Past Workshops‎ > ‎

8th Indo-US, SGPGI, Lucknow

"Clinical Flow Cytometry"
Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences
December 17-22, 2007

The inauguration and lighting of the lamp by Dr. A.K. Mahapatra, (Director SGPGI), Dr. Sita Naik (Head of Immunology), Dr. Gopal Pande (President of TCS) and Dr. Awtar Krishan (International advisor to the Society) and other invited guests was followed by the key note address from Dr. Paul Robinson, President of the International Society for Analytical Cytology and Head of the Purdue Cytometry Laboratories.

Scientific presentations were made by Drs. Gopal Pande (CCMB, Hyderabad), Awtar Krishan (University of Miami Miller School of Medicine), H. Krishnamurthy (NCBS, Bangalore), B. Dwarkanath (INMAS, New Delhi), Mitali Chaterjee (IPGMER, Kolkota), K. Natarajan (ICGEB, New Delhi), Madhu Dixit (CDRI, Lucknow) and Swami Padmanabhan (Roswell Park Memorial Institute, Buffalo, NY, USA). Seventy delegates registered for the meeting and there were 5 oral paper presentations and 13 posters judged by Drs. Paul Robinson and H Krishnamurthy.

First prize for oral paper: Aalia Shahr Bano of NII, New Delhi, "Gene regulation by small interfering RNAs (siRNA), anti-sense DNA and catalytic antibodies".
Second prize for oral paper: Shubhankar Suman of INMAS, New Delhi, "Reduced nitric oxide synthase induction may contribute to the unusual radio-resistance of Sf9 insect cells".
Prize for best poster: Ratika Srivastava of SGPGI, Lucknow, "Alterations in natural killer and natural killer T cells during acute viral hepatitis E".

Wet labs were conducted in the laboratories of the Immunology Department headed by Dr. Sita Naik. Flow cytometers from BD, Beckman Coulter and Guava were available and thirty five students registered for the labs.

8th Indo-US, SGPGI, Lucknow