Programs at Jack's


It’s that time of year again when Kiwanis clubs around the world begin a new fiscal year at the beginning of October by honoring service performed by members during the past year and introducing officers and board members for the coming year. The Golden K Kiwanis club’s “changing of the guard” took place at Jack’s Gourmet Restaurant on Thursday, October 6, 2016 at their noon luncheon.

Installation of new officers was conducted by Lt. Governor Greg Hodge of the Missouri/Arkansas District of Kiwanis International. He installed Larry Propp as president for the 2016-17 year, Phil Olson as president-elect, Sara Zacharias as vice president, Verel Benson as treasurer, Robert McArthur as assistant treasurer and Bud Alexander as secretary. He also installed Board of Director members: Myron Bennett, Jim Rhodes, George Wagner, Kulangara Zacharias, Emil Didovich and Louise Bullock.

Presentation of awards was conducted by Penny Braun, 2014-15 president of Golden K Kiwanis. She presented the Hixson Award to Gordon Brown and the Hixson Diamond Pin award to Fern Parish. The diamond pin is awarded to those who have won a Hixson Fellowship award in previous years. This award is named for Kiwanis International’s first president, George F. Hixson, and is a way of recognizing people for their “generosity and inspiration that extends (their) Kiwanis impact”. The award consists of a plaque, a ribbon to be worn around the neck, and a lapel pin. The Diamond Pin includes a special tab to affix to the lapel pin.

Charlie Dreyer

Liz Bailey, Fern Parrish

Emil Didovich, Robert McArthur, Penny Braun

Harlan Hackett, Anne & Richard Hessler

Louise Bullock, Jim Boillot, Myron Bennett

Pat Daugherty, Janet Kimmons, Margaret Tollerton, Murray Baker

Jim Rhodes, Mildred and Tom Brown

Penny Braun presents the Hixson award to outgoing president Gordon Brown

Penny Braun presents the Hixson Diamond pin to Fern Parish

Board of Directors for 2016-17: Jim Rhodes, Myron Bennett, Kulangara Zacharias, Emil Didovich, Louise Bullock and George Wagner

Lt. Governor Greg Hodge installs Assistant Treasurer Robert McArthur

Lt. Gov. Greg Hodge installs Treasurer Verel Benson

Lt. Gov. Greg Hodge honors Immediate Past President Gordon Brown

Lt. Gov. Greg Hodge installs vice president Sara Zacharias

Lt. Gov. Greg Hodge installs President Elect Phil Olson

Lt. Gov. Greg Hodge installs President Larry Propp

Charlie Dreyer translated "Your Baby's Brain" from English to Spanish

Gordon Brown places the Presidential pin on Larry Propp’s lapel

Gordon Brown passes the gavel on to Larry Propp

Newly installed president Larry Propp outlines his agenda for the coming year