Date: 2018 June 13(Wed) - 15(Fri)

Place: Seminar room 2, Shirankaikan Annex (Access)

        (Yoshida Ushinomiya-chou 11-1, Sakyou-ku, Kyoto, JAPAN)


Supported and organized by

- Research activity group in JSIAM :

    'Mathematical Aspects of Continuum Mechanics (MACM)'

Inoue Foundation for Science

・Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research(B) 17H02857
・Challenging Research(Exploratory) 17K18733
・Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research(C) 16K05285
・Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research(C) 18K03380

Co-organized by

 The Research Institute for Science and Technology, Tokyo University of Science,
    'Division of Mathematical Modeling and its Mathematical Analysis (MMMA)'

Kanazawa Mathematics and mathematical science Research Group (KMRG), Kanazawa University

- FWF Research Project: 'Object identification problems: numerical analysis (PION)'


Shiro Hirano (Ritsumeikan University)

Hiromichi Itou (Tokyo University of Science)

Hirofumi Notsu (Kanazawa University)

Takeshi Takaishi (Hiroshima Kokusai Gakuin University)

Organizing Committee

Antonio Gaudiello (University of Cassino and Southern Lazio)

Mikhail M. Lavrentiev, Jr. (Novosibirsk State University)

Keiichi Kato (Tokyo University of Science)

Alexander Mikhailovich Khludnev (Lavrentyev Institute of Hydrodynamics)

Masato Kimura (Kanazawa University)

Victor A. Kovtunenko (Karl-Franzens University of Graz)

Naoshi Nishimura (Kyoto University)

Kohji Ohtsuka (Hiroshima Kokusai Gakuin University)

Akira Takada (Asahi Glass Co., Ltd.)

Aim and Scope

This is a three-day international conference on mathematical aspects of continuum mechanics. It is the sequel of the conference series CoMFoS organized by Research activity group in JSIAM 'Mathematical Aspects of Continuum Mechanics' (`MACM').

Presentations will focus on mathematical theory and numerical simulations related to topics including but not limited to elasticity, plasticity, fracture mechanics, rheology, acoustics/optics, inverse problems, and optimal shape design. These topics have become more important in applications, and a deeper understanding of their mathematical properties is required for further advances. We especially invite distinguished mathematicians, physicists, and engineers from academia and industry.

Expected Outcomes

Each lecture will be followed by discussion time with the objective of (i) determining new mathematical research directions in continuum mechanics that fulfill contemporary engineering and industrial needs and (ii) discovering new pathways for exploiting recently developed mathematical methods in engineering and industry.

History of CoMFoS and MACM

"CoMFoS" was initiated in 1995 under the auspices of the activity group 'Continuum Mechanics Focusing on Singularities' (`CoMFoS') of the Japan Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (JSIAM). From April 2010, the activity group CoMFoS was renamed 'Mathematical Aspects of Continuum Mechanics' (`MACM'). This is the 18th conference of CoMFoS and will be held at Kyoto, Japan.

Key Words

Continuum mechanics, Fracture mechanics, Mathematical modeling, Rheology, Industrial applications

Invited Speakers

  Ryoichiro Agata (JAMSTEC)

  Harsha S. Bhat (Ecole Normale Superieure)

  Hiroshi Fujiwara (Kyoto University)

  Alemdar Hasanov Hasanoglu (JSPS Fellow, Tokyo University of Science)

  Takahiro Hatano (the University of Tokyo)

  Frederic Hecht (Lab. Jacques-Louis Lions, University Pierre and Marie CURIE)

  Shiro Hirano (Ritsumeikan University)

  Tatsuo Iguchi (Keio University)

  Taro Kakinuma (Kagoshima University)

  Takahito Kashiwabara (the University of Tokyo)

  Masato Kimura (Kanazawa University)

  Victor A. Kovtunenko (University of Graz, Lavrentyev Institute of Hydrodynamics)

  Patrick van Meurs (Kanazawa University)

  Hayk Mikayelyan (University of Nottingham Ningbo China)

  Takashi Nakazawa (Osaka University)

  Naoshi Nishimura (Kyoto University)

  Hirofumi Notsu (Kanazawa University)

  Kohji Ohtsuka (Hiroshima Kokusai Gakuin University)

  Kumbakonam R. Rajagopal (Texas A&M University)

  Tatsuhiko Saito (National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Prevention)

  Takeshi Takaishi (Musashino University)

  Yoshimi Tanaka (Yokohama National University)

  Atusi Tani (Keio University)

  Kazumi Tanuma (Gunma University)

  Hirofumi Wada (Ritsumeikan University)

  Kentaro Yaji (Osaka University)

Contact address: 

Hiromichi Itou : h-itou AT

Masato Kimura,
2018/06/06 22:16