Welcome to Bear Den!
Den Leader -Richard D'Agostino

Meets 2nd and 3rd Mondays 
6:00-7:00 pm at the Middle Island Presbyterian Church. 

Welcome to Bear Cub Scouting



A boy who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and his adventures are found in the Bear Handbook.

Like all other new Cub Scouts, a Bear must first earn his Bobcat rank. After completing the requirements for Bobcat he may go on to complete the requirements for the Wolf rank and the many electives that are offered for his rank.

 Complete each of the six required Adventures with your den or family:

  1. Complete at least one elective Adventure of your den or family's choosing.
  2. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, or adult partner, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent's Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.*

*If your family does not have Internet access at home AND you do not have ready Internet access at school or another public place or via a mobile device, the Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian.

There are 6 Core (Required) Adventures in the Bear program:

  1. Bear Claws
  2. Bear Necessities
  3. Fellowship and Duty to God
  4. Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
  5. Baloo the Builder
  6. Paws for Action (Duty to Country)

There are 13 Elective Adventures in the Bear program:

  1. Grin and Bear It
  2. A Bear Goes Fishing
  3. Bear Picnic Basket
  4. Beat of the Drum
  5. Critter Care
  6. Forensics
  7. Make It Move
  8. Marble Madness
  9. Roaring Laughter
  10. Robotics
  11. Salmon Run
  12. Super Science
  13. A World of Sound

 A parent, guardian, or other caring adult acknowledges the completion of each achievement part by signing the boy’s handbook (Akela’s OK). The den leader also signs each boy’s handbook (Den Leader’s OK) and records progress in the den’s advancement records. The Bear Scouts also keep track of their own advancement using the Adventure Tracking section in the back of their handbooks, and under the guidance of the den leader, they can also keep a record of their individual progress on a den advancement chart and den doodle.

The pack should encourage each den to deliver a year-round program, drawing from both required adventures to support rank advancement and elective adventures to support program enrichment. Elective adventures may be earned during den activities, by a boy with the participation of his family, and during council and district sponsored program opportunities. There is no required order in which adventures must be earned. The sequence is left to the discretion of the den leader and Cubmaster.

After a boy earns the Bear badge, he will continue to meet with his den, working on additional elective adventures until he completes third grade (or turns 10 years old) and becomes a Webelos Scout.