FILES FROM THE CHATSWORTH PALINDEALER
Stories of interest from our hometown paper over the years.
JANUARY 4, 1901
On New Year's evening at eight o'clock at the home of the parents of the bride, Mr. and Mrs. James Brydon, of Charlotte township, Rev. Watson, of Piper City, performed the ceremony uniting in the lifelong bonds of wedlock, Miss Florence I. Brydon and Mr. Frederick Bitter. Miss Mary Brydon and Mr. Frank Brydon, sister and brother of the bride, stood up with them and bore witness to their solemn plights of love and devotion. The plighting of vows was witnessed by a large number of relatives and friends, and after the happy couple had received the congratulations and wood wishes of the assembled guest the wedding supper was served.
The bride is the second daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brydon, two of Charlotte township's most highly respected citizens. She is a young lady who has a large circle of friends and acquaintances. the groom is a young man who has been engaged in farming in Pella township, Ford county, and is a sturdy, industrious and honest young man. They will make their home the coming season on one of Mr. James Brydon's farms, one half mile east of Charlotte, where they will be surrounded by the best wishes of a host of friends, including the Plaindealer.
FIRE COMPANY OFFICERS
JANUARY 4, 1901
The members of the Prairie Bird Fire Company, No. 1, elected officers at a meeting held last evening, the following being elected:
Foreman, Henry Game
First Assistant Foreman, William Walter
Second Assistant Foreman, John Taggert
Secretary, George J. Walter
Treasurer, H. Royal
Captain of Hook and Ladder, Frank Meister
Steward, George Beckman
MARCH 1, 1901
On Wednesday evening, at the home of the parents of the bride, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph P. Glenn, at Farina, Ill., occurred the marriage of Miss Ella Glenn and Mr. Clyde Wilson. the ceremony was performed at five o'clock in the evening in the presence of the immediate relatives of the contracting parties.
The bride is the eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Glenn, who until last November resided at Piper city. she is a young lady highly thought of and held in high esteem by a large circle of friends, who will be glad to welcome her back to this vicinity. the groom is the second son of Mr. and Mrs. John C. Wilson, highly respected citizens of this township, and is a young man of industry and exemplary habits, who has many friends.
the happy couple will make their home on one of the Entwistle farms, northeast of this city, which the groom has leased, and are expected to arrive here tomorrow (Saturday). Their many friends unite with the Plaindealer in extending congratulations and best wishes.
WILL OPEN HOTEL SOON
MARCH 8, 1901
Thos. Entwistle is moving into his new hotel building on Maple street and expects to have the hostelry furnished and open to the public within a short time. The building is one of the best hotel building in this part of the state outside of the larger towns. The arrangement is splendid. The hotel has nearly 20 bedrooms, the dining room is large and well lighted, the office is convenient and the parlor is pleasant and easily accessible to guests.
Note: Mr. Entwistle named it "The Park Hotel".
MARRIED AT PONTIAC
MARCH 8, 1901
On Tuesday afternoon in the office of county treasurer in the Pontiac court house, Justice J.H. Gaff, of Pontiac, performed the ceremony uniting in wedlock Miss Icie L. Barnes, of Marion, Ind., and Milton Farmer, of Charlotte township. Mr. Farmer is engaged in farming in Charlotte township, where the happy couple will make their home. Their friends unite with the Plaindealer in extending congratulations and best wishes.
PHILIPPINE SOLDIERS EXPECTED HOME
MARCH 15, 1901
Two Chatsworth boys are expected to arrive home from the Philippines, where they have been with the Thirtieth Infantry, as the regiment is now at San Francisco. They are Frank Spiecher and Charles Pearsal. Although no word has been received from them since the regiment left Manila, the last letter sent previous to that time stated that they expected to start for the states in the near future, hence it is that their friends are looking forward to their arrival in Chatsworth. The regiment will be mustered out at San Francisco, such being the desire of the men of the regiment.
APRIL 12, 1901
At SS. Peter and Paul's church, on Wednesday morning at nine o'clock, occurred the marriage of Miss Margaret Garrity, of this city, and Mr. John F. O'Brien, of Chicago. The ceremony was performed by Father J.J. Quinn in the presence of a large concourse of relatives and friends. Miss Nellie Garrity, sister of the bride, was bridesmaid and Mr. James Lynch, her cousin, acted as best man. The ushers were Messrs. Edmond Garrity, James Lynch and Dennis Lynch, of Chicago, and James Garrity, of this city.
Following the ceremony the wedding breakfast was served at the home of the bride's parents, Mr. and Mrs. M. Garrity, and a reception held during the day and evening in honor of the newly wedded couple. Feasting and merry making were indulged in and a joyous good time had by all present, over one hundred invitations having been issued for the event. The bride was the recipient of many beautiful and valuable gifts. the groom's gifts to the members of the bridal party were diamonds.
The bride is the eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. M. Garrity, two well known and most highly respected residents of this community. Mr. Garrity is a self-made man, having been ably assisted through life by a most admirable wife, and they have reared their family in a manner which makes them useful and valuable citizens. The new Mrs. O'Brien is a young lady who has a large circle of friends and admirers, and Mr. O'Brien is to be congratulated on securing such an estimable one of Chatsworth's fair sex. The groom is in the employ of the Brunswich , Balk, Collender Company, of Chicago, as bookkeeper and assistant cashier, and is a young man of excellent character and much promise.
Mr. and Mrs. O'Brien departed on Thursday morning for Chicago, where they will be at home after may first at 4322 Forrestville avenue. May their lives be filled with happiness and success is the unanimous wish of their hosts of friends.
APRIL 12, 1901
A very pretty home wedding was celebrated on Wednesday afternoon at two o'clock at the home of Mr. and Mr. James S. Doolitte, parents of the bride, when Miss Mary Isabelle Doolittle and Mr. James Ambrose Corbett were united in wedlock. The ceremony was performed by Rev. J.J. Quinn, of SS. Peter and Paul's church, and only the immediate relatives and a few friends of the contracting parties witnessed the plighting of vows. Miss Emma Doolittle was bridesmaid and Mr. T.J. Lawless best man, and following the congratulations and good wishes, a delightful collation was served.
The contracting parties are too well known to most of the people of this community to need commendation here. They both attended the schools in this city, and both are graduates of the Chatsworth high school. Both have been well known in the society of Chatsworth and surrounding towns, and each has large circles of friends and relatives.
ELEVATOR AND DEPOT CONSUMED
JULY 26, 1901
On Thursday morning at a few minutes after six o'clock the Illinois Central elevator, operated by Rogers, Bacon & Co., grain dealers, was discovered to be on fire. The fire seemed to originate in the engine room, where the gasoline engine was located, and before the alarm could be spread the entire building was a mass of fire. The fire company responded quickly, but could do nothing towards saving the elevator or the Illinois Central depot, which was within a few feet of it, and both were reduced to a mass of ashes within a very short time. The contents of the depot were saved, there being comparatively nothing except the building lost. Freight and express packages, safe, books, in fact almost everything of value in the office was carried out before the building was consumed. Considerable anxiety was felt for the stock and buildings of the L.A. Walter Lumber Co., just across the tracks east of the depot, as the wind was blowing almost directly from the west when the fire started, but by hard work and a favorable change in the wind the fire was kept from spreading east of the depot. The elevator contained about 4,000 bushels of oats and 2,000 bushels of corn, most of which was burned with the building. The grain belonged to Rogers, Bacon & Co. and the building was the property of the Illinois Central railroad company.
As near as we have been able to learn the loss of Rogers, Bacon & Co. and the elevator property were covered by insurance, but the exact amounts carried we were unable to learn.
Almost before the building were razed Agent John Brosnahan, assisted by Dick Turner, had run a wire into a small house located in the "Y" and had a telegraph instrument working and he is now installed in the house with his entire outfit around him.
SEPTEMBER 13, 1901
On Wednesday, at high noon, Miss Ida M. Stanford, of Saunemin, was united in marriage to Edgar H. Lighty, of this township, at the home of the bride's parents, Mr. and Mrs. C.M. Stanford, two and one half miles southwest of Saunemin. The ceremony was witnessed by about seventy five relatives and friends. A wedding march was played by the sister of the bride and the ritual service of the M.E. church was repeated by Rev. F.J. Giddings, of Saunemin. The wedding dinner was superb and was most gracefully served by young lady friends of the bride. The wedding presents included many useful articles of table and household furniture. The bride wore a gown of white henrietta, trimmed with lace, and white flowers at her throat, the groom being dressed in a black business suit.
Mr. and Mrs. Lighty are both well and favorably known, each of them having taught in the public schools of this and adjoining counties, and we predict that the new home in which they shall live as husband and wife will be one of culture and happiness. They will spend a short time visiting friends in Indiana, and will go to housekeeping on a farm one and one-half miles southeast of Chatsworth in the spring.
Among those who attended the wedding were: Mr. and Mrs. D.J. Stanford, J.E. Lighty and wife, F.C. Stanford, wife and children; Bert Stanford and wife; Wm. Stanford and family; J.F. Stanford, wife and son; Elmer R. Lighty and wife, all from this vicinity; Mr. and Mrs. Denneywitz, of Piper City; Miss Effie Palmer, of Urbana, Ill.
NOVEMBER 22, 1901
At the residence of Mr. and Mrs. R.F. Laveile last evening occurred the marriage of John W. Ellis, of Chatsworth and Miss Grace Wormack, of Benton, Ill. The groom is thrifty young business man of Chatsworth, having recently purchased a bakery at that place, while the bride is one of Benton's most popular young ladies. Mr. and Mrs. Ellis went to New Orleans on their wedding trip. After their return they will make their future home at Chatsworth.---Pontiac Leader, Tuesday.
The newly wedded pair have been residents of this city for some weeks. The groom is conducting the restaurant and bakery business recently purchased of J.E. Fitzgerald, while the bride has been assisting in the establishment. They have made many friends here who unite with the Plaindealer in extending congratulations and good wishes and who will extend them a glad welcome when they return.
DOG CARRIES PAPERS
DECEMBER 13, 1901
Our neighboring village of Cullom was in a very unfortunate position regarding getting Sunday Chicago papers. L. J. Haberkorn, of this place, has been furnishing the Cullom people with papers for the last three Sundays, through the agency of a fine Great Dane dog, which has made the trip to Cullom from here with the papers. The dog is the property of Johnnie Cook, the jockey, who lives in Cullom, and the animal is about 16 months old. Some trouble was experienced in getting the dog to go to cullom the first morning, but he was started and he made the trip in good time. The dog is sent here on Saturday afternoon and Mr. Haberkorn keeps him over night, and on Sunday morning straps a bundle of papers on his back and starts him for his home. He left here last Sunday at 8:25 and was in Cullom over a muddy track in one hour and forty minutes, a distance of ten miles. On his second trip someone stopped the dog and fastened his collar to a barbed wire fence, where he was found in the afternoon at about 1:30 o'clock. Last Sunday he was seen by Jos. Grotevant at Charlotte, but could not be enticed close enough so that he might be caught. The dog is a great favorite at Cullom, as well as here, and Mr. Haberkorn is being congratulated upon the success of his undertaking. It was rumored that when the dog was stopped on his second trip that two of the papers were taken from the package he carried, but such is not the case. Last Sunday he carried eight papers, which, with their wrappings, weighed about twelve pounds. It is thought that by gradually increasing the number he can carry 25 papers, which is about the number that are now wanted in Cullom.
Note: What a great story of Mr. Haberkorn's ingenuity and the great qualities of a loving dog. I wish they had told his name. I wonder if he has a place of honor in Cullom history!
FEBRUARY 21, 1902
CHATSWORTH'S OLDEST BUSINESS MAN
The oldest business man in Chatsworth, who has lately retired from active business life on account of declining health, was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, December 15, 1835. With his parents he came to Illinois in 1850 and lived in Lake county until the spring of 1861, when he came to Chatsworth, and the same year associated himself with W. E. Esty in the merchantile business, under the firm name of Esty & Bangs. Mr. Esty retiring in 1868, the firm became E. A. Bangs & Company. In the early seventies James H. Whitmore, a brother-in-law, joined the firm and remained with it for about three years. George A. Bangs withdrew from the firm in 1882, since which time E. A. Bangs had conducted the business independently. Mr. Bangs has always been a strong and active working Republican, has filled various offices of trust, is a member of the Masonic order and in religion is a spiritualist.
February 28, 1902
OPERA HOUSE TO BE BUILT
F. J. Harbeke has let the contract for the erection of an opera house. The plans and specifications were drawn by Architect Hercules of Pontiac, and call for a room 35 by 75 feet, with 16 foot ceiling, stage opening 20 feet wide and a 17 foot stage, the seating capacity of the hall to be about 400 persons. The opera house will be built above the implement store and blacksmith shop owned by Mr. Harbeke. It will be supported upon a stone foundation, and a 12 by 12 beam supported upon piers will run under the center of the floor. The floor will be double, the second one being maple. Entrance will be arranged at the east end of the building, with a ticket office at the top of the stairs, at the southeast corner of the room. The stage will be at the west end. The front of the building will be imitation brick, the roof of galvanized tin and the specifications call for opera seats. The contract for the erection of the building is to be completed by May 15.
March 14. 1902
OPERA HOUSE BUILDING PLANNED
Two of Chatsworth's foremost business men, Messrs. John C. Corbett and Thomas E. Baldwin, are having plans and specifications drawn by a Chicago architect for a building which they propose to have erected on the corner of Fourth and Locust streets, where the Chatsworth Produce Company is now located. This is on the main business street, opposite the PLAINDEALER building. The proposed building is to be 60 by 100 feet, with four store rooms 25 by 60 feet fronting north on Locust or Main street. The upper floor will have not less than a 20 foot ceiling, and will be in one room, fitted for an opera house. The building will be fire-proof, framed of wood, and will have iron and plate-glass front, metal ceilings and imitation stone wall on the west. Messrs. Corbett and Baldwin have already received applications for leases for the store rooms, which shows that there is a demand for more store buildings in Chatsworth. The opera house will be the best Chatsworth has ever possessed and one of the best in this section of the state.
