News‎ > ‎

Beware: Not All Advil is Gluten Free

posted Sep 27, 2013, 11:52 AM by Isabella Porter   [ updated Jan 9, 2014, 8:52 AM ]

Most likely you knew this already, but unfortunately I did not, and I hope that sharing this info helps someone else.

Advil® Liqui-Gels® and Advil® Migraine contain wheat derivatives and are not gluten-free. Check their website at http://www.advil.com/faqs.

If any of you ever need to take a pain reliever, there are generic versions of Advil (ibuprofen), Tylenol (acetaminophen) and Aspirin labeled as gluten-free, including Target and Ralphs brands, among others.

You may want to check this link for more on Advil http://goodiegoodiegluten-free.blogspot.com/2012/03/not-all-advil-is-gluten-free.html.

We should always verify that medications are GF, preferably contacting the company directly if the product is not labeled GF. The new GF labeling rule approved August 2nd, 2013 includes supplements, but not medications.

 

To read the latest status on the HR 2003: Gluten in Medicine Disclosure Act, introduced in May 2013 by the US Congress, please click below.

http://www.celiac.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=241:gluteninmeds-hr2003&catid=7:news-a-events

 

Comments