Scott continuously served as an elected member of the Board of Education of Carroll County from 1993 through 2006.  Initially elected to a six-year term in 1992, he was re-elected to four-year terms in 1998 and in 2002.  Serving as Board president in 1997, 1998, 2002, and 2004, Scott also served as Board vice president in 1996 and in 2003.

Scott is the 2008 recipient of the Maryland Association of Boards of Education’s prestigious Charles W. Willis Memorial Award.  The award is presented annually to a Board member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and, thereby, made significant contributions to public education.  (Click here for a complete listing of
Charles W. Willis Memorial Award recipients.)

Scott’s other community activities include serving on the Blue Ribbon Panel - Westminster Bypass, the Carroll County Family YMCA Board of Advisors, the School Facilities Committee, the Carroll County Master Plan Concurrency Management Work Team, the Carroll County Technology Advisory Board, the Rape Crisis Intervention Service of Carroll County Board of Trustees, and the Carroll County Commission Redistricting Committee.

Married to Theresa (Roche) Stone, they have two adult age children.

Scott has 14 years of professional employment experience in the public sector, 18 years of professional employment experience in the private sector, 12 years of professional employment experience in the higher education sector, and 6 years of small business-owner experience.

A Professional Engineer - Retired (Maryland), Scott holds a Master of Engineering Science degree in Computer Science from Loyola College and a Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering from Johns Hopkins University.