Locating Images, Video and Audio

Photos and Images - Make sure you are not using copyrighted images in your projects.  Always document the source.

Pics4Learning http://www.pics4learning.com/

Kids Click Image Search: http://www.kidsclick.org/psearch.php

FreeFoto.com http://www.freefoto.com/

Flickr http://www.flickr.com/

Google Image Search: http://www.google.com/imghp

New York Public Library Digital Gallery http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/

Library of Congress Online Catalog: http://www.loc.gov/pictures/

Copyright Free Photo Library http://www.copyrightfreephotos.com/

Picsearch http://www.picsearch.com/

Smithsonian Collections  http://collections.si.edu/search/

Video Resources:

Kideos.com http://www.kideos.com/ Videos for kids, all approved by the Video Advisory Council.  An age-appropriate "youtube" type experience.

Discovery Education’s United Streaming  http://streaming.discoveryeducation.com/index.cfm  (free 30 day trial; school subscriptions required for downloading). I hate to recommend sites that require subscriptions, but this one is geared toward educators, includes lesson plans and activities, and is aligned to standards. According to their records, they are used in more than half of U.S. Schools.


Annenberg's Free Educational Videos http://www.learner.org

National Geographic Video http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video

Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org/

Teachers Domain http://www.teachersdomain.org/

PBS Learning Media http://www.pbslearningmedia.org/

YouTube http://youtube.com/  (you can create a homepage and add educational content channels)

TedTalks https://www.ted.com/ and http://ed.ted.com/ to build lessons around video

WatchKnowLearn http://www.watchknowlearn.org/default.aspx

Audio Resources:

American Rhetoric  http://www.americanrhetoric.com

History & Politics Out Loud  http://www.hpol.org

NPR's Lost & Found Sound http://www.npr.org/programs/lnfsound

History Channel's Speech Archive  http://www.history.com/speeches

Sound effects and music

FindSounds  http://www.findsounds.com

WAV Central  http://www.wavcentral.com

Partners in Rhyme http://www.partnersinrhyme.com

FreeSound Project http://www.freesound.org/