Music News‎ > ‎

Them Crooked Vultures

posted Oct 31, 2009, 11:08 AM by Dennis Gess   [ updated Nov 12, 2009, 4:20 PM ]
Anyone who knows anything about rock 'n' roll knows that one of the greatest bands ever died when John Bonham died on September 25th, 1980. Led Zeppelin decided not to continue without their drummer, and so the band died, until 2007 when they reunited for a one-off reunion concert with John Bonham's son, Jason.

The time before and after the reunion concert was a time when the surviving 3 members of the band messed around and dabbled in small-time albums. Guest-playing on other people's works, recording soundtracks for movies, etc. Just crumbs.

Everything kind of quieted down until July 2009, when the English music magazine NME reported that Dave Grohl, Josh Homme and John Paul Jones had begun recording some material. It was yet unclear if this was going to be a new group formation, or if it was just another musical tumble in the hay.

As it turned it, it wasn't a one night stand. The new group was annouced by the name of Them Crooked Vultures. Josh Homme did an interview with Antiquiet, and stated that the group 'is hoping for the release of the album before the end of the year'. On September 1st, 2009, the band announced tours of the US and the UK; the UK tour sold out in under 12 minutes. And that's before they even released an album! Think about it; the group's name was just announced, then almost immediately a tour, and the UK leg sells completely in 12 minutes, and no one's even heard any of their material! That's because the reputation of the bandmates is enough to justify any reckless purchase of tickets: Dave Grohl has played in Nirvana, Josh Homme has played in Queens of the Stone Age, and John Paul Jones, of course, played in Led Zeppelin.

Since TCV decided to ease the mind of anyone that purchased tickets too early, they released their first single, entitled 'New Fang'. You can listen to it here:

New Fang

Listen to it, and you'll see that the single combines the best parts of all three members: Dave's crashing, pounding drums, Josh's smooth vocals and John's pumping bass lines. The new album comes out on November 17th, 2009, and as soon as it does, I'll write a review. I can only imagine how awesome this album is going to be.