Note: The two above stories are not of the same opera house. One is Harbeke Hall and the other The Grand.
April 11, 1902
BURGLARS OR SNEAK THIEVES
Our usually quiet (at night) town, was somewhat disturbed last Sunday night, although the operations of the mirauders were undoubtedly intended to be strictly on the quiet. As one citizen expressed it, there seems to be an annual burglar scare in Chatswoth, and this season it occurred on Sunday night, April 6.
The home of Dr. G.T. Carson and family was entered, sometime between retiring time Sunday evening and Monday morning. Entrance to the residence was gained through a window which happened to be unfastened. However the front door was unlocked as the family had been in the habit of leaving it, but it is now securely fastened every night. The thieves took a number of oranges and a toy bank belonging to Master Harvey Carson, which contained about $1.00 in change. Only the first floor was visited. No one sleeps on this floor but the maid, and she states that she saw the miscreant pass the door of her room. Mr. Geo. J. Walter's residence was also visited, but before an entrance was gained, the family was aroused, and it is thought that lighting a light caused the house breakers to beat a hasty retreat. The C. Brosnahan home in the north part of town was also visited, and a new pair of patent leather shoes belonging to Thomas were taken. Mrs. Brosnahan was waked by the noise and she aroused her husband, but they found the house quiet on investigating. Thomas Clark's house it is said was also entered, and Mr. Clark's trousers taken.
Whether the work was done by local talent or by a couple of strangers who were seen around town, is not known, but the experience of those visited will be sufficient to cause most of our people to clean up their artillery, procure several rounds of fresh ammunition and keep the deck cleared for quick action.
May 30, 1902
MISCREANTS BREAK INTO SCHOOL HOUSE, RUIN ORGAN AND CLOCK
A piece of most despicable work has just been given to the public by the directors of the school two miles west of town. The matter was kept quiet for a week in the hopes that sufficient evidence could be secured to make a case against the parties upon whom suspicion rests. Miss Julia Snyder teaches the school, and on going to the school house on Monday morning, May 19, the door had been broken open, the new organ was found outside the door badly broken to pieces, and on the floor of the school room Miss Snyder's clock was found mashed and ruined. The tracks of two vehicles were found on the soft ground around the building. One lot of tracks were made by a rubber-tired vehicle with two horses hitched to it, and this is the vehicle which it is thought contained the parties who threw the organ out of the building on Sunday night. The wrappers off some beer bottles were also found in the school room. The organ was almost new, having been purchased this spring, and having been in use not over two months. The directors of the district, Messrs. J.O. Perkins, John Miller and John Felt, are still working on the case and say they are sure to bring the guilty parties to justice. Whether committed by persons drunk or sober, it was a most disgraceful escapade.
June 6, 1902
SIXTEENTH ANNUAL ALUMNI RECEPTION
The Chatsworth High School Alumni Association held the sixteenth annual reception and banquet of the organization in Harbeke's opera house on Tuesday evening. Many guests from out of town were present to share the pleasures of the occasion. The literary, musical and gastronomic features of the event were all highly enjoyed. In addition to the regular program a number of guests were called upon and made short remarks, Messrs. G.W. McCabe, Wm. Gardner, L.J. Haberkorn, Geo.J. Walter, J.E. Brown, H.S. Cowling, F.F. Brown of this city, and H. E. Corbett of Elkhart, Ind., being among the number. The following is the program as rendered:
Piano Duet, "Circus Gallop" Julia Snyder, "97: Blanche Smith, "98
Vocal Solo, " A Bunch of Wild Roses: Miss Helena M. Aaron
Roll-call, Response with quotations
Vocal Solo, selected - Mrs. J.A. Corbett, "92
President's address, Howard Stanford, "00
Ladies' Quartette, selected, Misses Aaron; Sears; "94' Calder; Davis
Supper, Toast-master, Prof. C. F. Van Doren
"What's the Use?", Cora Broadhead, "01
"Integral Education", I.J. Furr
"A Telescope", Miss Anna Crabbe
"The High School", James Duffy, "00
"I Wonder Why?", Lloyd Dancey
"Assurance", Zella Brickley, "96
Piano Duet, "Gypsy Dance", Julia Snyder, "97; Blanche Smith, "98
July 18, 1902
WRECK ON THE T.P. & W. FRIDAY
ENGINEER GUS JOHNSON'S LEG CRUSHED AND BROKEN -- FIREMAN MORE SCARED THAN HURT
An extra east bound freight on the Toledo, Peoria & Western railway, ran into an open switch at the west end of the yards here at half-past four o'clock Friday afternoon last, and collided with a string of boxcars on the siding. The train was quite a heavy one, and the engineer, Gus Johnson, was unable to stop the train in time to prevent a collision. He reversed his engine and jumped. The fireman also jumped. Johnson alighted with his left leg on a rail, crushing and breaking the bones just below the knee. The fireman was also thought to be injured, and they were brought to the depot, where Dr. T.C. Seright, the company's physician at this place, attended them.
The engine was replaced on the track on Saturday afternoon, but a number of flat cars were too badly demolished to be repaired. The west bound passenger train, due here shortly after five o'clock, was delayed for about an hour, leaving here at 6:30. The injured engineer and fireman were taken to Peoria on this train, and on arriving there engineer Johnson was taken to his home. The bones of his leg had not then been set, and the company surgeon at Peoria was unable to set them for several days, on account of the limb being badly swollen. The fireman was taken to the hospital in Peoria, but after an examination he was found to be uninjured, and was out the next day.
The cause of the accident was certainly due to the negligence of some of the train men who had used the switch prior to the arrival of the extra, and failed to close it.
August 15, 1902
FIRE MONDAY MORNING
BALTIMORE CLOTHING STORE ABLAZE - PINKO FAMILY HAVE NARROW ESCAPE
At an early hour on Monday morning parties who were driving out of town discovered fire in the building occupied by The Baltimore Clothing Store on the first floor, and by H. Pinko and family as a residence on the second floor. The alarm was sounded and the sleeping family awakened. Dense smoke and fire cut off the means of escape to the stairway for Mr. and Mrs. Pinko and their children, and they were forced to escape in their night clothing through one of the front windows onto the awning roof, being helped from there to the ground by men below, and were taken to the J. E. Roach home a few doors to the west.
The fire company responded quickly to the alarm and handled the fire in a manner which has elicited many compliments from the witnesses. The building being of wood, and part of it very old, made the fire a very difficult one for the firemen to conquer, but it was quickly located and , after cutting several holes into the wooden walls and literally soaking everything in the building, the fire was extinguished. The building is owned by Hugh Rice,Sr., of Piper City, and , although it is inside the fire limit, it has been improved, enlarged and added to until it is about ninety feet long, having been originally about half that length. The fire at first threatened to spread through the east block, and had it not been for the effective work of the firemen, there is no telling how great damage might have been cause.
The stock of The Baltimore Clothing Store consists of men's and boys' clothing, furnishings, trunks, valises, men's, women's and children's shoes, and nearly all of the goods are either water-soaked or smoked and soiled. The household effects of Mr. Pinko's family are also badly damaged. The damage to the building can hardly be estimated until a through examination is made by a competent builder.
Since the fire Mr. Pinko has presented the fire company with $15.00 in appreciation of their prompt and efficient work.
August 28, 1902
OLD SETTLERS' REUNION AND PICNIC
This poem written by J.B. Rumbold was recited by him at the 1902 reunion and published in the paper.
Once again we come to honor, Our remaining pioneers.
To unite the scattered veterans, Who have battled fifty years.
Come to see how they have builded, What they've wrought from out the soil,
And we come to learn life lesson, From their simple honest toil.
Come to guard their closing history, And, before we turn the page,
Stop to pause and pay a tribute, Of our youth, to passing age.
See around us spread the prairies, Far away on every side,
Here the grass in waving billow, There the forest in it's pride.
Where a stream begins it's journey, With it's banks aglow with bloom,
Wander deer in deep seclusion, Still at peace, but still near doom.
Dwell wild creatures unmolested, Knowing not the fear of man,
As they've slumbered on for ages, But a change is near at hand.
Hold ! What slowly moving object, In the distance now appears?
"Tis the tented prairie-schooner, Of the leading pioneers.
Soon there follows in his footsteps, Men from many distant lands,
Leaving friends and homes and kindred, Bring as wealth their willing hands.
Come to earn and reap, in freedom, From the wealth-enfolding sod,
Come to know all men as brothers, Equal in the sight of God.
Here they toiled and wrought and builded, All their years and strength employ,
Earning needs, providing blessings, Comforts we today enjoy.
See his cottage on the prairie, With it's tiny window panes,
Standing darkened, dull and lonely, Beaten by the winds and rains.
Plain his food, and none too plenty, As he gathers "round his board,
Clad in garments coarse and scanty, All his poverty affords.
See him plodding, planting, reaping, Using simple, clumsy tools,
"Tis his strength more than his science, That's the power with which he rules.
Braving storms, and fires, and sickness, Ever hopeful through them all.
Till at last his task is finished, He has gained the end he sought,
All around us lie the blessings, Years of health and strength have brought.
Tho' he came a leading actor, And has only cleared the stage,
He has left an honored record, And a glorious heritage.
See him standing at life's twilight, Evening shadows gath'ring fast,
We are looking to the future, He is living in the past.
One by one his comrades falter, One by one they fall away,
Old familiar faces passing, Leave him lonely, by the way.
Standing bowed, as with a burden, By the weight of adding years,
See his horny hands are paisied , Many sounds deceive his ears.
And his steps are slow and halting, Rought the paths he had to tread,
While the frosts of many winters, Settle on his hoary head.
What should crown this closing labor? What is due as his reward?
Needs supplied --are they sufficient? Far too little they afford.
Is it not that they who follow, By their worth shall justify,
All his years of weary effort, And the comforts they supplied?
Should not those whose future welfare, Was his high and noble aim,
Guard with grateful hearts his memory, And prove an honor to this name?
Should not we build for the future, As their useful lives inspire,
Still upholding as our watchword, Ever onward, ever higher?
Peace to those who've gone beyond us, Joy to those who linger here,
Those whose work is nearly ended --Our pioneers, our pioneers.
CHATSWORTH PLAINDEALER SUPPLEMENT, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 5, 1902
INTERESTING READING FOR YEARS TO COME
President Wilson's Address -- Paper of Historians -- List of Officers
Original Poem Delivered at Old Settlers' Meeting, 1902
The interest in the Old Settlers' Annual Reunion and Picnic is increasing so rapidly, from year to year, that the Plaindealer takes occasion this week to devote considerable space to it in addition to the account published last week. Some enthusiasts insist that there were nearly 10,000 people present at the reunion last Thursday, but there were not. That is placing the estimate too high. But the number of people who attend these annual events is increasing so rapidly each year that it will be but a few years until the attendance reaches that figure.
Many who attended the meeting held last Thursday and listened to the speeches, etc., were very much interested in the history of Chatsworth and adjoining townships, which was read by R. Finley Brown, one of the historians of the Old Settlers' Association, and have requested that the Plaindealer print the sketch in full, which is done this week. In addition we reproduce the address of welcome by the president of the association, Mr. S.T. Wilson, and the original poem by the association poet, Joseph B. Rumbold, making not only a very interesting lot of reading, but a valuable record of the Old Settlers' meeting of 1902 for preservation.
PRESIDENT WILSON'S ADDRESS
On former occasions of this kind we have had a short address from the chairman, but today we have eminent speakers on the program, so I will not intrude on the time nor on the patience of the audience, but will say in behalf of the people of Chatsworth, I extend to all a most cordial welcome. I will also say that the mayor has officially turned over his authority, together with the keys to the town house and calaboose, and that everything that pertains to the good order of Chatsworth, for today, is placed in the hands of the Old Settlers' Organization. Further, our organization has grown to such an extent, and attracts such vast assemblies, that in anticipation of this event Chatsworth has constructed hotels, feed and livery stables, opera houses, paved the streets, established a laundry and added another printing press, all for the accommodation, comfort and enjoyment of the old settlers. We have also secured the best speakers, singers and musicians in central Illinois for your entertainment, and we hope that your appreciation and enjoyment of today will cause you to look forward to Old Settlers' Day in Chatsworth as the great event in coming years. Again, ladies and gentlemen, I bid you welcome and extend to you the freedom of the city of Chatsworth.
HISTORICAL SKETCH READ BY R. FINLEY BROWN
It is not the intention of the historians elected by and for the Old Settlers' Picnic Association to compile a complete history of this organization or of Livingston county. Neither was it expected by the officers of this association to have a complete history written or delivered in one single year; it would occupy entirely too much time on your program. And I will take this opportunity of saying to the old settlers present here today; Mr. Smith and myself wish to see you, to talk with you, to learn your personal history, your personal experiences, and have you tell us of the experiences that occurred to you, or of which you have knowledge, during the exciting, but busy days of the settlement of Livingston county. This is to be a cumulative history, enlarging its scope year by year, added to, augmented as time passes. A portion will be read to you each year at your annual gathering; but aside from the strictly historical part of our early settlement, Mr. Smith and myself greatly desire some of your personal experiences to weave into the story. So if the reading today will recall to any of you any interesting bit of your own life, you will confer a favor upon the historians and this association by coming to us and indulging in a backward glance over the span of nearly 50 years and give us the benefit of your reminiscences. We will always have time to place at your disposal.
HISTORY OF LIVINGSTON COUNTY
A period of time which would be considered remote in the records of the civilization of central Illinois would be regarded as recent in the annals of the eastern and southern states, and in the history of a county, which less than 74 years ago was inhabited only by the Indians, it will not be expected that an undue flavor of antiquity will pervade the pages, still the pages of few histories, wither ancient or modern, furnish more instructive lessons than are found in the record of pluck, perseverance and success of the early settlers of this county.
