We welcome all levels of wrestlers; from the beginner wanting to learn the fundamentals of the sport, to those wishing to be competitive on the state, regional or even national level. Led by our head coach, 3x state high school champion Derek Bischof, we teach the fundamentals of Folkstyle (high school), Freestyle (olympic) and Greco-Roman wrestling.

The Dakota Rattlers is looked upon as one of the leading wrestling organizations in North Dakota. Our co-president, Joel Sandy, is the North Dakota State Chairman for USA Wrestling.

Overall, the success of our club is a direct reflection of the dedicated parents, families and coaches that put so much time and effort into making the Dakota Rattlers one of the premier youth wrestling clubs in the state.

Coaching Staff
Coaches-our lineup of coaches bring top-notch wrestling and coaching experience to the club:

Rattler's Head Coach - Derek Bischof
Coach Bischof is a 3-time North Dakota state high school champion who went on to wrestle for North Dakota State University. He has coached the Rattlers for over 10 years and is well versed in all three wrestling styles...folkstyle, freestyle and greco-roman. Derek's goal is to teach kids the discipline of being a wrestler while still having fun.  Derek is currently the assistant coach for Minot High.

Evan Forde
Current Minot State University Head Coach, please welcome Evan to the team. A standout wrestler from Fargo, wrestled at the collegiate level for MSU-M from 2006-2011 and was Team Captain from 2009-2011.  Prior to coming to MSU, Evan was assistant coach for MSUM.

Jake Kettler
Second season as a Minot State University Wrestling Assistant Coach. Competed in wrestling at the Division I level and twice qualified for the NCAA National Tournament. Please welcome Jake to the team.  Jake was a 5 time all-American at the Senior Greco Roman level.

Boyd Rakness
A Minot High Alumni and state placer, Boyd brings experience and patience to the wrestling room.  He is currently a co-vice president of the Rattler Board.  

Steve Lipp
Steve is a former MSU-Beaver standout, with All American recognition.  Current Bishop Ryan wrestling head coach, Steve has led the Lions to Region 3 Dual Championship, Region 3 Coach of the year, and a top 4 individual team at state this year

Justin Racine
Another Minot High wrestling alumni, Justin was assistant coach for Minot High for 6 years and is the current Minot High wrestling head coach. Justin led his 2017 Minot High Magicians to a 2017 state title and earned Class A Coach of the Year.

Nolan Spooner
A familiar face in the wrestling room as Nolan has coached in Kenmare, at Minot High and in Des Lacs/Burlington and brings many years of coaching experience to the Rattlers.

Cody Haugen
Currently wrestling for the MSU Beavers and is their team captain, Cody was a Minot High standout-a four time state place winner.  He is also a familiar face to the Rattler's room. 

Jered Sublet
Back for his second year as a Rattler coach, Jered is the starting 141 pounder for the MSU Beavers.  He was an Oregon state champion.

Tanner Chrissler
Tanner is also a MSU Beaver back for his 3rd year with the Rattlers.  He was a 4-time state wrestler in ND for Turtle Mountain High School

Keegan Berry
Keegan is the starting 184 pounder for the MSU Beavers.  He was a state finalist out of Casper, Wyoming.  This is his first season with the Rattlers.

Dakota Rattlers Wrestling Board
If anyone is interested in filling open board positions, please contact
Darren Armstrong (701-833-0545). All positions will be open for next season.

    Joel Sandy
    Darren Armstrong

    Co-Vice Presidents  
   Boyd Rakness
Brian Walz

    Amy Armstrong
Shannon Racine
    Lisa Burke

    Alicia Eslinger
      Tamera Harvey