Seven Principles

In 1871 one of the pioneers of Spiritualism Emma Hardinge Britten received the principals of Spiritualism from the discarnate spirit of Robert Owen the renowned socialist and co- founder of the co-operative society. These principals were given in order to help mankind have a better understanding of eternal life, they read:

The Fatherhood of God

The Brotherhood of Man

The Immortality of the Soul and its Personal Characteristics

Personal Responsibility

Compensation and Retribution hereafter for all the good and evil deeds done here and a path of Eternal Progress open to every Human Soul that wills to tread it by the path of Eternal Good


These Principles were adopted and then adapted to become the Seven Principles of Spiritualism. They were then used to form the cornerstone of the Memorandum of Association by the Spiritualist National Union when the Union was incorporated in 1901.


1. The Fatherhood of God

2. The Brotherhood of Man

3. The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels

4. The Continuous Existence of the Human Soul

5. Personal Responsibility

6. Compensation and Retribution hereafter for all the good and evil deeds done on Earth

7. Eternal Progress open to every Human Soul

For us Spiritualists who follow these principals they are the very foundations on which we live our lives. They are something to aim for and believe in. Ways in which to better ourselves and in doing so make this world a brighter place.

Note: There has never been anyone killed in the name of Spiritualism nor anyone put to the sword or life threatened to convert them to our Religion. We recognise the fact that everyone has the right to find their own path to God. For in the end their maybe many different Religions in the world but there is only one Creator. It is man who chooses to give this creator many different names.

     "It doesn't matter what Religion you are, all pathways lead to the Divine"