CU Physics Centenary: Historical Highlights

Inaugural Conference of Centenary Celebration of the 

Department of Physics, University of Calcutta

January 7 and 8, 2016

M. N. Saha Auditorium, Rashbehari Siksha Prangan (Rajabazar Science College Campus)

This meeting will comprise of lectures covering (i) Historical aspects of the Department, including progress of research and our association with science institutes in the city, and on a broader scale in India and abroad; (ii) Progress of scientific research in India over the last two centuries; (iii) History of major developments and discoveries in science in general. 

A centenary commemorative volume is also to be published during the conference, which will contain articles from noted historians and physicists, and will be distributed free of cost to all registered participants.

Registration is closed now. We are sorry that no further requests can be considered because of logistic reasons. 


With financial assistance from: 

University of Calcutta; SINP, Kolkata; TIFR, Mumbai; IACS, Kolkata; IoP, Bhubaneswar; SNBNCBS, Kolkata; Bose Institute, Kolkata

NEW: The article by Dr. Charles W. Ervin on Dr. Purnangshu Kumar Roy

List of speakers        

  • Indrani Bose (Bose Inst. Kolkata) 
  • Gautam Gangopadhyay (CU, Kolkata)      
  • Partha Ghose (ex-SNBNCBS, Kolkata)
  • Rajesh Kochhar (Panjab U, Chandigarh)
  • Biman Nath (RRI, Bengaluru)
  • Dhruv Raina (JNU, Delhi)
  • Arnab Rai Choudhuri (IISc, Bengaluru)
  • Sreerup Raychaudhuri (TIFR Mumbai)
  • Rajinder Singh (U. Oldenburg)
  • J.N. Sinha (U. Delhi)