Livingston county contains 1, 035 square miles of territory, and was one of the last counties of the state to attract immigration. It was not until the building of the Illinois Central R.R. and the Chicago & Mississippi R.R., now known as the Chicago & Alton, which passed directly through the county, that immigrants began to discover the value of the lands. Much of the land donated by the government to the state, and by the state transferred to the Illinois Central R.R. lay in this county, and the real settlement of the county dates from this era. This land put upon the market by the railroad company found purchasers and occupants. In the first division of the state of Illinois what is now Livingston county was a part of Cook county. In subsequent divisions, portions were united to McLean, LaSalle, and Vermilion. Livingston county, with its present boundaries, was created by an act of the state legislature February 27, 1837. It was named in honor of Edward Livingston, secretary of state under President Jackson. At that date the population did not exceed 450 persons. Three commissioners were appointed to locate the county seat. They selected Pontiac, where the first post office was established in 1837. Cornelius Reynolds was the first postmaster. The nearest post office before this time was Bloomington. Grain was hauled 50 miles with ox-teams the other side of Ottawa. The history of the county naturally divided itself into three epochs:
First. Its occupation by the Indians from the discovery by the French.
Second. From the first settlement by the whites to the building of the railroads in 1854.
Third. From that period to the present time.
The "Illini" Indians were the first inhabitants of which we have any authentic account, and means Superior Men. Chicago was their great chief. The "Illini" were not a tribe, as is generally supposed, but a confederation of tribes composed of the Peorias, Cohokias and Kaskaskias. Saunemin, after which the township and village bearing that name, was named, was sub-chief under Chicago in this confederation. Against this confederation the Kickapoos, Pottawatomies and Miamias combined for a war of extermination. After a long and bloody struggle, here in Livingston county, the Illini made their last stand at Starved Rock, in LaSalle county, near Ottawa, in 1774. But when the victorious tribes came to divide this domain among themselves, fresh difficulties arose and they again resorted to war. In this struggle the Kickapoos and Pottawatomies combined their forces and made common cause against the Miamas. This war was also fought in Livingston county and , although short, was very bloody and fatal to the combatants. Late in 1774, less than one year after their victory over the Illini, it was agreed that the Miamias should collect 300 warriors and the Kickapoos and Potawatomies a like number, and this 600 braves should meet in combat and settle the quarrel. This fight took place on the banks of Sugar Creek and lasted from the rising to the setting of the sun. This battle is without a parallel in history. At the close of the day there remained out of the 600 warriors that faced each other at the rising of the sun but 12 Indians, 5 were Miamias and 7 Kickapoos and Pottawatomies. In this battle the Kickapoos and Pottawatomies were declared the victors, and the Miamias retired to the east of the Wabash river and became the Ohio Indians, leaving Livingston county forever. The victorious tribes then divided the lands between themselves and the old Indian trail passing near Oliver's Grove became the dividing line. This trail passed the east side of Oliver's Grove and ran northeast, from the southwest. It passed close to the oak tree on the west side of the main road south from Chatsworth. This tree now stands on the land owned by Jacob Rehm and occupied so long by Henry Brantz. This trail was visible as late as 1875. It was worn about eight inches deep and eighteen inches wide, and the wagon road to the Brown settlement (what is now known as Germanville) followed the trail from the tree mentioned above. After passing the grove (then known as Kickapoo Grove) it took an easterly direction for the outposts and fort at Detroit, Michigan. The Pottawatomies camped on the Vermilion river and about 700 Kickapoos erected a council house and built a village on the east side of Indian Grove, south of Fairbury. In 1830 they removed to what we know as Oliver's Grove, then called Kickapoo Grove. They erected a large substantial and permanent council house, 97 wigwams and several smaller encampments. The council house was erected not far from the oak tree on the trail before mentioned. Here an exact census was taken, and they numbered 630 souls.
V.M. Darnell and Frederick Rook were the first white men to locate in Livingston county. Darnell made his settlement at Indian Grove; Rook located five miles west of Pontiac on the creek that bears his name, in Rooks Creek township. On May 5, 1832, William McDowell, from Sciota county, Ohio, with five sons --John, Hiram, Woodford G., Joseph and James -- and two daughters --Betty and Hannah -- settled in what is now Avoca township, on the Little Vermilion. Their descendants are very numerous and among the most wealthy and respected in the county, and the McDowell name frequently appears in the political annals of the county. The Black Hawk war was now on, and this settlement was but a short march from the headquarters of this terrible chieftain. The situation of the settlers was alarming; it was not known what attitude the 700 Kickapoos at Oliver's Grove would assume. So William McDowell called a meeting, May 27, at his cabin and they decided to retreat to the white settlements in Indiana. I sincerely wish that I had the space and time in this curtailed and abbreviated history to give you the story of that terrible march, as we have it from the memoirs of the Honorable Woodford G. McDowell, who was one of the party. According to Mr. McDowell's story, the entire settlement of seven families in six wagons, with the exception of Franklin Oliver, who had located with the Kickapoo Indians at the grove, took up the line of march.
On the second day of the march the wife of Isaac Jordan presented him with a daughter, which was the first white child born within the county, if it was born before the line was crossed. Ford and Iroquois also claim this child as the first-born in their respective counties. Franklin Oliver remained and came and went among the Indians at his own pleasure, without fear of molestation. He thoroughly understood their character and was accounted a favorite among them, in fact an Indian chief was called after his name.
The total amount of revenue levied and collected the first two years of the county's existence, commencing with the year 1837, amounted to $113.71 the first year and $109.80 for 1838, compared with $103,113.00 levied and $103,113.80 collected last year. Even Chatsworth levied $13, 319.42 last year, or more than 120 times the total for the entire county in 1838.
Chatsworth township originally embraced Forrest and Germanville and was known as Oliver's Grove township, but many of the citizens disliking the compound name, petitioned the board of supervisors for a change in name. William H. Jones, being the supervisor, gave it the name of "Chatsworth", from an English story he had read, the principal character of which was "Lord Chatsworth".
The historians do not vouch for the above story of the naming of the township, as there is a controversy concerning the authenticity of the legend. The one give the most credence is:
William H. Osborn, who donated the site of the village and owned considerable land in the township, named Chatsworth after Chatsworth, England, where Osborn Castle, the estate of his family was located. The first settlement was made by Franklin Oliver in 1832, who settled among the Indians at Kickapoo Grove, mention, of whom was made in the county settlement. This was the first white settlement made in the township until the 50's, the Black Hawk war intervening. In 1855, Thomas Y. and Jacob E. Brown left a dairy farm near Brownville, Jefferson county, New York, and settled on 1200 acres of land south of Kickapoo Grove. In 1855, Job H. and George S. Megquier came from Maine. In 1856 David Stewart came from New York. Romanzo Miller came from Vermont in 1855. John Snyder and Truman Brockway came from New York in 1856. Brockway settled in El Paso in 1855, but came to Chatsworth township in 1857, where he permanently located, went back to New York, married and brought his wife here to share his western home. Thomas W. Pope (the father of Mrs. J.E. Brown) and John Hart were the next newcomers to settle in Chatsworth township. They came from the famous bluegrass region of Kentucky in 1856. They traveled the entire distance in covered wagons and brought their families. They camped at what is now Paxton, then followed the Indian trail to Oliver's Grove and lived in a one-room log cabin, without doors or windows. The men and Mrs. J.E. Brown's brothers camped in a tent in the timber. They remained in Livingston county but a short time, then moved across the line into Ford county, locating in the timber south of Piper City, in Brenton township, that has ever since bore the name "Pope's Grove" Mr. Thomas Pope there built his log cabin and settled upon 640 acres of land. The first birth among the later settlers was a child born to Truman Brockway, if we do not count the baby girl born in the Jordan family while fleeing from the Indians. The first death also occurred in his family.
While standing in the doorway of Charles Brook's store (the only building in what is now Chatsworth), J.E. Brown saw a man, a stranger whom no one knew, struck by lightning near where the Morganstern's scales are now located. He had been looking for work, and no one knew him. He was buried where he fell, never identified. At that time Chatsworth had no cemetery. Thomas Y. Brown drew the plans and surveyed the Chatsworth cemetery two years later. The next accidental death in the township was Nicholas Wilson, a native of Sweden. He located in Chatsworth township in the timber near the creek of what is now Forrest, and all of his horses and cattle died the first year with the milk sickness, excepting a small pony that he kept tethered near his cabin out of the timber. Pioneers learned by costly and bitter experience that stock pastured in the timber ate of something that caused them to bloat up in one day and die, and their flesh, even after death, was very poisonous and would kill. the same stock pastured upon the wild prairie was immune. Wilson, after the death of his stock had no means of breaking the land, so turned peddler, with his pony and peddled calico, pins, needles, quinine and some staple remedies. He visited the lone shack kept by Charles Brooks and J.E. Brown one day to replenish his stock, when his pony frightened, ran away and threw Wilson out, breaking his neck.
A story is told of this peculiar genius that some of our oldest residents will vouch for. Fever and ague being so common in this new country, Wilson always carried a stock of quinine. He also carried strychnine to poison the wolves that infested the country. One night, after returning from a long trip over the settlement he was shaking with the ague. He went out in the dark to where he kept his wagon under a tree and returned to the house with a white powder in each hand. He told his wife it was so dark he could not see, but he knew he had strychnine in one hand and quinine in the other, so he would give one to the dog and take the other himself, and then he could soon tell. And the dog died.
The first building in Chatsworth was a frame store erected in 1859 by Charles D. Brooks and occupied the ground where John Mouritzen's meat market now stands. It was conducted by Charles Brooks and J.E. Brown, as a generals store and post office. J. E. Brown was the first postmaster, the post office was carried in his pocket. Postage was 25 cents a letter, to be paid either by the sender or the recipient. Many a letter lay weeks and months in the post office on account of the lack of ready currency. The first school house was built on the lot now occupied by L.I. Doud, between the residences of A.F. Walter and Jesse J. Lantry. The site was donated by William H. Osborn for school purposes. This building is still used for school purposes and was moved to district No. 251, familiarly known as the Ford school house. After the first building was sold, a two-story house was built on the same location and was used for school and church purposes until the building of the present Chatsworth High school in 1870. The old two-story house is now the home of Mr. J.S. Doolittle. The first hotel was build in 1859, and is now the home of George J. Walter, Esq. The first church services were held in the home of Frank Osborn in a house built by William H. Osborn, who located the village Chatsworth, by the Presbyterian assembly of old Brenton, now Piper City. After a church society was organized in Chatsworth the services were held in the unfinished, unplastered second story of the Samuel d. Patton house, that occupied the location of the James A. Smith residence. The whole upstairs was one unfurnished room, seated with rough boards, laid on nail kegs. The Reverend Oscar Park was the first pastor. The Methodist church was organized in 1859 by Reverend M. Dewey and they held their services in the school house that occupied the lot now occupied by the L.I. Doud home, until they built their church in 1874. The Baptist church was built in 1871. We are unable to learn anything definite concerning the organization or date of the Evangelical or Lutheran churches. The Roman catholic church was built in 1864 and dedicated on the 17th day of March to St. Patrick by the Reverend Thomas Roy, president of St. Victor's College.
Rev. John a. Fanning was the first pastor. Owen Murtaugh and Patrick Monahan were the building committee that built the church at a cost of $4,000.00. The first marriage that is particularly remembered was Samuel Patton and Miss Nellie Desmond, in 1861. They were married by the Baptist minister, and built one of the first homes in the village. Patton had the first blacksmith shop in the township. It was on the alley north of his residence. There was quite a pond between the house and shop that Mr. Patton used for the purpose of cooling his irons. Up to this time the view from the solitary store of Charles Brooks and J.E. Brown was simply a waving sea of prairie, until the section house was built, which was the first house completed, and still stands in its original location. The next building visible from our embryo city was the residence of Franklin Foot on the public road from Chatsworth to Onarga. This house is now occupied by Patrick Lawless, and the public road ran direct to Onarga, without a single turn, past the corner of this house.
Was very appropriately named from the number of German residents that located there. This was originally part of Chatsworth township until 1867, when they petitioned to be set off and become independent. Thomas Y. Brown and Jacob E. Brown were the first actual settlers in Germanville, although when they came to this county in 1855 it was Oliver's Grove. The next year brought Nicholas Froebe and W.P. Goembel from the Black Forests of the Rhine. The first school in Germantown was held in 1859 in a room furnished by Thomas Y. Brown in his home. Mrs. W.C. Whisnand, or Margaret R. Pope, the sister of Mrs. J.E. Brown, was the first teacher. School was held here until the "Match Box" was built on the land of Henry Ruppel. This school house was called the "Match Box" on account of its diminutive size and appearance, and could only accommodate a few scholars.
The first settlement in what is now Charlotte township was made in 1857 by Patrick Monahan. His first habitation was made by planting four posts in the ground, across which poles were laid and boards placed across the poles. As he could obtain neither coal or wood he gathered resin weeds for fuel. The fires for cooking were built on the open prairie. He shipped the first carload of stock from Chatsworth and brought the first load of lumber here. J.E. Brown shipped the first carload of corn from Chatsworth. Monahan used to go to Morris with an ox team to mill, which trip occupied a week. When Mr. Monahan came to the settlement one of his oxen gave out one mile west of the place chosen for his home. They came on and left the ox lying by the trail. The next morning they went back to see if the ox had sufficiently recuperated to make the remainder of the journey, but found only the bones of the animal, the wolves having devoured it during the night. The same year that the Monahans built their cabin, Owen Murtaugh came from Marshall county, and was followed by John Martin. The next new comers were L.W. Dart and a man named Loomis. They were rare specimens, if all accounts of them are true. L.W. Dart named the township, following this separation from Pleasant Ridge township, after an old sweetheart named Charlotte he had left in the Green mountains of Vermont. Lawrence Farrell and Owen Finnegan are the next settlers of which we have authentic account. Mr. Farrell came from Ireland and stopped in Chatsworth in 1857, before the village had been thought of. He bought land and erected the first frame dwelling built in Charlotte township. The land he still owns and the original house still stands and is now occupied by Herb Nimbler.
