Gluten Free Eating Tips

NOT SUITABLE GRAINS - CONTAINING GLUTEN:
WHEAT, BARLEY, RYE, OATS (UNLESS LABELED GF OR CERTIFIED GF), AND ALL RELATED GRAINS, NICLUDING TRITICALE, SPELT, KANUT, SEMOLINA, DURUM, COUSCOUS, AND MALT BARLEY.
Gluten Containing Foods:
Italian pasta (fettuccine, spaghetti, noodles, etc), breads, biscuits, muffins, cakes, doughnuts, cookies, and meals containing wheat flour, such as breadcrumbs, croutons, and others.

Note: Some naturally gluten free foods could become contaminated and NOT SUITABLE during the cooking process if starches, thickeners, preservatives or other gluten containing products are used. For example: meals cooked in a sauce containing wheat starch, soy sauce, teryaki sauce, beer, thickeners, floured or breaded fish/chicken, or French Fries fried in the same oil where chicken nuggets are prepared.

Preparation Hints:
Spoons/forks/knifes/pots/pans/ should be cleaned thoroughly prior to preparing a gluten free meal. No gluten free product should be prepared in the same water, oil, deep fryer, etc where gluten-containing meals have been cooked. For example, Gluten-free pasta should not be cooked in the same boiling water where wheat pastas have been cooked.

 

PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT ANY PERSONNEL WHO COMES IN CONTACT WITH GLUTEN-FREE MEALS UNDERSTANDS THE MEANING OF GLUTEN AND THE IMPORTANCE OF CROSS-CONTAMINATION ISSUES. Example: A well intentioned server may notice that ONE bowl of ice cream is missing the cookie that ‘comes with it’. The cookie may inadvertently be placed by the server at the last minute in good faith, unbeknownst to the chef who originally prepared the ice cream gluten-free.  A trusting celiac (i.e. a child attending camp, etc) may assume that her/his cookie is ‘a gluten-free equivalent’, and therefore, not ask further questions.
 
 
OTHER REQUIREMENTS
 
PURCHASE A BRAND NEW VERTICAL TOASTER AND MAKE IT A DEDICATED TOASTER FOR GF BREADS ONLY.
IT IS BEST NOT TO SHARE BUTTER STICKS, PEANUT BUTTER JARS ETC WITH OTHERS THAT CONSUME WHEAT BREADS (READ BELOW).  ANOTHER OPTION IS TO HAVE A TOASTER OVEN AND LAYER THE TRAY WITH FOIL TO PROTECT YOUR GF BREADS.
 
IF OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS USE YOUR GF SPREADABLES, PLEASE ASK THEM TO GRAB THE PORTION TO BE USED (PRESERVE, NUTELLA, MAYO, HONEY, ETC) ALL AT ONCE (THE "GOB DROP") TO AVOID CROSS-CONTAMINATION. THE "GOB DROP" ELIMINATES DOUBLE-DIPS AFTER THE UTENSIL USED HAS TOUCHED A WHEAT-CONTAINING PRODUCT (WHEAT TOAST, CRACKER, ETC).
YOU MAY ALSO OPT TO BUY MOST OF THESE SPREADABLE ITEMS IN SQUEEZE BOTTLES. 
 
QUESTIONABLE FOODS AND INGREDIENTS: Soy Sauces, bacon, processed meats, marinades, sauces, soup bases, thickeners, broth, imitation crab, and stuffing.
Note: La Choy Soy Sauce and San-J Organic Tamari Wheat Free Soy Sauces are Gluten-Free. Kikoman carries a gluten free soy sauce. Bragg's Amino is also an excellent choice for cooking.

GLUTEN-FREE GRAINS AND ALTERNATIVE FLOURS:

Rice, Millet, Maize (Corn), Amaranth, Montina, Tapioca (Manioc), Yucca, Sorghum, Quinoa, Buckwheat, Arrowroot, Teff, Mesquite, Bean and Nut Flours - Only Certified GF or labeled GF! (high risk of cross-contamination)
 
SUGGESTIONS FOR A GLUTEN FREE MENU
BREAKFAST: 
Yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausages (check ingredients) and French Fries are OK if cooked accordingly (deep fried foods may be hard on the sensitive stomach; please use your own judgement and use sparingly).
 
You may add fruit, honey, whipped cream, etc to GF yogurt and GF cereals. Gluten-free biscuits, gluten-free waffles, gluten-free pancakes, gluten-free toast, and gluten-free cereals only. Certified GF products preferred.

Kosher sausages are generally gluten-free (always check ingredients). If pancake syrup is used on your GF pancakes etc, pure maple syrup is preferred.

