CCDP resolution offers thanks, looks ahead
News release 01.15.2017
The Cleveland County Democratic Party capped the 2016 presidential-election year with a resolution of thanks, encouragement for elections ahead, and commitment to build on party foundation in place.

The resolution was adopted unanimously at a Jan. 12 meeting of the CCDP Executive Committee, which governs the party between annual county conventions. The Committee comprises the chairs and vice chairs of the county’s Democratic precinct organizations, officers, and Democratic elected officials. 

At this first meeting since the November 2016 general election, the Committee reviewed results and political developments since then, particularly those in North Carolina where Democrat Roy Cooper won the governorship, reports Joyce Sheaffer, CCDP chair.

The CCDP resolution, brought forward by the Shanghai Democratic precinct organization, acknowledged and thanked many for efforts significant to the party and campaign, with beginning salutes to President Barack Obama, Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton, and new Governor Cooper. It thanked those who stepped forward to offer their public service in office, and all who voted and considered Democratic candidates. Affirming that “every vote really does count,” the resolution noted that, for example, Cleveland County votes for Gov. Cooper and N. C. Auditor Beth Wood exceeded their statewide margin of victory.

Also acknowledged were those efforts supported citizens’ voting, including the county elections board and staff and the several dozen who worked as precinct elections officials. Appreciation was accorded to leaders and committees of the county’s Democratic precinct organizations, CCDP officers, volunteers supporting the election of Democratic candidates in headquarters and other compaign activities, campaign donors, and state and Tenth Congressional District organizations.

In concluding, the resolution expressed a “message of encouragement” to Democrats for the next elections and a commitment to build on the foundations laid in the November campaign “as we and others who join us continue to engage in politics as a way to help move our county, state, and nation forward” toward the intents of the U. S. Constitution’s preamble, which begins “to form a more perfect union.”

Get involved! Turn out for annual Dem precinct meetings coming up
News release 02.20.2017
Calling local Democrats! If you’d like to take a more active role in politics or renew your party connections, mark your calendars to attend your precinct’s annual Democratic organizational meeting coming up soon.
2017 precinct meeting schedule
“The November general election and current environment has generated increased interest in politics, and we’ve had many asking how to be more actively involved,” CCDP Sheaffer says. Attending a precinct meeting, and later our county convention April 8, is a great way to connect.” 

The precinct meetings are open to any interested Democrat registered in the precinct, and newcomers as well as meeting “regulars” are welcome. The meetings are free—no charge for attending. Contributions may be made to the party’s sustaining fund. 

Typically, the meetings are brief--half an hour or so--and informal. 

CCDP Executive Committee looks
at N. C. political developments

At its Jan. 12 meeting, the CCEP Executive Committee also took note of current state developments to remain abreast of, Chair Sheaffer reports. 

These include Gov. Cooper’s early commitment to work for the expansion of Medicaid, repeal of House Bill 2,and accelerated advances in education, which he told business leaders would have substantial positive impact on the state’s economy as well as improve the lives of citizens. 

Several legal actions were reported as nearing next decision points. Republican state legislators are seeking to stop Gov. Cooper’s efforts to expand Medicaid. Two other lawsuits challenge some provisions of legislation passed by the GOP-majority N. C. legislature in December special sessions. Senate Bill 4 and House Bill 17, which are seen to diminish the governor’s powers in areas such as elections boards and appointments, and increase the powers of the legislature and Republican officeholders. 

Two N. C. redistricting cases appear near U. S. Supreme Court action, it was reported. The Court is expected to decide soon whether to hear an appeal of lower court action requiring redistricting of some Congressional districts. The Court is also expected to decide soon whether to hear an appeal of lower court orders to redraw some state House and Senate districts by March 15 and hold elections in changed districts later this year. [Update: it does not appear a decision will be made until later in the year.]

What's a Democratic 'precinct meeting?'

And what are they for, anyway? Here's a short answer. See more at Our Party: How We Work.

The Democratic Party is a decades-old volunteer organization built from the grassroots up by and for people registered to vote as Democrats. 

The party's formal structure consists of units organized at the precinct level and thereafter coming together as units organized at the district, state, and national levels.  

The annual precinct meetings are the fundamental building block of the party.

Held each spring, the annual meetings provide a way for interested Democrats to come together with others to form a precinct committee, choose leaders, discuss political issues, and elect delegates to represent the precinct at the Democratic county convention. 

The precinct chairs and vice chairs elected at precinct meetings make up the majority of the county party’s governing Executive Committee, and precinct committee members often lead and support volunteer efforts. 

Democrat Roy Cooper presenting action agenda as NC's new governor

The photo at right shows Roy 
Cooper taking the oath of office shortly after the New Year began Jan. 1, in a small ceremony in the state capitol. Public inauguration events and festivities were held Jan. 7 in Raleigh. 

It is the honor of my life to be your governor, and to work for all of North Carolina. I pledge to give my very best to the people of this great state of North Carolina, the state I love and where I have spent my life. --Gov. Roy Cooper