Health:
  • Immunizations,
  • Laboratory results for reportable conditions, and
  • Syndromic Surveillance.
Eligible Providers/Hospitals must meet five of the menu set requirements, one of which must be a public health requirement. The measure for validation of Stage 1 public health meaningful use requires only that a single test be performed, and if successful, that transmission should continue if public health is ready to continue receipt.

The Tennessee Department of Health (TDOH) plans to be able to accept electronic transmissions for only two of three Public Health Meaningful Use requirements. Details on each of the requirements can be found below.


The Tennessee Immunization Registry is ready to begin receiving submissions of immunization data from eligible hospitals and eligible providers in either HL7 2.3.1 or HL7 2.5.1 format. Further details can be found on the TDOH Immunization website.

Electronic Laboratory Reporting

Electronic laboratory reporting of reportable conditions to the Tennessee ???, a web-based application used by state and local public health staff for communicable disease surveillance and case management, is managed ???

Syndromic Surveillance