Note: Please make sure omelettes ordered at restaurants do not have wheat starch added to batter for fluffiness. Added cornstarch is fine.  It is best to ask a restaurant to make your omelette using real eggs instead of an egg batter mix. Please ask for a clean pan and make sure the oil is clean too, as some oils may have been used previously to cook other meals containing gluten.

LUNCH AND DINNER:

Gluten-free sandwiches prepared with pre-sliced gluten free breads, such as sliced chicken, ham and turkey (check ingredients). All cheese except Blue Cheese, unless blue cheese is labeled gluten free. Check ingredients if using peanut butter and preserve, etc and avoid those processed in the same facility as wheat unless you know that the company uses good cleaning practices. Again, it is best to buy products certified gluten free. Be cautious about GF products made in the same facility as wheat products, as they may or may not have cross-contamination issues. Also, those products labeled "gluten free" and "no gluten ingredients used" are not "certified gluten free". If the products are made in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, or Europe, these countries have strict GF labeling rules and a product labeled GF will have been tested for gluten (zero parts per million allowed in Australia and New Zealand, less than 20 parts per million in Europe and Canada). The US does not have a gluten free labeling rule.

Kosher meats for sandwiches are generally gluten free. Hormel brand meats for sandwiches say ‘gluten free’ on the packet and so do other brands. Please be aware that some peanut butter is processed in facilities that also process wheat (i.e. Trader Joe’s peanut butter). Maranatha Peanut Butter or any brand labeled GF would be our best choice.

IMPORTANT: WHEN A GLUTEN FREE TOASTER IS NOT AVAILABLE, PLEASE PLACE GLUTEN FREE BREAD IN THE OVEN ON TOP OF A SHEET OF ALUMINUM FOIL INSTEAD. TO IMPROVE TASTE, MOST GLUTEN FREE BREADS SHOULD BE TOASTED OR BAKED. FOR OVEN BAKING, SET AT 350 DEGREES FOR A FEW MINUTES.

Salads are gluten-free except those with added croutons. Examples include lettuce, tomato, olives, onions, boiled eggs, asparagus, corn, carrots, etc. Confirm that salad dressing is GF or use olive oil, vinegar, salt, lemon etc..

If a salad bar contains croutons mixed in the same container, CELIACS will need a fresh salad prepared from scratch to avoid cross-contamination. Never eat a salad with croutons and pull the croutons aside. The crumbs from the croutons will be in your salad and even small traces will harm your small intestine, even if you do not "feel" the gluten.

VEGETABLES:

All vegetables are gluten free, unless they have been floured or breaded. Examples include potatoes, carrots, thistles, celery, spinach, leek, Swiss chard, zucchini, green and red bell peppers, pumpkin, mushrooms, sweet potatoes and more.

BEANS, EGGS, MEAT AND FISH (protein):

Beans are gluten free. However, if some legumes come in contact with grains, they may not be gluten free.  Always check ingredients and wash dry legumes throughly before soaking. Eggs OK any style. All grilled or sautéed beef, chicken, pork, lamb, fish, and shellfish are gluten-free, except those floured, breaded, or cooked in sauces thickened with wheat starch.

DESSERT SUGGESTIONS

Fruit, Ice Creams (please check ingredients such as ‘cookies and cream’), yogurt, and only gluten-free products or desserts baked and prepared with gluten-free mixes.

DRINKS AND OTHERS
Water is best. Also, 100% Juices not from concentrate are preferred. Milk and dairy products OK unless lactose intolerant. Coffee, tea, coke and Gatorade OK but use sparingly (only you can choose healthy gluten free).
 
OTHERS. Butter and cooking oils generally OK. Margarines and other spreadables are sometimes questionable. Cream cheese, tomato sauce and mayonnaise are generally gluten-free. Please check ingredients before using.
 
REMEMBER: Products can be labeled gluten free and still be produced in a facility that produces wheat, with or without the risk of cross-contamination. Read labels carefully and choose wisely. Different categories, such as products "Certified Gluten Free", products with a "Gluten Free" statement on their label, and products labeled with "no gluten ingredients used" can vary widely when tested for potential traces of parts per million (ppm) of gluten permitted due to manufacturing practices, cross-contamination etc. Finally, if you feel that you react to a product, whether labeled gluten free or not, trust your gut and avoid the product. Sometimes it is not gluten that make us sick; it could be other ingredients or the meal combination.
Ċ
Isabella Porter,
Sep 23, 2014, 4:21 PM
Ċ
Isabella Porter,
Mar 2, 2013, 4:46 PM
Comments