The Johns Hopkins Diversity Postdoctoral Alliance Committee (DPAC)

formally invites you to attend our

4th Annual Excellence in Diversity Symposium.

When: Thursday, November 7th, 2019, 12:00 PM-6:00 PM EST

Where: Miller Research Building, Turner Concourse and Tilghman Auditorium, Johns Hopkins East Baltimore campus

Open to: Registration is open to all Hopkins affiliates, the regional scientific community, friends, and family. URM trainees* at all levels from any Hopkins campus and institute are invited to submit abstracts.

Attire: Business casual/professional

This event will focus on showcasing the excellence and tremendous contributions by scientists with diverse backgrounds to the forefront of science here at Johns Hopkins.

Abstract & Registration Deadlines:

Oral and Poster Presentations: Friday, September 27th, 2019 11:59PM EST

Registration closes: Friday, November 1st , 2019

**Abstract submission is not required to attend, but registration is mandatory. Abstract submission is restricted to URM Hopkins trainees*. Posters presented at other scientific meetings will be accepted. All presentations will be recorded and may be used in promotional material by DPAC.

Abstracts and awards:

The best scientific abstract from each trainee level will be awarded a travel award (to be used for a future conference) and will deliver an oral presentation!

  • Oral presentation awards (Hopkins URM Trainees only)
  • Poster presentations (Open to all URM Trainees)

The symposium organizing committee would like to gratefully acknowledge Dr. Damani Piggott and the Office of Graduate Biomedical Education, Dr. Dana Boatman and the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, and Dr. Alberto Roca of DiverseScholar and for their contributions and support in the organization of this symposium.

We are excited to highlight the following events (visit the Program page for more details):

Plenary speakers

John Carpten Ph. D.

AACR Program Chair 2019 Professor and Chair of Translational Genomics Director, Institute of Translational GenomicKeck School of Medicine, University of Southern California

Dr. Carpten is an internationally recognized expert in genome science, and possesses unique training in multiple disciplines including germline genetics for disease risk and predisposition, somatic cancer genomics, health disparities research, cell biology, functional genomics, and precision medicine.

Dr. Carpten served as Program Chair of the AACR Annual Meeting 2019

Dope Labs Podcast Hosts:

University of Maryland, College Park National Institute of Standards and Technology