Conference on D-modules in Commutative Algebra
CIMAT, Guanajuato, Mexico, August 10 - 14, 2015


The theory of D-modules has become an indispensable tool in commutative algebra. Since its initial use to study local cohomology, D-modules have been used to study tight closure, F-jumping coefficients, hyperplane arrangements, Nakai conjecture, and in other commutative algebra contexts. On the other hand, these applications have also motivated important developments in the theory of D-modules itself. Some D-module-theoretic results that used to be known only in characteristic zero have been extended to positive characteristic. In addition, Eulerian graded D-modules were introduced to study the graded structure of local cohomology modules of a polynomial ring over a field. Despite this progress, many questions remain open. This conference intends to expose commutative algebraists to techniques and new advancements in the world of D-modules, to bring experts in D-modules and in commutative algebra together to share ideas and develop collaborations in this area, and to increase awareness of these developments among young mathematicians. The conference has limited funding for young researchers and graduate students. To apply for funding please visit the registration page.

Lecture series:

Arithmetic D-modules
Daniel Caro (Universite de Caen, France)

Riemann-Hilbert Correspondence 
Zoghman Mebkhout (Institut de Mathematiques de Jussieu, France) 

Applications of D-modules in Commutative Algebra
Anurag K. Singh (University of Utah, USA)

Research Talks:

Vladimir Bavula (University of Sheffield, UK)  
Daniel J. Hernández (University of Utah, USA)
Laura Matusevich  (Texas A&M University, USA)
Luis Narváez-Macarro (Universidad de Sevilla, Spain)
Luis Núñez-Betancourt (University of Virginia, USA)
Claudiu Raicu (University of Notre Dame, USA)
Michel Van den Bergh (Universiteit Hasselt, Belgium)
Rafael Villarreal (CINVESTAV, Mexico)
Uli Walther (Purdue University, USA)
Emily E. Witt (University of Utah)
Santiago Zarzuela (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)


Xavier Gómez-Mont (CIMAT, Mexico)
Gennady Lyubeznik (University of Minnesota, USA)
Luis Núñez-Betancourt (University of Virginia, USA), 
Wenliang Zhang (University of Illinois, USA)