The first white child born in Charlotte township was Julia A. Monahan, daughter of Patrick Monahan. Her father took her to Morris with an Ox team, a distance of 50 miles, to have her baptized. Having no gun, he armed himself with a pitchfork to defend himself against the wolves, which were so ravenous he did not expect to get back with his charge alive. But such is the religious zeal of that devoted people, they will brave any danger to perform the decrees of their church. John Monahan and a daughter of James Glennin were married in 1863, which was the first marriage, although the ceremony was not solemnized in the township. Thomas Bain, a young boy, was drowned while skating on the Vermilion river in the winter of 1862-63, which was the first death. The next death was an old German who worked for Patrick Monahan. He died very suddenly and was buried on the first vacant spot, which happened to be across the line in Chatsworth. He is mentioned in history as the first burial in the Chatsworth cemetery, but Thomas Y. Brown stated that the man was buried for some time before the cemetery was surveyed. So instead of being buried in the cemetery, the cemetery was made about the grave. The first school house was known as the Dart-Monahan school, built in 1861. Owen Murtaugh and Patrick Finnegan were trustees of schools.
Originally part of Oliver's Grove, and then Chatsworth township, was named by the railroad men Forrestville on account of the timber, the first timber they had encountered in the building of the road. At the request of the president of the road, the name was changed to Forrest and named after Mr. Forrest, a capitalist of New York, who promised the village a magnificent present, which, by the way, they are still looking for. About this time the residents of Germantown petitioned to have the name changed to Germanville, on account of the confusion in the name, there being two or more Germantowns in the state. This fact is not generally known, and some of our late maps still use the old name, "Germantown," but the correct and only name of the township is "Germanville".
The writers sincerely regret that they can not go more into the details of the hardships and privations of the brave pioneer settlers of these townships. The grinding of the Indian maize in the hollow of a log to make meal for bread, the raids by the wolves, which were very numerous and troublesome. Lawrence Farrelll was nearly surrounded one day. He happened to be on horseback and was forced to run his horse for his life. The cabin the the timber of the Pope's with blankets hung at the openings for doors, was surrounded nightly by wolves, and they had to fight them continually. The younger children were laid on poles placed in the crevices of the logs to raise them above the level in case a wolf slipped past the fighters at the door. Deer were very plentiful. Mrs. J.E. Brown's brother W.D. Pope, while standing in his cabin door, shot three one morning, and killed another with a club, while it was drinking at the water trough. Mr. Monahan reports seeing a herd of deer one day on the prairie near his house so large he was unable to count them.
In closing this first section of your history, which shall be added to and continued year after year.
We point to you, old friends, and say
The heat and burden of the day
You bore, and in an earnest way
We meet you.
Well please, indeed, to see you stand,
On this glad day, a galliant band,
Whose hands have wrought, whose brains have planned
Such vast improvement in the land,
with beating heart and open hand,
We greet you.
OFFICERS OF OLD SETTLER' ASSOCIATION
The following officers, who had charge of the affairs of the Old Settlers' Association, have been re-elected for another year:
President -- S.T. Wilson
Vice President -- John Gingerich
Secretary and Treasurer -- J.E. Brown
Historians -- R. Finley Brown and Clarence H. smith
Poet -- Joseph Rumbold
Committeemen -- James Snyder, Chatsworth Township; Stephen Herr, Charlotte Township; H.S. Carpenter, Brenton Township;
J.R. Strawn, Forrest Township; B. Netherton, Germanville Township; Thomas Holman, Saunemin Township; Louis A. Walter, Chatsworth Township; A.H. Haag, Sullivan Township; Charles Cook, Pella Township; A.W. Cowan, Pontiac Township; Emory Gregg, Indian Grove Township; J.P. Smith, Lyman Township; E.T. Holloway; Pleasant Ridge Township.
October 10, 1902
FOUNDER OF THE PLAINDEALER HERE
Charles B. Holmes Started the Paper 29 Years Ago This Week -- Also Founded the Fairbury Blade
Twenty-nine years ago this week the first number of the Chatsworth PLAINDEALER went to the hands of the people of Chatsworth. The founder of the paper was Charles B. Holmes, who came here from Bloomington, having been guaranteed $1,200 worth of advertising by the business men of the then little country town. With this issue of the PLAINDEALER the paper begins the thirtieth year of its existence, and , peculiar as the coincidence may be, Mr. Homes, its founder, who is now a grower and jobber of fruits at Benton Harbor, Mich., arrived in town this morning from Bloomington and made straightway for the PLAINDEALER office.
The paper under Mr. Homes management was a success in every way, and two years later he went to Fairbury where he established the Fairbury Blade. The two papers are now recognized as the leading papers of this part of Livingston county, and it is largely due to Mr. Holmes good judgement and business foresight that they are what they are today.
When Mr. Holmes went to Fairbury he sold a half interest in the PLAINDEALER to Rev. R. B. Williams, then pastor of the M. E. Church of Chatsworth, later presiding elder of this district, and a few years later the paper was sold to R.M. Spurgeon. In 1880 Mr. Spurgeon sold out to Jas. A. Smith, the present owner.
The present management takes this opportunity to thank the business men and people of the vicinity for the support they have given the paper, and assure them that it will be the aim to give PLAINDEALER readers the best local paper in this part of the state.
NOTE: This does not coincide with the "History of Livingston County" 1878 and "History of Livingston County" 1909. Both state that the Dimmick brothers started the "PALLADIUM" and "THE INDEPENDENT" , and sold to Holmes in 1874, changing the Chatsworth paper to the "PLAINDEALER" and the Fairbury paper to "THE BLADE" .
JANUARY 9, 1903
FATHERS OF CHATSWORTH'S PAVEMENT
Sketches of the Members of the Board of Trustees of Chatsworth, Who secured the Pavement on Main Street.
In presenting to the PLAINDEALER readers the appended sketches and likenesses of the members of the board of trustees of the village of Chatsworth, the aim is to place before the reading public brief histories of the lives of the men who have accomplished for this municipality one of the most substantial improvements a town of this size can possess. When the members of the present board of trustees announced their intention of having the main business street paved, they were met with volleys of approval and disapproval. Encouraged by the former and undaunted by the latter, they proceeded with a feeling that what they were undertaking was for the lasting good and would be enjoyed not only by those doing business or living here at the present time, but generations to come could also reap a part of the benefit. That they have accomplished a creditable work, few, if any, will now deny. Never in the history of Chatsworth, has there been a greater advancement than within the past year. Her citizens never were prouder of the town, and strangers were never more attracted to Chatsworth than within the past few months. As a result there is unusual activity in all business as well as social and religious circles. Our citizens have spent money lavishly, having become infected by the spirit of advancement, and Chatsworth is very much alive. The merchants are prosperous, business properties command good rentals and houses to rent can not be procured. Chatsworth has responded to the pulse of prosperity and is alive and up-to-date. While we do not predict nor desire to see Chatsworth "boom", she is not only holding her own with other towns with the natural advantages, but is in many particulars the peer of any town of her size in this section of the country. All that is necessary to keep her in the lead is men like these who have accomplished the paving of her main business street - men who are not afraid to act, men who have the ability to recognize public need, and recognizing them, can proceed to procure them for the public. To Chatsworth, the past year has been a busy and pleasant one - one of new friends, business expansion, and certainly a dividend-payer. The PLAINDEALER voices the sentiments of the best citizens of Chatsworth and surrounding country in saying, long live the men who have been instrumental in lifting the people out of the mud which has composed Chatsworth's business street at certain seasons in the past.
George W. McCabe
Since 1893, G.W. McCabe has been prominently identified with Chatsworth's progress, having that year located here in the banking business. September 29, 1897, he married Theresa M. Kehoe, of Chicago, a son and a daughter being born to them. In August, 1900, Mr. McCabe organized The Commercial National Bank, with a capital stock of $25,000, of which amount he took $19,000. He was elected president of the board of trustees in 1901, and his public policy met with such favor that he was re-elected without opposition in 1902. He has always advocated substantial and permanent improvements. Mr. McCabe was born in Brimfield, Ill., March 1, 1863, and after finishing his college education, read law with his brother in Peoria. His early life was spent on a farm near Brimfield.
Thomas E. Baldwin
As secretary of the board of local improvements during the past year, T.E. Baldwin has done much for Chatsworth's advancement. Although engaged in the grocery business, interested in the Chatsworth Produce Co., and one of the proprietors of The Grand opera house which was built this summer, he found time to look after the interest of the people while the paving was being done. He was born in Pekin, Ill., April 7, 1866, and came to Charlotte township with his parents at the age of 14 years. He married Maria Strannigan, February 18, 1890, and left the farm to begin merchandising in Chatsworth in 1891. He has served on the board of trustees three years, having been re-elected this spring. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin have two sons, aged 12 and 8 years respectively.
Captain H. P. Turner
After sailing the seas for thirty-two years, Captain Henry P. Turner located in Chatsworth in 1875, and was, up to a year ago, engaged in the grain, coal and machinery business. He was born in Bucksport, Maine, January 4, 1827, and embarked on a sailing vessel at the age of fifteen as cook. In 1856 he became master or captain of his vessel, and during his life as a sailor was captain of seven different vessels, being in the West India trade most of the time. He visited Russia in 1859. He was married to Rachel M. Greenough, of Boston, September 4, 1851, and they have one son and one daughter living. The captain is serving his fourth term on the board of trustees.
William H. Walter
Born in Henry county, Indiana, December 3, 1858, of highly respectable German parentage, and after spending nearly two years as engineer in the mines of Leadville, Colorado, William Walter located in Chatsworth in 1885. From that day his circle of friends has grown, and continues to grow. Since coming here he has been engineer, at the Chatsworth Brick and Tile Works, and has served on the village board of trustees seven years. He was married to Amelia Hess in 1887 and they have a family of three daughters and three sons. His aged father also makes his home with them. Few men have taken a more decided stand in public matters than has William Walter, and few men are more highly respected.
M. (Michael) Reising
Probably no man has spent more consecutive years in one line of business in Chatsworth than M. Reising, who embarked in merchandising here on January 1, 1874, and is still in the business. He was born in Bremen, Germany, July 17, 1838, and was brought to the United States the same year, and to Woodford county, Illinois in 1839. Here he lived until he came to Chatsworth. He married Margaret Pfarr, of Claremont, Ohio, in 1860. Mr. Reising has served nine years as a member of the village board of trustees, having been elected last in 1901. He has been chairman of improvement committees and has always stood for permanent improvements and the advancement of the town's interests.
Charles T. Burns
The only bachelor member of the board of trustees is Charles T. Burns, of the hardware firm of Burns Bros. He served on the board for seven years, and was re-elected last spring. He has been identified with the business interest of Chatsworth since 1893, having been born in Chicago, June 14, 1861. When he was about three years old his parents went to Iroquois county, where he lived until he came here. Being an enterprising businessman, Mr. Burns recognizes the necessity of municipal advancement, and uses his influence in the behalf of permanent improvements.
Note: There was probably one more member written up, however, it had been cut from the paper.
FEBRUARY 6, 1903
JOHN TAGGERT, CLERK OF THE VILLAGE OF CHATSWORTH
John Taggert, who for the past thirteen years has been clerk of the village of Chatsworth, is one of the most capable and efficient officers of the municipality. For over forty years Mr. Taggert has been a resident of Chatsworth, having been brought here by his parents when he was an infant. He has never married and makes his home with his mother, Mrs. Martha Taggert, in the east part of town. He was born in Camden, N.J., in December, 1862. For many years he has been janitor of the public school building. Mr. Taggert's accuracy and painstaking methods as clerk of the village board of trustees facilitated very greatly the work of the board of local improvements when the paving was being done. Under all conditions he dispatches the duties of the office in a manner which reflects credit upon himself as well as upon those who have continued to elect him to the position, and he seems to improve with time.
FEBRUARY 20, 1903
POLICEMAN SYLVESTER MOORE
Sylvester Moore has been in the police service of Chatsworth for nearly twelve years. There is probably no better known or more efficient and popular police officer in this part of the state than Officer Moore. His duties for a number of years have included those of night watchman for the business part of town, and Chatsworth has been remarkably free from robberies, housebreakers, etc., during the time he has been in the service. He is a native of Ohio, having been born in Brown county, near Williamsburg, Ohio, March 13, 1853. In 1872 he came to Illinois and after spending two years in Woodford county came to Chatsworth, where he has since resided. Officer Moore has a wife and seven children, two daughters and five sons. His aged mother still lives at the old homestead in Ohio. In addition to attending to his police duties in an efficient manner, he is engaged in the dairy business on a moderate scale and supplies many Chatsworth homes with milk and cream.
POLICEMAN WILLIAM CAHILL
William Cahill, one of Chatsworth's efficient police officers, was born in Peoria county, February 22, 1863, where he grew to young manhood. With his parents he came to this county twenty-two years ago and , lived on what is now the Edward O'Brien farm, northwest of here, in Charlotte township. In 1886, with his brother Joseph, he went to western Kansas, where William worked for two years as a bridge carpenter, thence returned to Chatsworth, where he has since lived. Since the death of his parents, with his sister Mary, and brother, Joseph, he has lived in the north part of town. "Billie", as he is familiarly known, has been a police officer for five years. His duties of late years besides those of policeman, have been the supervision of the waterworks, where he has become very efficient. There has been practically no complaint since he has taken charge of the plant and an abundance of water has been at the command of the patrons since his supervision. He is an efficient public officer.
