Booked for the Evening

Thursday Oct. 17, 2013

6:00 p.m.

Marietta Country Club

1400 Marietta Country Club Drive
Kennesaw, GA 30152

History: This is the third annual gala for the Library Foundation whose purpose

is to provide funds and build awareness for the library system's programs and

services. The Foundation, currently celebrating its 10th year, has funded numerous

projects that have enriched the 16 Cobb libraries, including portable computer labs, E Government Stations,early learning stations for children and special books and multimedia materials for the Hattie Gaines Wilson Youth Services Department.


Speaker and Award Recipient: Stuart Woods, award-winning author of more than

50 thrillers, will be the guest speaker at the Gala. He will also receive the Carol and

Jim Ney Literary Award. A  Georgia native and graduate of the University of Georgia,

Woods' latest novel, Doing Hard Time, will be published in September.


Event Details: The evening starts with a VIP reception for sponsors, hosts,

Woods, and Cobb Country dignitaries. Gala chairs are Cobb Commission Chairman Tim Lee and wife Annette Lee. Honorary chairmen is Attorney General Sam Olens and wife Lisa. Rob Garcia, COO, Bank of North Georgia will be emcee.


Buffet, Cocktails, Auction: The Gala auction this year will feature a number 

of paintings by noted Atlanta artists who include Isabelle Lamar, Robert Miller, Marsha

Savage, and Diane Isakson. Another Cobb artist, Linda Flournoy is a special guest

and contributor. Linda won the Woods donated auction item at the 2012 gala to become

a character in his new book. Will the character be revealed at the Gala??

In addition, auction items include trips, jewelry, event packages, books, and one of a kind items.

Carithers Flowers will provide unique bird cage/collage centerpieces for the tables which will be included in the auction.


All sponsors will be recognized at the event and beyond.  

The Honorable Sam Olens and Lisa Olens -Honorary Chairman

Chairman of Cobb County Board of Commissioners Tim Lee, and Annette Lee-Honorary Chairman


Table Host Chairs--Rob and Teena Garcia

Sponsorship Chair--Barbara Corey, Sr. VP Wellstar

Helen Poyer, Director of Cobb Country Library System

Tim Lee-Cobb County Commissioner Chairman

Linda Hoynes, Executive Director, Cobb Library Foundation   

Ellen Smith, President, Cobb Library Foundation 
 Honorary Host Committee Members are:

Tim Lee, Chairman Cobb County Board of Commissioners

Helen Goreham, District One Commissioner

Bob Ott, District Two Commissioner

JoAnn Birrell, District Three Commissioner

Lisa Cupid District Four Commissioner

Auction Co-Chairs are Robert Miller and Wanda Randall

Individual Tickets for the Gala are $150.  Proceeds benefit the Cobb County Public Library System. 

Preview Image
Sponsors for the 2013 "Booked for the Evening" Gala  (in progress and changing daily!)
 Gold Level Sponsors
Silver Level Sponsors
 Bronze Level Sponsors
Table Level Sponsors
Contributing Sponsors
 Preview Image  To purchase your ticket for $150.00