Stay updated
The status of North Carolina's elections is fast changing in view of several court rulings and legislative actions. Latest news and commentary: 

Supreme Court temporarily blocks Stanford professor’s election districts for Wake and Mecklenburg, Raleigh News & Observer, Feb. 7, 2018

North Carolina justices won't move election ruling quickly, Associated Press, Feb. 2, 2018

Voters ask US Supreme Court not to delay legislative maps, Associated Press, Feb. 2, 2018.

Judge restores partisan primaries for appellate court races [in NC] Associated Press, Feb. 1, 2018

Election calendar, management unclear 2 weeks before filing, 
Associated Press, Jan. 30, 2018

Cooper seeks fast movement following elections board ruling, Associated Press, Jan. 30, 2018

We'll have a 'blue moon' election in November
And why is it called that?  Because, unlike as in most general election years, there will be no statewide contests on the ballot other than judicial candidates. We won't be voting for president, U. S. senator, governor or other N. C. Council of State offices. In political lore, that circumstance occurs "once in a blue moon."

That might portend low voter turnout, but it's expected that voter interest will be high in district and county contests across North Carolina.
N. C. state legislators to be elected
(Updated 01.20.2918) Cleveland Countians will cast votes on two-year terms for state senator and representative(s), but it's not yet certain what their voting district boundaries will remain as is, since court proceedings continue.

At present, N. C. Senator Warren Daniel (R) represents Cleveland and Burke Counties in Senate District 46. In the N. C. House, parts of Cleveland are represented by Tim Moore (R)  in House District 111 and by Kelly Hastings (R) in House District 110.

Several House and Senate districts as drawn by the GOP-majority legislature have been under court challenge as partisan gerrymanders.  A three-judge appeals court  panel ruled Jan. 16  to require a "special master" plan for redrawing the districts by the end of the month. The GOP map that is the basis for consideration  would take Cleveland out of Senate District 46 and pair it with Lincoln County in a reconfigured District 44 (see map). No changes have been proposed in the boundaries of House Districts 110 and 111.

Republican legislators immediately made an emergency appeal asking the U. S. Supreme Court to stay the appeals court  panel's order. 

Supreme Court says some, but not all, new legislative districts can be used in 2018 elections, WRAL.com, Feb. 7, 2018. (The ruling apparently means Cleveland will be newly paired with Lincoln this election year.)

The Supreme Court will quite likely consider this N. C. case in tandem with some others that seek to establish that gerrymandering on a partisan basis is unconstitutional as is gerrymandering on a racial basis.

It is expected the high court's ruling s on this gerrymandering cases will be decided in the summer. 

Voters will fill three seats on county commission
November's ballot will list candidates for two new regular  four-year terms on the Cleveland County commission.  Separately, the ballot will also list candidates for the remaining two years of an unexpired term on the board.

The two four-year seats are those currently held by Eddie Holbrook (D), the commission chair, and Doug Bridges (R). Bridges was appointed to fill the unexpired term--through November 2018--of Jason Falls upon his resignation earlier in 2017.

The two-year term is for the seat formerly held by Ronnie Hawkins, who died shortly after election to a new term in 2016. 

Ronnie Whetstine (R) is the incumbent appointed to fill this seat. However, consistent with state law governing vacancies occurring in the first two years of a four-year term, such an appointment extends only until the next immediately-following general election. 

Accordingly, the last two years of Hawkins' unexpired term will be put to voters this November.

When filing, candidates will indicate whether they are seeking one of the four-year terms or the two-year term, and the contests will be distinguished on the ballot.

Other local offices on ballot
 New four-year terms will be on the ballot for Cleveland County sheriff and clerk of Superior Court.  

These spots are held now by incumbents Alan Norman and Mitzi McGraw Johnson, both Democrats, respectively. The 27B district attorney's post now held by Michael Miller (R) is also to be on the ballot.

Not on the ballot will be any new term for a Cleveland County coroner. That office has been abolished effective Nov. 30, 2018, by local act of the state legislature at the request of county commissioners. The county will continue under the state medical examiner system.

Two four-year nonpartisan terms will be filled on the Cleveland County Soil and Water Conservation board. Incumbents are Roger D. Eaker and Sherri Greene.

Key 2018 dates:
Filing period for non-judicial cancidates:  From noon, Monday, Feb. 12, to noon Wednesday, Feb. 28.

Filing period for judicial candidates: From noon, Monday, June 18, to noon Friday, June 29. (Unless changed by court challenge or legislature. See article below.)

Partisan primary (non judicial candidates): May 8, if the number of party candidates for an office warrants

Election day: Nov. 6
What? No judicial primary?

See update: Judge restores partisan primaries for appellate court races, Associated Press, Feb. 1, 2018

The state legislature's actions over the last few years have made all judicial races in the state partisan--N. C. Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Superior and District courts.

However, there will not be a partisan primary in 2018 to select each party's nominees. Because they are likely to be considering judicialdistrict and other changes to the court system, legislative leaders say, the legislature canceled the judicial primary for 2018.

Click here for more detail and to see what current judges' terms are expiring.

N. C. Tenth Congressional District  to elect representative
Voters in the seven counties of the Tenth Congressional District of North Carolina, including Cleveland, will see on their November ballots the race for a two-year term in the U. S. House of Representatives. Rep. Patrick McHenry (R) currently holds the seat.