Created by Leslie Contos

chicagogiftedcommunity.org

Chicago Area Annual Events

Chicago Humanities Festival    http://www.chicagohumanities.org/

ChicagoSplash!   https://splashchicago.learningu.org/

Northwestern Splash!   https://nusplash.learningu.org/

Rube Goldberg Machine Contest   http://www.dep.anl.gov/rube/

Chicago Area Field Trips

FermiLab National Accelerator Laboratory   http://ed.fnal.gov/programs/tours/

 Lyric Opera   http://www.lyricopera.org/education/children-and-teens.aspx

 Chicago Area Gifted Groups

Barrington   http://www.bcgt.org/

Chicago Gifted Children Meetup - various locations   http://www.meetup.com/chicago-gifted-children/

Chicago Mensa   http://chicago.us.mensa.org/kids/gifted_kids.php

Crystal Lake   http://www.clfoge.org/

Downers Grove   http://www.dgfrog.org/

Hindsdale Area   http://www.geco181.info/

Illinois Association for Gifted Children (IAGC)   http://www.iagcgifted.org/

Naperville   http://www.stage203.org/

Chicago Area Academic Enrichment Programs

Center for Gifted - National Louis U.   http://www.centerforgifted.org/     

Center for Talent Development - Northwestern   http://www.ctd.northwestern.edu/

University of Chicago Math Scholars   http://www.math.uchicago.edu/ysp/

Sprout Gifted - Chicago   http://www.sproutgifted.com/

Chicago Area Gifted Homeschool Groups

IllinoisTAG - online   http://groups.yahoo.com/group/illinoisTAG

HomeschoolGiftedStudents Co-op - Evanston   http://www.examiner.com/homeschooling-in-chicago/homeschooling-the-gifted-chicagoland

Reach Teen Group - Skokie   http://www.northshorehomeeducators.org/Teen_coop.html

Evanston/Skokie gifted co-op contact:  cindilink@marketinganalytics.com

Chicago Area Gifted Schools

Avery Coonley - Downer's Grove   http://www.averycoonley.org/

DaVinci Academy - Elgin   http://www.dvacademy.org/

Quest Academy - Palatine   http://www.questacademy.org/

Science & Arts Academy - Palatine   http://www.scienceandartsacademy.org/

Chicago Public Schools – Regional Gifted Centers   http://tinyurl.com/regionalgiftedchicago

Chicago Area Homeschool Resources

Chicago Homeschool Co-op   http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ChicagoHomeschoolCoop/

Chicago Homeschool Habitat Blog   http://chicagohomeschoolhabitat.com/

Chicago Northside Unschoolers Group   http://groups.yahoo.com/group/NorthsideUnschoolers/

Chicagoland Homeschool Network   http://chicagolandhomeschoolnetwork.com/category/classes/

DuPage Homeschool Group   http://groups.yahoo.com/group/CHILD_Illinois/

Evanston Home Educators   http://www.e-h-e.org/

Home Educators Conference   http://homeeducatorsconference.org/

Johnsburg Library Homeschool Resource Center  http://www.johnsburglibrary.org/content/homeschool-resource-center

Near West Homeschoolers  nearwesthomeschoolers.org

Chicago Museum Resources

Adler Planetarium Educator Resources   http://www.adlerplanetarium.org/educator-resources/

Art Institute Educator Resources   http://www.artic.edu/aic/resourcefinder

Botanic Gardens - Plant Conservation Science Center   http://www.chicagobotanic.org/research/building/

Center for Archaeology (Kampsville IL)   http://www.caa-archeology.org/

Chicago Children's Museum Curriculum   http://www.chicagochildrensmuseum.org/index.php/education/resources-activities

Chicago History Museum   http://chicagohistory.org/education/resources

Dearborn Observatory - Northwestern University   http://ciera.northwestern.edu/observatory.php

Fermilab   http://ed.fnal.gov/home/educators.shtml

Field Museum Educator Guides    http://fieldmuseum.org/schools/educator-guides

Museum of Sci & Industry Homeschool Labs    http://www.msichicago.org/?id=8219

Peggy Notebart Nature Museum   http://www.naturemuseum.org/index.php?id=233

Science & Industry Educator Resources   http://www.msichicago.org/education/field-trips/exhibit-guides/

Shedd Aquarium Educator Resources   http://www.sheddaquarium.org/educator_resources.html

Service Learning

Volunteer Match - volunteer opportunities for families and youth   http://www.volunteermatch.org/

 

Non-local resources


Social Studies

Government and Political Studies   http://www.youthleadership.net/

Historical Literature   http://www.johnsburglibrary.org/sites/johnsburglibrary.org/files/Historical%20Fiction.pdf

Mr. Donn's History     http://www.mrdonn.org/index.html

Mythology   http://www.mythicjourneys.org/bigmyth/2_eng_myths.htm

National Geography Bee   http://nationalgeographic.com/geographybee/index.html

Score History/Social Studies   http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/

Chicago Metro History Fair  http://www.chicagohistoryfair.org/

Science & Math

Biology java applets   http://www.edinformatics.com/il/il_bio.htm

Junior Achievement Titan - business game   http://titan.ja.org/

NASA Education Curriculum   http://search.nasa.gov/search/edFilterSearch.jsp?empty=true

Physics java applets   http://www.edinformatics.com/il/il_physics.htm

Illinois Science Fair  https://sites.google.com/a/ijas.org/ijas/regional-information

Literature & Writing

NaNoWriMo   http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/sign_up

Sparknotes Literature Study Guides http://www.sparknotes.com/sparknotes/

School Journalism  http://www.schooljournalism.org/

Physical Activity

President's Challenge   http://www.presidentschallenge.org/participate/ed-homeschoolers.shtml

General Video & Audio Learning

Academic Earth   http://academicearth.org/

Khan Academy   http://www.khanacademy.org/

Open Culture   http://www.openculture.com/

University Coursework Online Free

Coursera   https://www.coursera.org/

EdX  https://www.edx.org/