POPULAR MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
MEN FROM THIS CORNER OF THE COUNTY WHO REPRESENT THE PEOPLE OF THEIR RESPECTIVE TOWNSHIPS ON COUNTY BOARD
MARCH 6, 1903
William W. Sears, of Chatsworth
William Wallace Sears of Chatsworth, is probably one of the best known members of the booard of supervisors, of which he has served as a member for nearly a quarter of a century. He was born near Portage, New York, April 21, 1828. In the fall of 1857 he came to Woodford county, Illinois and engaged in the trade of shoemaking. After spending one year in McLean county he came to Chatsworth in 1865 and has since resided here. He is a Democrat in politics and has filled various offices, having been elected justic of the peace in 1866, and having acted in that capacity a large portion of the time since. He was first elected supervisor for Chatsworth in 1872. At the time of the Chatsworth wreck he was foreman of the coroner's jury which held the inquests over 74 of the victims of the diseaster. He was married to Margaret Poorman of Seneca county, N.Y., on September 27, 1855., who still presides over his home. Of their children, but four---Frank, Barney, Grace and Francis survive. The first is judge of Day county, S. Dak., the second is at home, the third is the wife of Jay Baker, and resides in the west, while the last is a popular clerk in J.F. Sullivan's drug store in this city.
James Bergan of Charlotte
James Bergan, supervisor of Charlotte township, is probably one of the best known cattle feeders in this section of the state, as well as one of the most influential members of the county board. He was born in Ireland, May 18, 1846, and was brought to America by his parents at the age of five years. They came to Peoria county, Illinois, in 1858 and from there to Charlotte township, this county, in 1869. Mr. Bergan served three years in Co. E, 77the Illinois Volunteer Infantry, during the civil war, and was held a prisoner at Andersonville for ten months. June 8, 1874 he was married to Miss Mary Boyle, also a native of Ireland, and they are the parents of five boys and three girls. Mr. Bergan is a staunch Republican and has been honored from time to time with various offices, having been school director, road commissioner and for the past ten years has represented his township on the board of supervisors. He is chairman of the supervisors committee of the county soldiers' and sailor's memorial monument, and has been a member of the public property committee of the board for the past six years. Mr. Bergan's time as supervisor will not expire until 1904.
J.A. Ruppel, of Germanville
John Adam Ruppel was elected supervisor of Germanville township in 1901. He is one of the few members of the county board of supervisors who is representing the township wherein he was born. He was born in Germanville township, and is the son of Phillip and Elizabeth Ruppel. He has always lived in the town he represents, and before being elected supervisor served as town clerk for seven years. He has been twice married. The first time in December, 1895, to Hattlie Heiple, of Washington, by whom he had two children, a son and a daughter. Mrs. Ruppel having died some time previous, Mr. Ruppel was married in April, 1901, to Emma Arends. By this union one child, a daughter has been born. While Mr. Ruppel has looked after the interests of his township in an admirable manner since his election, being a comparatively new member of the board and not of a presuming nature, he has not made himself especially conspicuous, being content to perform in a quiet way, the duties the people have placed upon him.
John goembel, of Fayette
John goembel, the present supervisor of Fayette township and the youngest member of the county board, was born in Germanville township, February 10, 1870 and moved with his parents to Strawn in 1880. He is the oldest son of W.P. (Phillip) Goembel and wife, who were among the early settlers of this part of the county. With the exception of one year spent in Nebraska, he has lived in Livingston county all his life. On December 25, 1893 he married Laura A. Walling, near Greenwood, Neb., and three children, two daughters and a son, have blessed the union. Mr. Goembel is a farmer and resides on section four in Fayette township. He was elected supervisor in 1901. Although a man of opinions and convictions regarding the policies to be pursued in county matters, he is not one inclined to make himself unduly prominent, but when the people's interests are at stake, the people of his township have never found him absent.
CHARLES D. CARY, CHATSWORTH'S RISING ATTORNEY
MARCH 13, 1903
Charles D. Cary, attorney for the village of Chatsworth, was a prominent factor in directing the movements of the board of local improvements during the paving of the main business street of our town the past summer. He was born February 22, 1874 in Saratoga township, Marshall county, and at the age of eleven years moved with his parents to Rantoul. After finishing the course of the Rantoul high school he entered Ann Arbor (Mich.) University in 1891, and in 1895 received the degree of B.L. In 1897 the degreeof L.L.M. was conferred upon him, having been licensed to practice law in the courts of Michigan the year previous and in Illinois the same year. In January, 1898 he located at Pontiac, and in August, 1899, came to this city, where he has since buildt up a lucrative and constantly increasing practice. No attorney in the county, outside of the county seat, tries more cases in the circuit court than does Mr. Cary, and no attorney wins a larger per cent of the cases he tries. He has a fine law library of about 500 volumes and is continually adding to it. Mr. Cary is not married.
BOTH BILLIARD HALLS SOLD
MARCH 13, 1903
Martin Kerrins has again become owner of the billiard hall, which he recently sold to John Snyder, of Gilman, and will conduct the establishment. The real estate firm of Kerrins and Fitzgerald consummated this deal.
Mr. Louis Weinand purchased this week the entire business, including building, lot, billiard hall and fixtures of Erasmus Haberkorn. The price paid is a large sum and the parties interested prefer not to make this known.
Note: Spelling should be Louis Wienand.
MARCH 13, 1903
In overhauling some old papers in the PLAINDEALER office this week, among other things of interest that were found was a program of the first commencement of the Chatsworth high school, which occurred in the town hall on Friday evening, June 17, 1881. The class was composed of Mary Fosdick, Louisa Stevens, Eliza Dorsey and Emma Turnbull, and the class motto was "The marble lies waiting". An invitation for the first annual banquet of the Alumni of the Chatsworth High School, which was given at the town hall on the evening of June 8, 1887, was also found.
Note: See first commencement Here.
Note: See first alumni Here.
ABONDONMENT OF COAL MINE WILL WIPE THE PROSPEROUS NEW TOWN OFF THE MAP.
MARCH 20, 1903
THIS IS A COUNTY STORY, BUT OF INTEREST.
Four years ago a thick vein of coal was discovered about midway between Reddick and Cardiff, on the Wabash railroad north of Forrest. A shaft was sunk and a town sprung up which promised to become prosperous. Last week the population was estimated at 1300 people, and within a few months, or perhaps only a few weeks, the town will be deserted. This dire calamity is due to a series of explosions in the mines, which resulted in the mine catching on fire. The mine owners who have put over $100,000 in the town, have been compelled to abandon the mine, and the first of the week it was flooded with water to quench the fire, a car-load of cement was dumped into the opening and the mine sealed forever. The bodies of three miners killed by the explosions, and probably fifty mules, some of which were still alive, were left in the mine, it being considered too dangerous to attempt to rescue them.
The first explosion occurred on Thursday night of last week, when three miners were killed and fourteen injured. On Sunday another explosion killed five men. This was followed by another explosion that killed a man at the opening above ground. The trouble is supposed to have been caused by natural gas leaking into the mine.
The following is the list of the dead, as near as we have been able to obtain it:
John McClosky, Joseph Huett, Zrel Azofino, Ulysses Anderson, A. Hutchins, Archie Wilson, A.M. Michaels, and three unknown.
Note: Such a tragedy. A couple of later stories that year claimed that the town would continue, but as we all know, it did not last long. A story worth looking into, and learning more about the victims.
Which I will try to do.
Read more here at Gendisasters.
Read more about the memorial erected in 2007 at this site.
SOME COMPETENT OFFICIALS
MEN WHO KEEP THE RECORDS OF TOWNSHIP BUSINESS IN CHATSWORTH, GERMANVILLE AND CHARLOTTE TOWNSHIPS
MARCH 27, 1903
We are pleased to present our readers this week with portraits and short sketches of three of the township clerks of this part of the county. We regret that we are not fortunate enough to be able to present a more distinct likeness of Mr. Van Alstyne, clerk of Chatsworth Township. These men are strongly identified with the business interests of their respective townships, and are efficient officers.
R. L. VAN ALSTYNE, OF CHATSWORTH
No one can deny that Chatsworth township has one of the most competent town clerks in the county in the person of Robert L. Van Alstyne. He was first elected to the office April 1, 1890 and has filled the position with the greatest satisfaction to all concerned since that time. Robert L. Van Alstyne was born in Dupage county, near Elgin, August 11, 1863, and in 1867 came to Chatsworth township and located on a farm southeast of this village. With the exception of one season spent in Iowa, when about twelve years old, he has since resided in this township. He attended the Chatsworth schools, and at the age of 14 entered the Plaindealer offie as apprentice. One season thereafter he spent in farm work and since then has been steadily employed in this office. For over 25 years he has been the office foreman, and for reliability and capability has few equals. On March 10, 1893, he was united in marriage with Miss Phebe M. Spiecher, daughter of the late L.C. Spiecher, and they are the parents of three sons. Mr. Van Alstyne has resigned his position as foreman of the Plaindealer office, to take effect April 1, owing to the continued application to work proving detrimental to his health and will engage in other business.
THOMAS J. O'CONNOR, GERMANVILLE
On March 19, 1861, near Seneca, LaSalle county, Thomas J. O'Connor, present incumbent of the office of town clerk of Germanville township, was born. At the age of four years, with his parents, he moved to Ottawa, where the family lived for three years. In the spring of 1868 they came to Charlotte township, Livingston county, where Mr. O'Connor grew to manhood. On October 26, 1887, he married Miss Julia Murphy, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Murphy, old residents of Chatsworth township, and five years later moved to Germanville township, where they have since resided. During his residence in Charlotte township he served as clerk of the town for seven years and two years ago was elected clerk of Germanville township and re-elected again last year. He owns a fine farm of 160 acres where he lives, and also has land interests in Minnesota. He is a man highly esteemed by his friends, and is ever alert to the interests of the people who elect him to office.
F.R. MASSEN, OF CHARLOTTE
Frerich R. Massen, of the firm of Sterrenberg & Massen, of Charlotte, was appointed clerk of Charlotte township on Spetember 19, 1897, vice G.W. Maddin, resigned. Since that time he has been elected each spring and is one of the most popular town clerks in the county. He was born October 20, 1848, in Ostfriesland, Germany, and in May, 1869, came to the United States, landing in New York. He came direct to Minonk, Illinois, where he worked on a farm for five years. In the spring of 1874 he moved with his parents to Danforth, where he farmed a few years and then took a position as clerk in a general store in Danforth. In the spring of 1886 he became a member of the firm of Sterrenberg & Massen, general merchandise dealers at Charlotte, and since January 16, 1888, he has been postmaster at that point. Mr. Manssen is a capbale business man and fills the office of town clerk with the greatest satisfaction to the majoority of the people of the township whose business he conducts. He is unmarried.
See O'Connor photo here.
See Massen photo here.
A SERIES OF ACCIDENTS
FRACTIOUS HORSES CAUSE MUCH EXCITEMENT BUT RESULTING DAMAGE IS SLIGHT
JUNE 3, 1903
The past week has witnessed a number of accidents in this city and vicinity, caused by run away horses. On Saturday afternoon, as hundreds of people were upon the streets doing Saturday trading and going to the commencement exercises of St. Patrick's Academy at The Grand, the sorrel team of Supervisor Thomas J. O'Connor, of Germanville township, indulged in a wicked run down the pavement. The team started as they crossed the T.P. & W. railway tracks near the Puffer elevator, and turned east on the pavement on Locust street. Mrs. O'Connor and two daughters, who were in the back seat of the carriage, were thrown out at the corner of Third street as the corner was turned. Mr. O'Connor and his son, experienced a thrilling ride down the crowed street. When in front of W.E. Cording's store, the team collided with one of S. Morganstern's wagons, drivden by Geo. Heppe, which stopped them. Mr. Heppe was knocked off the wagon and somewhat bruised and cut, but Mr. O'Connor and son escaped injury. Mrs. O'Connor and one of the daughters were somewhat injured but not seriously. The carriage was uninjured, and the damage to the wagon was slight, but one of Mr. O'Connor's horses was quite badly used up.
On sunday evening while driving near Forrest, Dr. N.M. Otis, of Fairbury, and Miss Ora G. Smith, of this city, had an experience with an uncontrollable horse, caused by the breaking of a hold back strap. Neither was seriously hurt. Miss Smith was compelled to jump from the buggy on account of the horse's kicking, and the Doctor was trown over a hedge fence into an oat field. Aside from a few scratches and bruises they escaped injury.
Jody Feeley had a runaway in the southeast part of town on Saturday evening. He was driving a single horse, and the animal became obstreperous, damaging the buggy to some extent.
JUNE 3, 1903
A pretty home wedding took place last evening at the home of Dr. and Mrs. O.H. Brigham, when Rev. J.J. Quinn united in marriage their second daughter, Miss Della B. Brigham and Mr. George G. Sloan, of Chicago. The ceremony was witnessed by the immediate family only, and the happy couple started on the 9:13 T.P. & W. for Chicago.
The bride is one of Chatsworth's popular young ladies. Until a short time ago she was the capable assistant to Postmaster Sanford, having previously been employed in a large wholesale jewelry house in Chicago. Mr. Sloan holds a lucrative and responsible position with the same house, and is a young man of pleasant address.
Mr. and Mrs. Sloan will be at home at 5425 Calumet Avenue, Chicago, where they will board until fall, when they anticipate starting housekeeping. May their lives be blessed with happiness, health and success, is the wish of their many friends.
A GIFT TO THE TOWN
CHATSWORTH PRESENTED WITH A DRINKING FOUNTAIN BY MERKLE AND SONS
JULY 24, 1903
Merkle and Sons, the well known Peoria monument dealers, have made a gift to the people of Chatsworth, having presented the town with a drinking fountain, to be erected in Armstrong Park. The village authorities will have the same erected and connected with the water mains, so that the thirsty may drink. Present plans are to have the fountain erected at the northeast corner of the park and surrounded by a cement platform. The fountain is of a neat design, cut from granite, with a heavy base, upon which is an artistic standard which will hold the water bowl, also cut from granite. When erected and complete the fountain will not only be very useful, but will be a decided ornament, and our people should certainly feel very greatful to Merkle and sons and especialy to Mr. Charles Merkle, the traveling representative of the firm.
