About CPS

Christians in Political Science aims to encourage students of politics to integrate their Christian faith into their research and writing; stimulate and assist members to bring insights and perspectives from their faith to classroom teaching; and provide a forum for fellowship.  We recognize that Christians of good faith may disagree about how Christianity should inform our professional, political, and other activities.  Indeed, a major goal of CPS is to encourage discussion of these matters among believers from different traditions and with divergent views. 
    Statement of Faith

    We believe that God is the creator and sustainer of all that is; Jesus Christ is  the Son of God, fully God and fully human, and through his death and bodily resurrection is the redeemer of fallen humanity; and the Holy Spirit led the authors of the Bible in writing an authoritative guide for faith and conduct, and continues to guide the church of Jesus Christ today.

    Advisory Board

    This board consists of members of Christians in Political Science who have agreed to offer advice and guidance to the executive leadership team.

    David J. Armor                                         
    School of Public Policy                           
    George Mason University 

    Vilma "Nina" Balmaceda
    Center for Christian Scholarship
    Department of Political Science
    Nyack College, Seminary and Graduate Schools
    Ryan J. Barilleaux
    Department of Political Science
    Miami University

    Amy E. Black
    Department of Politics and International Relations
    Wheaton College (IL)
    Kimberly Conger
    Department of Political Science           
    Colorado State University 
    Kevin Cooney
    Pacific Rim Center
    Northwest University (WA)

    Patrick Deneen
    Department of Government
    Georgetown University

    Daniel L. Dreisbach
    Department of Law, Justice, and Society
    American University

    Peter D. Feaver
    Department of Political Science
    Duke University

    Robert P. George
    Department of Politics
    Princeton University. 

    Gary L. Gregg II
    Mitch McConnell Center
    University of Louisville

    Thomas Heilke
    Center for Global and International Studies
    Department of Political Science
    University of Kansas

    Vincent Philip Muñoz
    Department of Political Science
    University of Notre Dame

    Brent Nelsen
    Department of Political Science
    Furman University

    John J. Pitney, Jr.
    Department of Government
    Claremont McKenna College

    Corwin Smidt
    Department of Political Science
    Calvin College

    Carol M. Swain
    Department of Political Science
    School of Law
    Vanderbilt University

    Alex Tuckness
    Department of Political Science
    Iowa State University

    Paul Wahlbeck
    Department of Political Science
    George Washington University

    Jerry Waltman
    R.W. Morrison Professor of Constitutional Studies
    Baylor University

    History of Christians in Political Science

    Christians in Political Science (CPS) was launched as a formal organization in the fall of 1991 by a group of political scientists from six different colleges and universities. From the outset, the group defined "Christian" in both narrow and broad terms: Christianity was narrowly defined in its traditional sense rather than the broad cultural sense, but was meant to include all Christians who believe in the historic truths of the faith, irrespective of specific tradition or denomination.

    Since then, CPS has grown steadily as an organization. It published its first newsletter in the fall of 1991, and the membership adopted a set of by-laws in the fall of 1993. The first general membership meeting was also held in 1993, in Washington, D.C., at the time of the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association. The first slate of officers was elected in the spring of 1994.

    From the beginning, the goals of the organization have been to encourage and stimulate members to integrate their Christian faith in their scholarship and teaching, and to enhance contact and fellowship among Christian political scientists.  If you are interested in joining us, we hope you will become a member.





    Dr. Kimberly H. Conger

    Political Science Department
    University of Cincinnati
    Crosley Tower 1110
    Mail Location - 0375
    Cincinnati, OH  45221

    Vice President

    Jennifer Walsh

    Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Science

    Azusa Pacific University
    901 E. Alosta Ave., # 7000
    Azusa, CA 91702-7000


    Dr. Daniel Palm

    Professor of Political Science
    Azusa Pacific University
    901 E. Alosta Ave., # 7000
    Azusa, CA 91702-7000


    Communications Director

    Dr. Chris McHorney

    California Baptist University

    8432 Magnolia Ave.

    Riverside, CA  92504

    Phone: 951-343-4757



    Dr. Rouven Steeves

    U.S. Air Force Academy
    660 Silver Saddle Road
    Monument, CO 80132 
    Phone: 719-333-869

    Email: rouven.steeves@usafa.edu