The City of Tyro is an incorporated city of the third class chartered under the laws of the State of Kansas.  It is located in the Caney and Fawn Creek Townships of Montgomery County in Southeast Kansas and has a land area of 0.5 square mile.  Founded in the late 1800s, the city has a rich history in the oil & gas boom times at the turn of the century.  As of the 2000 federal census, Tyro was home to 226 residents and 105 housing units.
Tyro is governed by a mayor-council form of government.  Each spring of odd years, citizens elect a mayor and 5 city councilors.  The council meets the second Monday every month at 7:00 p.m. at the Tyro Christian Church located at 301 South Market Street.  They are assisted by City Clerk/Treasurer Connie Davis, City Engineer Bill Hutcheson, Wastewater Operator Karl Kirkland, and City Attorney Tiana McElroy. 
Contact Information:  City of Tyro, PO BOX 247, Tyro, KS, 67364-0247     Phone:  (620)-289-4532     Fax:  (620)-289-4459
Breaking News
Upcoming Events
Site Administrator:  jrorcutt@yahoo.com
James Orcutt,
Nov 23, 2015, 8:53 AM