SAMUEL MORGANSTERN, CHATSWORTH'S JUNK DEALER
AUGUST 7, 1903
It is doubtful if there is a dealer in junk, hides, tallow, etc. doing business in this part of the country who is more widely known than Samuel Morganstern, of this city. In addition to his office, storehouse and yards which occupy block 29 in this city, he conducts a rendering establishment east of town, where, at certain seasons, a large amount of tallow is rendered. Mr. Morganstern and his agents travel over a territory covering the western part of Indiana and a large portion of Illinois. He deals in hides, pelts, wool, tallow, furs and metals of all kinds, and has now on hand a stock valued at upwards of $5,000. His business aggregates in a year in the neighborhood of $50,000. Mr. Morganstern is a native of Russia, having been born at Balta, August 25, 1861. He came to the United States and landed in New York in 1885, and in 1892 located at Lafayette, Ind. He has been identified with the business interests of Chatsworth since 1897, and has always dealt in the lines he now handles since coming to this country. He was twice married and is the father of six children by the second union. Mr. Morganstern is a naturalized citizen of the United States and is an ardent admirer of the institutions of the country of his adoption.
JOHN TAGGERT, WHO RESIGNED AFTER 18 YEARS IN PUBLIC SERVICE
AUGUST 7, 1903
John Taggert, who for eighteen years has filled the position of janitor of the Chatsworth public school building, and was reappointed by the present board of education for the coming year, sent his resignation to the clerk of the board yesterday, having closed a contract with T.E. Baldwin, the grocer, whereby he will be in his employ as clerk for the next year. It is doubtful if any man in a like position ever gave more universal satisfaction than Mr. Taggert has as custodian of the school building and grounds, and it is with regret that the members of the board of education as well as the school patrons learn that he will no longer accept the position. He friends are pleased to know that he has secured a better and more lucrative position.
BROSNAHAN - BOND
SEPTEMBER 11, 1903
The marriage of Miss Elizabeth Brosnahan, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. C. Brosnahan of this city, and Mr. William H. Bond, of Pontiac, was celebrated at the SS. Peter and Paul's church on Wednesday morning, Rev. J.J. Quinn saying the mass at ten o'clock. The couple were attended by Miss Cora Bond, of Pontiac, and Mr. Thomas Cannon, of Chicago, and the ceremony was witnessed by a large gathering of relatives and friends. Following the services at the church, about fifty guests were served at the wedding breakfast at the home of the parents of the bride.
The new Mrs. Bond is a Chatsworth young lady, well and favorably known to her many friends, while the groom is an industrious young businessman man of Pontiac, in the employ of J. Lauth, tinner.
The newly wedded pair departed on the evening train. They will go to housekeeping in a new cottage recently erected and furnished by the groom at the county seat.
The Plaindealer joins their hosts of friends in wishing them long and happy lives.
FRED M. BUSHWAY IS NOW IN THE EASTERN MARKETS BUYING MERCHANDISE
SEPTEMBER 18, 1903
Probably no young man who has embarked in business in Chatsworth in recent years has been more eminently successful than Fred M. Bushway, the active partner, and manager of the store, of the firm of Bushway and Company. In addition to being a shrewd buyer and an excellent salesman, Mr. Bushway is a firm believer in advertising of all kinds, but especially printer's ink. The firm's great success is due to studying the wants of customers, buying in the best markets and at the lowest figures, combined with a liberal use of printer's ink to keep the firm's name and goods constantly before the people for twenty miles in every direction.
Mr. Bushway was born at Lincoln, Illinois, April 2, 1867. when a mere lad of nine years he began working in a grocery store and took a position in a dry goods store at the age of thirteen. Since that time he has devoted his best energies towards learning the intricacies of the business which he has made his life's work. In 1889 he came to Chatsworth and since then the name of Bushway and Co. has been synonomous with dry goods, cloaks, carpets, shoes, etc., to the people of this section of the country.
On the sixth of August, 1902, Mr. Bushway was married at Houston, Tex., to Miss Ora Brown, of that city. They are the happy parents of a little son about three weeks old, and expect within a few weeks to be settled in their handsome home on Maple street.
Mr. Bushway is now in the markets in the east seeking out money saving bargains for the patrons of the store of Bushway and Company, and on his return the store will be stocked with one of the best stocks in central Illinois to be sold at prices which will save money for those who take advantage of them.
NOVEMBER 6, 1903
Two Chatsworth young people stole a march on their friends last week and were married. On Thursday, October 29th, at Hammond, Ind., Judge Gordon pronounced the words uniting in marriage, Miss Grace H. Fletcher and Mr. John S. Sleeth, both of this city. The young people had been visiting in Chicago, and having decided to marry went to Hammond and were married.
Both the contracting parties are favorably known here, the bride being the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Fletcher and the groom is the son of Mrs. Mary Sleeth. He is an industrious young man and he and his bride have many friends who wish them success and happiness. They will make their home with the groom's mother.
CHATSWORTH AS IT IS TODAY
SKETCHES OF THE BUSINESS FIRMS AND PROMINENT MEN OF THE BEST TOWN OF ITS SIZE IN THE STATE
JANUARY 29, 1904
While no town of its size in Illinois offers a more prolific theme for favorable comment than Chatsworth, it is not the purpose of this sketch to exploit the historical side of the town. While Chatsworth has attained a degree of prosperity that is the reward of thrift, industry and progressiveness on the part of her business men and citizens, and with all due consideration for the fact that the town is fortunate in being situated in the center of one of the most resourceful agricultural districts in the world, we are not going to reiterate the rapid strides the how has made within the past few years, but will give a few short sketches of the men who have assisted in placing the town in the front ranks among the most progressive towns of the greatest state of the Union. Always bear in mind that the men whose progressiveness and conservativeness build up their own businesses, are generally the ones who advance the interests of the town by their enterprise. These are the men deserving of the patronage of the people of this vicinity;. These are the men of whom we are going to speak in the following articles.
L.A. WALTER'S ELECTRIC PLANT
Chatsworth may well look forward to a splendid future. Her many varieties of business bear ample and forcible testimony to the enterprise and progressiveness of our merchants and business men, and their staunch qualities united with the highly favorable location of our city, and its prosperous conditions, and the advantages and facilities possessed, render the past progress and future development of this community a matter of absolute certainty. One of the most important factors in this peaceful city is Mr. L.A. Walter's Electric Light Plant. Every conceivable improvement that can be made is now in progress and ere long his plant will be perfection. His one aim is to furnish everybody with the very best light that can be had at reasonable prices. This plant is filled up with the very best and most expensive dynamos and engines which insures absolutely the best service obtainable. Mr. Walter is one of our most substantial and progressive business men, and the honorable methods which have universally been employed in the conduct of his business have brought to him a large and permanent patronage.
See picture of plant here.
Of the various merchantile interests that contribute to the sum of trade in a city, few are of more importance than the general hardware line. The establishment of Messrs. Burns. Bros. is one of our representative houses engaged in the trade, and which since its foundation, has built up and maintained a reputation of the most gratifying nature. A large stock is carried embracing all lines of shelf and heavy hardware, pocket and table cutlery, blacksmith supplies, house furnishings, stoves and ranges of iron and steel, barbed wire, nails, etc., in fact everything that could be classed in the catalogue of this line of industry. Messrs. Burns Bros. earned success by the very commendable and praiseworthy process of fully securing the same. They are irreproachable both in commercial and social functions as has been attested to and do not need any further comment at our hands.
See building picture here.
See C.T. Burns picture here.
COMMERCIAL NATIONAL BANK
One of the most creditable and interesting histories of steady progress in a financial way is that of the Commercial National Bank, which has been established for years. This institution has proven throughout its career, one of the financial bulworks of our city, and one ever guided by the soundest and most conservative, and at the same time most liberal policies. It has always been a favorite with the business men in our community, and its unusually extended deposits are those of merchants, professional men and other individuals including an extensive list of substantial farmers and stock raisers. This institution negotiates and collects bills of exchange at low rates, discount good commercial paper, pays interest on time deposits, and makes a point of promptness in all business entrusted to its care. The officers are progressive and neglect no point of efficiency demanded by modern commercial practices, while at the same time they carefully guard the interests of depositors, scrupulously protecting them against any risk. The officers are widely known in business circles, and G.W. McCabe, the efficient cashier of the bank, has a reputation for executive ability, prudence and strict integrity, and it is under his capable guidance that the flourishing condition of the bank has been established.
See George W. McCabe picture here.
See the bank picture here.
Modern photography represents the advancement of the age. In the last few years greater improvements have been accomplished than ever before. The Chatsworth Studio has always been on the alert for new ideas, and this fact is reflected in the work. The proprietress has been in business here for some time and her experience in this profession covers a long period. This lady's education has been derived from the very best possible sources and she is now considered most proficient in the art. Her handsomely appointed studio is equipped for doing all grades, styles, sizes and finishes of work. All productions are distinguished for correct pose and artistic shading. This establishment has built up a large patronage in this vicinity and honest business methods have won the confidence of the people.
See picture of studio here.
Mr. Smith would have speaking of Miss Marie Stevens here I suspect. Her name should have been mentioned!
ROACH AND O'NEIL
Your are requested to call and inspect the many new and beautiful pieces of furniture shown by Roach and O'Neil in the Grand Building. Messrs. Roach and O'Neil only desire the opportunity to prove that they can make it advantageous for anyone needing furniture of any sort to patronize them. Call and see what they are showing whether you want anything just now or not. They have come to Chatsworth to stay and if large assortment, choice selection and low prices will bring success they will attain it. This firm also does an extensive undertaking business, being funeral directors and Mr. Roach being a licensed embalmer. They have a lady assistant at the command of their patrons when her services are desired.
No establishment is more appreciated in a town than an up-to-date, well conducted confectionery, especially among the younger people. No man of our acquaintance is more ably fitted or has been more successful in this line than L.J. Haberkorn. Everything in its proper season can be procured at his place, and at all times he carries a complete and carefully selected stock of choicest confectionery, nuts and choice cigars.. He is also an extensive dealer in musical instruments, sewing machines, sheet music, etc., and conducts a news agency which supplies all of the latest periodicals and newspapers. This last department is under the direct supervision of Mr. Haberkorn's son, Lester, who has conducted it very successfully for some time. Haberkorn's fresh roasted peanuts have a wide reputation throughout this section, as being superior to all others.
See L.J. Haberkorn and his peanut machine here.
See Lester Haberkorn here.
See the business here.
Did you ever stop to think what a quiet set of people jewelers and opticians are? Now there are Doud Bros, jewelers, opticians and druggists, located in the Grand Building. Did you ever hear either of them on the streets or elsewhere in public: They are too busy to attend to other people's business. If you will call at their store and ask for anything in their stock of drugs, druggist sundries and cigars, watches, clocks, rings, diamonds and other jewelry, or spectacles, or eye glasses, you will find them ready to please you and to treat you courteously. Because they are expert watch repairers they are never idle. They have in their employ Miss Royal, a competent registered pharmacist, who has charge of their drug and prescription business.
DR. C.V. ELLINGWOOD
To be a successful physician more is required than a technical knowledge of medicine. Judgement sense and profound sympathy are necessary adjuncts to a collegiate course. Without these a practitioner is a failure; with them he is not only a true physician but a benefactor also. Observation and experience lead us to believe that Dr. C.V. Ellingwood combines all of them in happy unison. For the past seventeen years his enviable record has been built and sustained by him. His first introduction to the people here occurred during the Chatsworth wreck, the Doctor being here on a a visit at the time. He was favorably impressed and located here permanently. While now enjoying the comforts of private life and a substantial clientalage among the best families in this community, The doctor has in the past found time to serve the people of Chatsworth in various public capacities. Dr. Ellingwood's office is in the Plaindealer block over Baldwin's grocery.
See Dr. Ellingwood here.
GARRITY & BALDWIN
Among the leading fashionable emporiums which for the highest class of commercial houses of which his community may justly be proud must be mentioned the establishment of Messrs. Garrity & Baldwin. Here is a place that is in the center of a brisk and active trade, and its popularity is readily attested by the large and influential patronage which it enjoys. The house has gained such an enviable reputation for the superior quality of its goods and liberal prices, that the volume of trade enjoyed compares with that of any other house in this city. Their large and complete stock, embraces a complete line of men's and boy's clothing, hats and caps, boots, shoes, furnishing goods, etc., of which each and every article is warranted as regards workmanship as well as style. The business of this young house is being built up through honorable business methods and strict integrity in all transactions. The great success they have achieved in their short career in Chatsworth is, therefore, not to be wondered at.
See James Garrity here.
See James Baldwin here.
ROBERTS IMPLEMENT HOUSE
If there is any resident of this community who does not know F.M. Roberts, dealer in farm implements of all kinds, stoves, oils, etc., let him call make himself known. Mr. Roberts will do the rest. The new acquaintance will realize that he has met a man who has something to say, and says it, and if you want to buy anything in his line he will sell it to you. This concern deals extensively in goods, in their lines in their respective seasons, and always gives full value for every dollar spent with them. Charles Roberts assists his father in conducting the business, and the two make a strong team. They are located at the east end in the Harbeke building, and always have on exhibition the latest improvements in all kinds of farm machinery, and a selected line of stoves, while they carry a stock of the best oils to be had in the market.
See F.M. Roberts here.
