Rail-Splitter + Student Awards/Support

Register Now for 2014 Rail Splitter Public Service Award Recipient Event
2013 Rail Splitter Public Service Award Recipient
Norm Sims
Executive Director Springfield-Sangamon County Regional Planning Commission

Norm Sims, Executive Director of the Springfield-Sangamon County Regional Planning Commission, has almost 40 years of experience in public agency policy, planning and administration, including successful tenures with: major state agencies in two states; a national public policy research organization; a statewide economic development organization; and municipal government. He came to the Planning Commission after a successful tenure as Executive Director of the Illinois Tax Increment Association (ITIA). Prior to joining ITIA, he served as Director of Planning and Economic Development for the City of Springfield, Illinois, where he was responsible for the city’s business, tourism and community development activities, as well as a number of long-range and strategic planning efforts. He came to this position after serving in Governor Jim Edgar’s Cabinet as Director of the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs (DCCA), the state’s lead agency for business, community, tourism and workforce development. Norm received his BA from Western Kentucky University, MA from University of Kentucky, a certificate from the Senior State Executives Program at Terry Stanford Institute of Public Policy and is a doctoral candidate at University of Illinois Springfield.


Previous Public Service Awards

1989    Robert Mandeville
1990    Robert Cronson
1992    Sam Grove
1993    Naomi Lynn
1994    James Nowlan
1995    Richard Moy
1996    Paul Simon
1997    Mike Lawrence
1998    Jim Edgar
1999    Jesse White
2001    Naomi Lynn
2011    William Holland
2012    John Stremsterfer
2013    Norm Sims

Rail-Splitter Public Service Award

The Central Illinois Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration has established the Public Service Award to pay tribute to public servants (government and nonprofit) whose careers exhibit the highest standard of excellence, dedication, and accomplishment.

This award is presented annually to individuals who have spent a primary part of their careers working in public service; made outstanding contributions on a sustained basis rather than having performed a single exceptional deed; and accomplished or caused to be accomplished significant programs or projects within their areas of responsibility to the ultimate benefit of the general public.

Nominations are solicited from the entire public service community and are not limited to ASPA members. Awards will be presented at the Chapter's Annual Awards Meeting.

ASPA Public Service Student Award

This award is presented to an outstanding undergraduate or graduate student who has shown interest in public and nonprofit administration beyond their classroom work and has performed exceptionally well academically. Members and non-members of ASPA are eligible for this award.


Student ASPA Conference Support

The ASPA chapter will provide supportive funding for from one to three students (depending on the strength of the applications) to attend the ASPA national conference.  Funding will come from the ASPA chapter and also from the Department of Public Administration.

Students may apply to the awards committee of the ASPA chapter.  To apply, applicants will need a two page essay describing their career goals and how attendance at the ASPA conference will enhance those goals.  Applications for support are due one week prior to the close of early registration for the ASPA conference.

Decisions for support funding will depend on the applicant’s essay as well as attendance and support for ASPA chapter meetings.

The available funds will be divided equally among the successful applicants.  The university portion of the funds will come as reimbursement for legitimate conference expenses.

Students are encouraged to apply to other university and possible ASPA national  support as well.