Competitions‎ > ‎

Forfarshire Cup

"The Forfarshire Cup is a football competition in Scotland competed for by teams in the Forfarshire Football Association from Angus and Dundee. The name of the competition is often baffling to some as "Forfarshire" is an archaic and anglicised name for Angus which became official in the late 19th Century around the time of Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889 which restructured and renamed many of Scotland's counties, however the name quickly fell into disuse and was very rarely used in everyday conversation and non existent today.

The Forfarshire Football Association was founded in 1883 and was comprised of 18 clubs. Twelve from Dundee, two from Arbroath and one each from Broughty Ferry and Lochee (both independent of Dundee at the time), Coupar Angus and Montrose. The association immediately put up a trophy for competition between its member clubs. At that time, cup competitions were the only form of organised football in Scotland. In the early days Scottish football the county cups were regarded as just as prestigious than the Scottish Cup, especially outwith Western Scotland and the Central belt whose teams were best represented in the Scottish Cup, with the result that they often attracted substantial crowds." - The Forfarshire FA

In the first season of the competition back in 1883-84 the participants included Arbroath, Strathmore (Arbroath), Montrose United and Coupar Angus from outwith Dundee; Broughty from Broughty Ferry and Avondale from Lochee. The Dundee clubs consisted of Strathmore, Balgay, Our Boys, East End, Dundee Harp, West End, Hibernians, Perseverence, Windmill, Seafield, Strathtay and Clydesdale.

Subpages (1): 1883-84