KERRINS AND FITZGERALD
No class of business men are doing more to advance the interests of Chatsworth than those engaged in the real estate business. A prominent and leading firm engaged in this line, and very successful since its inception is that of Messrs. Kerrins and Fitzgerald. They do a general real estate business, buying and selling property of all kinds and always have a list of investments to offer prospective purchasers. They also take entire charge of estates, draw leases, collect rents, pay taxes, etc. Another important branch of the business is that of loaning money, and writing insurance, carrying in their agency a large number of strong and well known companies. this is a thoroughly reliable concern. They expect to occupy offices in the Burns-Weinand Block when it is completed.
See J. A. Kerrins here.
Note: Spelling should be Burns-Wienand Block.
STIEFEL, FOX AND TRAUB
In nearly every city of any importance there exist stores which, from the variety and size of the stocks carried, and the moderate prices they are known to quote, deserve more than passing notice. Such is the case with the establishment of Stiefel, Fox and Traub. They are extensive dealers in all kinds of clothing and men's furnishing goods, men's and boy's shoes in the prosecution of which business this house has become one of the most successful in Chatsworth. Messrs. Stiefel, Fox and Traub are well known and need no introduction. That they have been eminently successful is fully shown by the large and influential patronage they enjoy, and which is daily increasing. The line of goods exhibited consists of the latest styles and popular makes of Hart, Shaffner and Marx clothing, shoes, shirts, collars, cuffs, neckwear, underwear, hose, hats, caps, overalls, trunks, valises, etc. These articles emanate from the leading and most reliable manufacturers of the country. The firm has won for themselves legions of friends, and has gained an eminence in the world of trade only achieved by strict integrity and honorable dealings. This firm is very ably represented by the junior member, Mr. Wm. Traub, and all projects which go towards the advancement of the city of Chatsworth receive his hearty co-operation.
See William Traub here.
Light, wholesome bread is desired by everyone and as he has made a reputation in this direction, it is no matter of surprise that Mr. C.O. Landwehr has achieved a success that is more than ordinary. His place of business is nicely appointed and always scrupulously clean. The stock of bread, cookies, rolls, and pastry are the best and freshest, and only the purest and finest of materials are used in making them. No adulterated articles of any nature are ever tolerated. The bakeshop is well equipped and contains the best of modern ovens and devices. Mr. Landwehr is a baker of long experience which gives him the practical ideas to suit his patrons. He has the reputation of being one of our most honorable and upright citizens and has the confidence of all. During the short time he has been in business he has built up a splendid patronage which is constantly increasing.
KLOVER & BORK
A firm that deserves to be mentioned among the leading business houses of Chatsworth is Klover & Bork, the east end grocers, proprietors of the "Blue Front". These young men enjoy a patronage which is constantly growing, and which is among a class of people who buy what they require and pay for what they buy. Klover & Bork sell large quantities of groceries and dishes to the substantial German families of Chatsworth and vicinity, while we would not have it understood that their customers are confined exclusively to this class, as their trade is too extensive to be confined to any one class. They have built their reputation upon a foundation of honesty, integrity and fair dealings and the results they have attained are most gratifying. Fresh, pure groceries, fresh, clean country produce, plain and fancy dishes and lamps, holiday goods in season, comprise their lines.
See Henry T. Klover here.
PEARSON AND HAASE
When Pearson and Haase commenced the erection of their farmers hitch, feed and livery barn a few years ago, wise heads predicted business failure, thinking that there was no demand for such an institution. Time has proven that the judgement of these two enterprising young men was correct, for there is not a more freely patronized place in this part of the state than Pearson and Haase's hitch, feed and livery barn. The proprietors started on the theory that there is nothing too good for the people, and in addition to making their place convenient to the extreme, they equipped it with the best livery stock obtainable and went after that part of the business. Their success is due to energy, ambition, good judgement and hard work.
A subject of interest is a review of those who during the history of Chatsworth have been in business here and afterwards give it up. Think for a minute how many people you have known in business here who are not now so engaged. The number will be a surprise to you. Among the few old timers yet in business in Chatsworth, Robert Rumbold, the insurance agent, is one of the first recalled. He has been writing insurance in Chatsworth and surrounding territory for the past 35 years and still conducts a more extensive business in this line than any other man in this part of the county. He was born in Hampshire, England, July 23, 1831, and came to the United States at the age of 21. He has lived in Livingston county since 1856 and Chatsworth township since 1869. As a citizen, no man in this section of the state is held in higher esteem, and no man is counted as more honorable and straight forward in business dealing. Mr. Rumbold is ably assisted in attending to his large business by his son Cecil, and they handle business for a large line of the most substantial and best known fire and life insurance companies.
See Robert Rumbold here.
FRED J. HARBEKE
Horseshoeing in accordance with scientific methods is a special feature of the farrier's art in these days, and the care and treatment of the feet of "man's best friend" is now receiving the attention that attaches thereto and which it properly deserves. In Chatsworth an establishment noted for skill in the line of horseshoeing is that of F.J. Harbeke. This gentleman is a thoroughly practical horseshoer and all around blacksmith, whose work in all lines of the art has built him a reputation second to none in this locality. In this respect he is most thoroughly versed in both practical and scientific work, and his undisputed knowledge of the business has succeeded in bringing to his shop a large patronage. Mr. Harbeke's business is uniformly brisk, he being conscientious and careful in everything he undertakes.
O.H. BRIGHAM, DENTIST
From crude and cruel beginnings, dentistry has developed into a science. Teeth were formerly knocked out with a hammer, then came the hook and turnkey, these were followed by pinchers, which are now superceded by foreceps to fit any tooth. The modern dentist lays the foundation of his profession in the same preparatory school with the physician, and no dentist in central Illinois has a more successful record than our townsman, Dr. O.H. Brigham, and none is more skilled. He commenced the practice of dentistry in Chatsworth 23 years ago, and says he is here to stay, all reports to the contrary not withstanding. A few years ago he took a post-graduate course in the latest crown and bridge work under Prof. Haskell, one of the recognized authorities in this line both here and in Europe. Dr. Brigham enjoys an extensive practice and his patrons come from miles in every direction from Chatsworth. He takes special pride in the preservation of the natural teeth and has always had exceptional success in fitting plates into mouths unusually hard to fit. Dr. Brigham's office is in the Plaindealer block, and his skill and proficiency warrant the extensive business he receives.
See O.H. Brigham here.
A carefully appointed bar conducted in an orderly manner and which any gentleman need not hesitate to patronize, is the establishment of Mr. John Brown, who has been located in this community for the past twenty years, and his place has become famous for the rare quality of the fine old wines and whiskies which he dispenses. Mr. Brown's policy has always been ,that the very best obtainable was none too good for his patrons, and in consequence he has built up a large, regular trade. Everything usually found in first-class buffets may here be had. As a business man, Mr. Brown is held in high esteem and the manner in which his place is conducted reflects credit upon this trade.
POSTMASTER H.S. SANFORD
One of the most important business men in any community, and one upon whom more people depend than any other for the conduct of their daily business, is the postmaster. Chatsworth is fortunate in having a most accommodating and proficient man in the person of H.S. Sanford. Through Postmaster Sanford's efforts two rural free delivery routes have been started from the Chatsworth office during the past few months, and he is always on the lookout for the best interests of the patrons of the office. He has resided in Chatsworth for many years, and has been identified with the town's business interests since reaching maturity.
See H.S. Sanford here.
One of the most popular resorts in this community where friends may meet and refresh the inner man amid pleasant and attractive surroundings is the Shamrock sample room of Mr. Morgan Ryan. This place is fitted up in first class style, and the stock carried consists of the finest brands of wines, liquors and cigars and the famous Columbia Brewing Co.'s beers. The orderly manner in which the business is conducted makes it a favorite with a large class of desirable patrons. Mr. Ryan has been established here for five years and is well and favorably known throughout the entire community.
See Morgan Ryan here.
Dress as a means toward social and business success should be well looked after, and if you go to A. Hartquest to have your garment made you will find that the services of an artistic tailor are not so expensive in the end as those of ready made concerns, and it will also be noticed that there is a vast difference in the fit, style and finish. Mr. Hartquest has been conducting his place with a constantly increasing trade and influence for over ten years, and his assortment of samples embraces all the latest and most fashionable patterns in worsted, cheviots, tweeds, meltons, etc., while his prices are exceedingly low. Mr. Hartquest is an expert in all branches of the business and believes that a customer who has been pleased is the best advertisement. Mr. Hartquest is a good citizen, progressive and up to date in his business and we wish him abundant success.
See Albert Hartquest here.
It is a well known fact that a good harness store will draw more trade to a community than any one other enterprise, and such merit distinguishes the reliable establishment of Mr. Lewis W. Shols, that he receives the patronage of the people of this vicinity. Harness of every description , collars, saddles, bridles, whips and the like are here found. All kinds of repairing is attended to promptly by expert workmen. Mr. Shols manufactures quite a large proportion of his stock and as it is strictly handmade it can be relied upon for durability. He employs an expert harness maker, has a very complete shop and has built up quite a trade, which is constantly growing as time goes on. Mr. Shols is regarded as a substantial businessman and a very worthy citizen, having the respect of all who know him.
J.C. CORBETT & CO.
The man to figure with is J.C. Corbett, of J.C. Corbett & Co., when you want a bill of lumber or have grain to sell. He will also make you prices as low as anybody on hard or soft coal, ground fee, etc. J.C. Corbett & Co. do not pretend to say that they can sell lumber cheaper than anyone else, but they can sell it just as cheap. They do not pretend to say that they can pay you more for your grain than anyone else, but they will pay all that the market will allow. J.C. Corbett & Co.'s immense business is the result of good quality and fair treatment and they are recognized throughout this section of the country as one of the leading firms dealing in the lines they handle.
See J.C. Corbett here.
STOCKUM'S BAKERY AND RESTAURANT
It is very important that the manufacture of bakery goods should be encouraged, for the simple reason that the public demands it, and as the only way to encourage it is by liberally patronizing those houses which produce strictly first-class goods. We take pleasure in recommending the establishment known as Stockum's Restaurant and Bakery of which Mr. W.D. Stockum is proprietor. He does an extensive business in all kinds of bakery goods, serves first-class meals, lunches at all hours, and has rooms for transients. Everything about the place is conspicuously clean and none but the best and purest materials are used. The proprietor is familiar with every detail of the business and his knowledge and experience combined with sound judgement as to the requirement of the trade have undoubtedly been the means of building up the large and growing patronage he now enjoys.
The tailors art is one of the most difficult to thoroughly master in the wide range of business activity, and requires special talent and capacity. For this reason the leading tailors are few. However among those who have been successful we must not omit S. Sokol, who has had a vast practical experience and training in every branch of this art. He carries a stock of the choicest imported and domestic woolens to select from, and his garments are all perfection in fit, style and finish. His system of expert workmanship and fair dealing with the people is the secret of his success. He has been associated with Chatsworth's tailoring establishments for many years and is now successfully engaged in business for himself and enjoying a thriving and rapidly growing business.
The average housewife is more particular regarding the meat she gives her family than any other part of the food. Cleanliness in the meat market, healthfulness of the animals whose meat we eat, and care and skill in butchering are all essential. In fact, knowledge of the business is an absolute necessity in conducting a meat market. Chatsworth has such a man in the person of John Mauritzen, proprietor of the Central Meat Market. Being a dealer in live stock in addition to his butcher business he has an unusual advantage in being able to secure the choicest cattle, hogs, and sheep that come to the market. His establishment enjoys a large and lucrative patronage which indicates its popularity in Chatsworth and this community. In addition to being a successful business man, Mr. Mauritzen is a man highly esteemed by the people of this community. He is ably assisted in his business by his son-in-law, Mr. Lawrence Hollywood.
See John Mauritzen here.
J.H. Bochen's store in the Hall brick building in the east end, while not the largest stock in town, enjoys the distinction of being conducted upon correct principals, being exclusively a cash store. Mr. Bochen sells groceries at remarkably low prices, for cash, and pays the highest market price for produce of all kinds. A short time ago he had his mind fully made up to leave Chatsworth, but now states that he expects to remain, and is making lowest possible prices in order to secure a share of the patronage of the people of this community, which he certainly deserves.
BUSHWAY & CO.
The progress that has been accomplished in Chatsworth, during the last decade particularly, has been upon a scale of the grandest magnitude, and the results achieved are of the most gratifying and substantial character. Taken as a whole, this city presents a magnificent exhibit of thrift and enterprise. While viewing the detail it will be seen that the individual enterprise of its leading firms compares most favorably with those presenting business in other leading localities. There is no department of commerce that has a better or more substantial representation here than that of the dry goods trade. A foremost representative of this interest is the house of Bushway & Co. Their business premises are handsomely fitted up with a large and well assorted line of dry goods, carpets, cloaks, shoes, etc., in fact, everything conceivable in this line is to be found here. The management is progressive and they give personal attention to the general conduct of the business which inspires the very highest point of efficiency in every way.
See Fred M. Bushway here.
Mr. John Meister has the reputation of keeping one of the finest and most orderly places in town, and in addition to this his goods are the purest and best quality. Persons who desire to stimulate a little and at the same time avoid contact with the disagreeable characters who are some times permitted to infest saloons will find the sample room of Mr. Meister one which fully meets the requirements. He tolerates no boisterous conduct on the part of the patrons and to this fact is largely due the popularity of this establishment. Mr. Meister has been in business here for ten years, and is an honorable business man and a good citizen.
WILLIAM E. CORDING
When buying groceries some people consider quantity and lose sight of the quality of the goods they are buying. Some stores are ran on the quantity plan, but W.E. Cording, the corner grocer at the old Bangs stand, runs his grocery upon a plan embracing three essential considerations, which are the largest quantity of the best quality for the least money. This method of square dealing is what is building up Mr. Cording's trade to large magnitude. Mr. Cording came to Chatsworth from a farm a few years ago filled with determination. He has forged ahead and his store is now recognized as among the leading mercantile establishments of Chatsworth, where fresh, pure groceries and the best brands of flour can be procured at the lowest prices at all times .
See William E. Cording here.
