Death From Above’s discography is extensive with many vinyl’s and extremely rare items you can only find of the record companies websites for a day or two. Death from Above’s former recording companies are as follows: Last Gang (Canada), Ache, 679 (European), Sound Virus, Vice (US), and JVC Entertainment (Japan / Asia).

Heads Up

A six song EP released by Vancouver label Ache Records on December 15, 2002 on vinyl and CD formats. It was later re-issued in CD format by labels Last Gang and Ache because of the success of their first full-length album, You're A Woman, I'm A Machine, in 2005. At the time of the release, the band was still simply known as Death From Above but following it, DFA Records, issued a legal letter requiring them to change their name. Thus, 1979 was added to the band's name, which represented the year of singer/drummer Grainger's birth. The releases of this album had many errors. On the 2005 reissue, it labeled the song "Too Much Love" as "To Much Love" on the back cover and on the CD. The album title, Heads Up, is only printed on the side of the CD jewel and nowhere else, and on the 2002 issue, the band's website was the wrong address. It was printed deathfromabove.net while it is really .com, and 1979 was added to the address due to the legal dispute with DFA Records. In total, there was only 5000 copies released, possibly making it a collectors item if the band becomes more popular. The 2002 issue is the most valuable, and is not printed anymore; there was 3000 pressed of this issue. The 2005 issue only had 2000 printed and is now becoming harder to find, and more expensive. The "To Much Love" error was carried over from the 2002 release to the 2005 release. The record labels are aware of the errors this CD has. Ache's 12" clear vinyl edition is arguably the most collectible DFA 1979 release, with only 200 copies released. Around 5,000 CD and Vinyl releases were made in all, making it somewhat a rare collector’s item if Death From Above 1979 ever becomes popular. Although, if they do become popular they will most likely re-reissue this CD, so only the originals will be rare. This album is their first-ever release.

Track List

1. Dead Womb

2. Too Much Love

3. Do It! [Live]

4. My Love Is Shared

5. Losing Friends

6. If We Don’t Make It, We’ll Fake It

Romantic Rights [EP]

Released in 2004 by Sound Virus, Romantic Rights contains material for thier upcoming album, You're a Woman, I'm a Machine. It was released in regular vinyl, clear vinyl, and CD format. The clear vinyl format is one the most rare items in Death From Above's discography. There were only 274 printed in clear vinyl, and sells on eBay in excess of one hundred dollars. The regular black vinyl is still in print and so is the CD. This release is often confused with a CD-single; Amazon.com called it a single. It is not a single, it was released as a "preview" of what to expect on You're a Woman, I'm a Machine. It's songs are early renditions of songs on You're a Woman, I'm a Machine. "We Don't Sleep At Night" and "Romantic Rights [Girls Are Short Remix]" is a exclusive to this release. On the cover of this release, it still says Death From Above.

Track List

1. We Don't Sleep At Night

2. Romantic Rights

3. Pull Out

4. Romantic Rights [Girls are Short Remix]

You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine

You're a Woman, I'm a Machine is the debut full-length album by Death from Above 1979. Vice Records in the United States, Last Gang Records in Canada, and Victor Entertainment in Japan released it on October 26, 2004. It was recorded from February to April of 2004 at The Chemical Sound studios in Toronto. Additional recording was done at Studio Plateau in Montreal and the album was engineered and produced by AL - P, with the exception of the Montreal sessions, which were engineered by Drew Malamud. All songs were written and recorded by Sebastien Grainger and Jesse F. Keeler. Joao Carvalho mastered the album in his studio. Casino Steel Publishing, Inc. and Iggy Softrock Publishing, Inc. published all songs. "Romantic Rights,” "Blood on Our Hands" and "Black History Month" have been released as singles and remixed. According to a post made by Jesse F. Keeler on the band's forum, the song title Sexy Results is taken from a Simpson’s episode. The Japan release came with a booklet, printed in Japanese and has a bonus track, "Romantic Rights (The Phone Lovers Remix)", later to be released on Romance Bloody Romance as well.

One thing to note here is that the name of the Album is not in any way intended to be sexual. The name is supposed to mean the amount of work they put into this album, almost machine-like. The work they did to this album left a lot of relationships strained, including thier girlfriends.

In July 2006, You're A Woman, I'm A Machine is a certified gold album in Canada. The standards for a gold album is selling more than 50,000 copies. This was the last accomplishment Jesse F. Keeler and Sebastien Grainger wanted before announcing their breakup.

Track List

1. Turn It Out

2. Romantic Rights

3. Going Steady

4. Go Home, Get Down

5. Blood On Our Hands

6. Black History Month

7. Little Girl

8. Cold War

9. You're a Woman, I'm a Machine

10. Pull Out

11. Sexy Results

Romance Bloody Romance: Remixes and B-Sides

Released on October 18, 2005, Romance Bloody Romance is Death From Above's remix album. Two songs on this album are B-Side's, "Better Off Dead" and "You're Lovely [But You've Got Problems]."

"The remix record is a collection of B-sides and remixes that were put together for releases in the U.K. that were never commercially available in North America," Grainger said. "So as a service to our fans in America, we're selling them a product that has been available in the U.K. for quite some time."

Death From Above later said that this record was purely to make money, and they really didn't care for this album too much.


1. Better Off Dead [la Peste Cover]

2. Blood on Our Hands [Justice Remix]

3. Romantic Rights [Erol Alkan's Love from Below Re-Edit]

4. Black History Month [Alan Braxe & Fred Falke Remix]

5. Little Girl [MSTRKRFT Edition]

6. Romantic Rights [the Phones Lovers Remix]

7. Black History Month [Josh Homme Remix]

8. You're Lovely (But You've Got Problems)

9. Romantic Rights [Marczech Makuziak Remix]

10. Black History Month [Sammy Danger Remix]

11. Romantic Rights [Dahlback Remix]

12. Black History Month [Girl on Girl Revision]

13. Sexy Results [MSTRKRFT Edition]