MISSION STATEMENT:  "The museum represents the preservation, study and sharing of our heritage, informing young and old alike, that history lives in us all."


Fri. 1-5
Sat. 10-4
Free Admission


About us

The Cannon Falls Area Historical Society was organized in 1979 and opened a museum in the city's old "Firemen's Hall" in 1980. The building was constructed in 1888, and is on the National Register as one of the oldest surviving fire stations in the Midwest.

Cannon Falls has a rich history, from its founding by the Freeborns in 1854 up to the present day, the museum shares our heritage through displays of photos, textiles, business memorabilia, artifacts and multimedia. We also make available research materials like old Beacons, Platt Maps, cemetery records, journals, yearbooks and family genealogies. 

There's something for everyone at the Cannon Falls Museum. We look forward to your visit!


ADDRESS: PO 111: 206 W Mill St Cannon Falls, MN 55009
PHONE: 507-263-4080
EMAIL: info@cannonfallsmuseum.org
Museum Director: Zachary Wareham

Pie and Ice Cream Social on August 2.

posted Jul 25, 2014, 2:23 PM by Cannon Falls Museum

We will be having a grand opening of our new Prairie Garden at the City Parking lot from 9-1:00. We will have free pie and ice cream, educational programs and tours of the Prairie Garden, which is situated right in front of the Harvest Heritage Mural painted on the Althoff storage building. 


posted Feb 22, 2014, 10:17 AM by Cannon Falls Museum   [ updated Feb 22, 2014, 10:20 AM ]

Links to local history like "Our Story" and "History Minute" are found at Cannon Falls Community Television

1-2 of 2