THOMAS C. BALDWIN
Nothing is more of a necessity or a greater luxury in a progressive little city than a first class barber shop. Not only is such an establishment appreciated by the people of the town and surrounding country, but it is always sought for by the large number of traveling salesmen who visit every city. One of the most popular barber shops in this part of the state is that of Thomas C. Baldwin in the basement of the Plaindealer block. Only the best materials, cleanest towels and most expert workmen will be found in his place, and to get shaved in any one of the three chairs in the shop is a positive luxury. Mr. Baldwin also laundries in central Illinois, and conducts quite an extensive business in this line.
See T.C. Baldwin here.
JOHN Q. PUFFER AND CO.
"Sawing wood" is an expression indicating concisely that the person to whom it is applied, goes right along attending strictly to his own business regardless of what others may be doing. Inferentialy it implies that his is successful. There is a firm in Chatsworth which "saws wood" in its widest application. J.Q. Puffer and Co. is the firm referred to, the members, John Q. Puffer, James Barner and A.D. Stanford, being young men of ability. They conduct the elevator at the west end of the Main street pavement, also the west end lumber yard, and deal in hard and soft coal. By integrity and accommodating business methods the members of this firm are making themselves popular all over this country.
See John Q. Puffer here.
BALDWIN THE GROCER
The name Baldwin has come to be known throughout this section of country as almost synonymous with groceries and low prices. It is due to the fact that T.E. Baldwin has been selling the people groceries of high quality at low prices. Mr. Baldwin's store in the corner room of the Plaindealer block is a busy place. He has been in business since 1891, and is recognized as not only one of Chatsworth's leading merchants but as one of the city's leading and most progressive citizens. In addition to groceries Mr. Baldwin carries a large and complete stock of plain and fancy dishes purchased of the largest pottery works of the country, which he sells at remarkably low prices.
See T.E. Baldwin here.
CHATSWORTH BRICK AND TILE WORKS
The one factory in Chatsworth is the Brick and Tile Works of George J. Walter, and by the excellence of their products these works are making a reputation for the town, as well as for their proprietor. Although provided with the latest and most improved machinery and equipped for running all winter, Mr. Walter finds his plant unable to keep up with the large orders which are constantly in excess of the production. The exceptionally fine quality of the building brick and drain tile manufactured by these works has created a demand for them far greater than the most sanquine expectations of the proprietor had conceived when he began manufacturing them. Large quantities of money have been spent in perfecting the products of the factory, but success has been attained. Such an institution as the Chatsworth Brick and Tile Works is not only a credit to the proprietor, but to the town where they are located. They give employment to fifteen to twenty men regularly, some being skilled labor and some unskilled. Mr. Walter spent years in getting these works onto a basis of perfection and success, and he justly deserves the extensive and increasing business that he now enjoys.
See factory here.
SHOLS HARNESS BUSINESS SOLD
FEBRUARY 19, 1904
Peter Meister has purchased the harness business formerly owned and conducted by Louis Shols, and took possession of the establishment on Monday. Mr. Shols retires from business on account of poor health. Mr. Meister has had four years experience in the harness business with Edward Robbins, and he has engaged the services of L.L. Henry. Peter is a young man liked by all who know him, and we bespeak for him success in his new undertaking.
DOUD'S JUVENILE BAND
MARCH 18, 1904
The Juvenile band of nineteen boys with instruments, made its first public appearance upon our street on Saturday afternoon last. The boys certainly acquitted themselves well and nothing but words of compliment were hear. No small credit is due Mr. Doud, their instructor, who has displayed a degree of patience and perseverance highly commendable. The boys are no less to be commended for their untiring efforts and the diligent labors of both instructor and pupils was made manifest by the excellence of their music on Saturday. The boys should be uniformed and we are confident this can be done without expense to the members of the organization, by popular subscription. We feel proud of our band, and but voice the sentiment of our citizens when we express thanks to Mr. Doud, their instructor, and each of the persevering members of the organization. The band is made up as follows:
Lorenzo Cady, Base Drum; Roy Entwistle, Snare Drum; John Baldwin, Tuba; Nathan Huffman, B.Base; Wilford Graham, Baritone; Carl Bork, Second Tenor; Jas. Mauritzen, First Tenor; Otto Sokol, First Trombone; Everett Brigham, Solo Trombone; Elmer Kane, Second Alto; Philip Wagner, Second Alto; Jerome Bergan, First Alto; Louis Walker, First Alto; Loyal Eldridge, Solo Alto; William Hummel, Third Cornet; Leo Garrity, Second Cornet; Earl Cooney, First Cornet; John Mauritzen, Solo Cornet; James Ford, Solo Cornet.
See photo of the band here.
MARRIED 40 YEARS
APRIL 1, 1904
Yesterday was the fortieth anniversary of the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. J.E. Lighty and the event was made memorable by the gathering of about 35 relatives and friends who surprised them, and congregated at their home to celebrate the day with them. The bride and groom of forty years were the recipients of a number of valuable presents, and the day's festivities included a most highly enjoyed dinner which had been prepared.
Mr. and Mrs. Lighty were married on March 31, 1864, in Fountain county, Indiana. They have resided in this vicinity for many years, and are highly esteemed by a large circle of friends, who trust that they may enjoy many more years of life together.
KILLED UNDER A DISC
FOURTEEN YEAR OLD LEO NICKERSON FATALLY INJURED ON TUESDAY EVENING
MAY 20, 1904
One of the most horrible accidents which have occurred in Charlotte township for many years, took place on the Fitzmaurice farm, occupied by Thomas Langan, on Tuesday (May 17) evening at about six o'clock. Leo Nickerson, who has made his home with Mr. and Mrs. James Culkin, of Charlotte, for many years, was discing for Mr. Langan. At about six o'clock in the evening his horses took fright from another team, and ran away, throwing the boy under the machine with which he was working. When the horses were stopped it was with difficulty that his mangled remains were extricated from between the steel knives by which he had been terribly lacerated. The boy was not dead, but before he could be taken to the home of Mr. Culkin, he expired.
Leo Nickerson was born June 10, 1890. at Mackinaw, ill. and died at his home near Charlotte, Ill., May 17, 1904, aged 13 years, 11 months and 7 days. He came here June 10, 1897, and has made his home with Mr. and Mrs. James Culkin, four miles northwest of Chatsworth since that time. He mother died while Leo was but 17 months old and his father died about 7 years ago.
Funeral services were conducted by Rev. F.N. Wright at the Methodist church Thursday afternoon.
The following persons were present from a distance; W.W. Nickerson and wife, Emington, Lou Arnold and wife, John Jontry and sons, Edward, Charles and Harry, Chenoa; Jennie Nickerson, St. Louis, Mo.; and Faye Nickerson, Hooppole, sister of the deceased; Ellis Nickerson and wife, Cullom.
85th BIRTHDAY CELEBRATED
MAY 20, 1904
Mrs. O.A. Hall, who with her only daughter, Miss Carrie, lives in retirement in their pleasant home at the corner of Ash and Fifth streets, celebrated her 85th birthday on Tuesday, May 17. Without her knowledge, her two surviving sons, William S., of Chicago, and Ervin S., of Champaign, put in their appearance, very much to their aged mother's delight and surprise, and with their sister proceeded to make their aged parent happy with their cheerful presence. While Mrs. Hall is at times very feeble, she bids fair, with the constant care and attention bestowed upon her by her daughter, to live to celebrate a number of birthdays, and such pleasant and unexpected visits as those of Tuesday are conducive to longevity.
AUGUST 19, 1904
William Jennings Bryant will lecture at the Grand in this city, August 22. Our people will have occasion to hear America's foremost orator on a subject entirely distinct and apart from politicians. Mr. Bryan will deliver his celebrated lecture on "The Value of An Ideal," considered by able critics to be one of the gems of English literature.
88 YEARs OLD YESTERDAY
AUGUST 26, 1904
Probably the oldest old settler who attended the picnic yesterday was "Squire Leggate, of Germanville township, who as well as attending the reunion of the old settlers, celebrated his 88th birthday.Mr. Leggate was born in Lanarkshire county, Scotland, August 26 , 1816, and yesterday was the 88th anniversary of the day. He has been a resident of Germanville township since 1857, and has resided in America since 1848. He was extended a most hearty greeting by his many friends here yesterday.
SEPTEMBER 2, 1904
On Wednesday morning at nine o'clock at SS. Peter and Paul's church, Rev. J.J. Quinn united in marriage Miss Elizabeth Desire, youngest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Miles Desire, and Mr. John Kurtenbach. Miss Byrdie Oliver, of Chicago, was brides maid and Mr. Owen Kurtenbach, brother of the groom, was best man. The plighting of vows was witnessed by a large gathering of the friends of the contracting parties. The bride is held in high esteem by the people of this community for her womanly characteristics and pleasant manner, and the groom, who is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Kurtenbach, is a young man of sterling worth.
Mr. and Mrs. Kurtenbach departed on Thursday for Moorhead, Minn., near where they will reside on a half section farm, owned by the groom's father. The farm is now unbroken, but they will erect a house, barn, etc., and proceed to redeem it from the raw prairie condition. These two young people possess the right qualities to complete the tasks which they have before them, and their host of friends unite with the Plaindealer in wishing them health, happiness and abundant success.
FIRE TUESDAY MORNING
FRANK MATTINGLY'S SALOON IN MEISTER BUILDING DAMAGED BY BLAZE
SEPTEMBER 9, 1904
Fire broke out in the new building of M.A. Meister, occupied by Frank Mattingly's saloon, at about two o'clock on Tuesday morning. The conflagration seemed to have started in the rear of the building, from an unknown cause and had gained considerable head way before it was discovered. The fire bell was rung vigorously, but the fire whistle at the electric light plant failed to work. However, the members of the fire company were on hand very promptly, and only a very few minutes elapsed from the time the alarm was sounded until a stream of water was playing on the flames. The room was filled with smoke and the heat was intense, but the fire was quickly subdued.
The loss is hard to estimate, and the building is now closed awaiting the arrival of insurance adjusters. The plate glass front is ruined and the interior of the building badly damaged. The following is the insurance on the property: Norwich of England, R.H. Bell, agent, $3000 on the stock and fixtures; North British of England, G.W. McCabe, agent, $1250 on building; Hartford of Hartford, Conn., G.w. McCabe, agent, $1250, on building.
CHARLOTTE ELEVATOR BURNED
SEPTEMBER 22, 1904
The Illinois Central elevator at Charlotte was burned to the ground on Monday morning at about eight o'clock and with it was consumed about 4,000 bushels of corn. The building was the north one of the two at Charlotte, and had a capacity of about 15,000 bushels. The fire was first discovered in the cupola of the structure, and it was only by the prompt and effective work of the neighbors who came to the assistance of J.B. Grotevant, the company's agent at Charlotte, that the adjoining buildings were saved from the flames. The building was valued by the railroad company at $4500, and was not insured. The Rogers-Bacon Grain Co. had insurance on the corn which was burned.
Within twenty feet of the burning building, 450 gallons of gasoline was stored, 250 gallons being in the elevator engine house about twenty feet east of the elevator, and about 200 gallons in the underground tank about twenty feet west in the railroad pumping house. The latter tank was filled with cinders by the section men before the fire had reached it, and the contents of the former was carried into a field and dumped on the ground, under the direction of Mr. Grotevant, thus eliminating two sources of danger to life and property.
WILL LEAVE CHATSWORTH
DECEMBER 16, 1904
'Squire W.W. Sears, a resident of Chatsworth since 1865, has sold his residence property, and with his wife and daughter, expect to remove to Webster, S.Dak., or Kansas City, Mo., in the spring, to reside. 'Squire Sears is one of the best known men in Livingston county, having served on the board of supervisors for a quarter of a century, and been justice of the peace for nearly forty years.
William Wallace Sears was born near Portage, N.Y., April 21, 1828. He came to Woodford county, Illinois, in 1857, and in 1865 came to Chatsworth, after spending one year in McLean county. Since that time he has resided here.
Mr. and Mrs. Sears and their daughter, Miss Francis, will be greatly missed by heir hosts of friends, whose best wishes will go with them to their new home, and all trust that the change of climate will prove beneficial to the health of Mrs. Sears, on whose account, to a large extent, their change of residence is made.
BURNED BY EXPLODING LAMP
MR. AND MRS. JESSE PEARSON BADLY BURNED AND THEIR HOME ENTIRELY CONSUMED
DECEMBER 30, 1904
A lamp exploded in the hands of Mrs. Jesse Pearson, at their home two and a half miles west of town on Monday evening, and as a result Mrs. Pearson was severely burned, her husband was also badly burned in putting out the fire to save his wife's life, and their house and its contents were entirely consumed.
Mrs. Pearson took a lamp from a bracket to extinguish it before retiring, between eight and nine o'clock, and as she did so, it exploded, setting her clothing on fire. By prompt action, Mr. Pearson saved her life by extinguishing the flames, but in doing so her received severe injuries, being badly burned on this hands and arms. Mrs. Pearson's brother, Sam Stockum, was in his room upstairs, and hurried to their assistance. After extinguishing the fire wherever any could be discovered, Mr. and Mrs. Pearson were taken to the home of Mr. Pearson's mother, across the railroad tracks north, where their injuries were dressed, and before retiring for the night two of the boys went back to the house where the accident occurred to make sure that the fire had all been put out, but found no sparks or fire remaining. The following morning it was discovered that the house had been entirely consumed during the night, with everything in it.
The house and farm upon which it is located is owned by Mr. Pearson's mother, Mrs. Hanna Pearson, and was recently thoroughly renovated and put into condition for occupancy by Mr. and Mrs. Pearson, who were married but a few months ago. There was $400 insurance on the building, but not enough to begin to cover the loss. Mr. and Mrs. Pearson had no insurance on their household furnishings, clothing, etc.
The condition of both the injured young people is reported as improving by Dr. Ellingwood, who is attending them.