1760: Robert Strawbridge begins Methodist meetings in Frederick County (Carroll County today) Maryland.

1767Philip William Otterbein and Martin Boehm started Methodist evangelism among German speaking immigrants. This development had to do only with language. Methodist Episcopal Bishop Francis Asbury preached at Otterbein's funeral.

1784: The Methodist Episcopal Church is officially formed at the Baltimore Christmas Conference, with Francis Asbury and Thomas Coke as the first bishops.

1800: The Evangelical Association was organized by Jacob Albright to serve German speaking Methodists.

          First annual conference of The United Brethren in Christ, Boehm and Otterbein are elected as bishops of the conference.

1828: The Methodist Protestant Church was organized by Nicholas Snethen, along with Asa Shinn. The issue was the role of laity in governance of the church. 

1844: The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organized because of the slavery controversy.

1939: The Methodist Episcopal Church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Methodist Protestant Church merged to form the Methodist Church.

1946: The Evangelical Church (Albright's Evangelical Association) and Otterbein's Church of the United Brethren in Christ merged to form the Evangelical United Brethren Church.

1968: The Evangelical United Brethren Church and the Methodist Church merged to form the United Methodist Church.