Navaratri Greetings

Navaratri - An Indian Festival

Navratri (Sanskrit:नवरात्रि) is a Hindu festival of worship and dance. Navratri is celebrated in a large number of Indian communities. The mother goddess is said to appear in 9 forms, and each one is worshiped for a day. These nine forms signify various traits that the goddess influences us with. The Devi Mahatmya and other texts invoking the Goddess who vanquished demons are cited. The word Navaratri literally means nine nights in Sanskrit; Nava - Nine and Ratri - nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Shakti (metaphor for goddess Durga ) i.e. female divinity are worshiped. The nine-day celebration is compartmentalized in certain parts of India, dedicating three days each to a trinity of goddesses: to Durga the goddess of velour, to Lakshmi the goddess of wealth and to Saraswati the goddess of knowledge.

9 forms of Durga are worshipped during these nine days, Durga (the inaccessible one), Bhadrakali, Amba or Jagadamba (Mother of the Universe), Annapurna [the one who bestows grains (an) in plenty (purna)], Sarvamangala [the one who gives joy (mangal) to all (sarva)], Bhairavi, Chandika or Chandi, Lalita, Bhavani & Mookambika.

The Navratri commences on the first day (pratipada) of the bright fortnight of the lunar month of Ashwin. The festival is celebrated for nine nights once every year during the beginning of October, although as the dates of the festival are determined according to the lunar calendar, the festival may be held for a day more or a day less.

Navaratri is celebrated in different ways throughout India. In the South Indian states of Tamil Nadu & Karnataka, it is celebrated by setting up of Golu or Bombegalu. It is believed that this was a means to invite people home to celebrate the festivities with them. In Karanataka, particularly Mysore on the 10th day the enacting of destruction of evil (Ravana destroyed by Rama) is displayed with the lighting of dolls representing Ravana and forces of evil (2.5 millenia earlier version of the British Guy Faukes Day - Nov 5th).

Navratri is divided into sets of three days to adore three different aspects of the supreme goddess or goddesses. In the first three days, the goddess is invoked as a spiritual force called Durga also known as Kali in order to destroy all our impurities, vices and defects. During the second three days, the Mother is adored as a giver of spiritual wealth, Lakshmi, who is considered to have the power of bestowing on her devotees inexhaustible wealth. The final set of three days is spent in worshiping the goddess of wisdom, Saraswati. In order to have all-round success in life, believers seek the blessings of all three aspects of the divine femininity, hence the nine nights of worship.

Chitra Navaratri

Chitra Navaratri comes in chaitra maasa it starts on the day of bidigae and ends on dashami day. Daily poojas should be done Rudrabisheka, Lalitha, Lakshmi, Vishnu, Sahasranama, Kukumarchanne is done Lakshmi, Saraswathi, Lalitha Astothara poojas Managalarathi should be performed daily Naivedaya, Habbada Adigae is done muthiyadarigae (married women) - Arisina, Kukuma, Tambula, Dakshinae, Panaka, Kosumbari, Chigali, Tambittu, Fruits, Blouse piece etc. is given on the day of Dashami have to give for 5 married women.

To get more Navaratri Greeting Click here

Free Navaratri Greeting Cards