Lee Nano-optics Lab

Prof. Howard (Ho Wai) Lee
Assistant Professor                                                                        Tel: +1 (254) 710 2277
Department of Physics                                                                  Email: Howard_Lee@Baylor.edu
Baylor Research and Innovation Collaborative (BRIC)               Google Scholar ID: Ho Wai Howard Lee
Baylor University                                                                            Linkedin: Howard Lee
Texas, United States (Link)                                                            ResearchGate: Howard Lee
                                                                                                           OSA CLEO blog: Blog CLEO
IQSE Fellow and Visiting Professor                                               OSA FiO blog: Blog_FiO
The Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering               OSA Optical Material Studies Group: OM group
Texas A&M University
Texas, United States (Link)

2018 NSF CAREER Award
2017 DARPA Young Faculty Award
2018 Baylor Young Investigator Award
2018 OSA Ambassador

We are looking for highly motivated PhDs to join our group in active plasmonics/metasurfaces, zero-index optics, quantum bio-photonics, microstructured fiber-optics, and photonic/plasmonic integrated nano-devices research. Undergraduate researcher and visiting scientist are also welcome. Please send Dr. Lee an email if you are interested in these positions. (Howard_Lee@Baylor.edu) (open positions)

                             2016 Group Christmas Dinner                                                             2017 Chinese New Year Dinner

                         2017 End of Summer Celebration Dinner                         2017 APS Texas Meeting Banquet in Dallas (Hyer Award) (Oct 2017)

                                    2017 Christmas Party                                                                Farewell dinner for Qiannan (Feb 2018)



Howard Lee is currently an Assistant Professor at Baylor University and IQSE Fellow at Texas A&M. He was a postdoc fellow in Harry Atwater's group at Caltech from 2012-2015. He received my Ph.D. degrees in Physics from the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in 2012 under the supervision of Prof. Philip Russell [2015 president of the Optical Society of America (OSA)]. 

Our research focuses on developing new techniques, including emerging active materials and nanostructures, to control the interaction between light and matter at the nanometer length-scale, and to study new optical phenomena for development of novel nanophotonic applications. Specific research interests lie in the physics, nanoscale material sciences and device engineering of nano-optics, plasmonics, metamaterials/metasurfaces, zero-index optics, and photonic crystal fiber optics.

Selected Publications

A. Anopchenko, L. Tao, C. Arndt, H. W. Lee, “Gate tunable and broadband Epsilon-near-zero perfect absorbers with deep subwavelength thickness,” submitted to ACS Photonics (2018).

K. Minn, A. Anopchenko, J. Yang, 
H. W. Lee, “Excitation of epsilon-near-zero resonance in ultra-thin indium tin oxide shell embedded nanostructured optical fiber,” Nature Scientific Reports 8, 2342 (2018).

Y. W. Huang*, H. W. Lee*, R. Sokhoyan, K. Thyagarajan, R. Pala, S. Han, D. P. Tsai, and H. A. Atwater, “Gate-tunable conducting oxide metasurfaces,” Nano Lett. (2016)  (link).

H. W. Lee
, G. Papadakis, S. P. Burgos, K. Chander, A.         Kriesch, R. Pala, U. Peschel and H. A. Atwater, “Nanoscale conducting oxide plasMOStor,” Nano Lett. 14, 6463-6468 (2014). (link)

S. P. Burgos*, H. W. Lee*, E. Feigenbaum, R. M. Briggs and H. A. Atwater, “Synthesis and Characterization of Plasmonic Resonant Guided Wave Networks,” Nano Lett. 14, 3284-3292 (2014) (*Equal author contribution). (link)

H. W. Lee, M. A. Schmidt and P. St.J. Russell, “Excitation of a nanowire "molecule" in gold-filled photonic crystal fiber,” Opt. Lett. 37, 2946-2948 (2012). (link)                             (Highlighted in vol. 6, p.501 Nature Photonics “Metal-filled fibres”)

G. K. L. Wong, M. S. Kang, H. W. Lee, F. Biancalana, C. Conti, T. Weiss and P. St.J. Russell, “Orbital angular momentum resonances in helically twisted photonic crystal fiber,” Science 337, 446-449 (2012). (link)   (Highlighted in Laser focus world, Photonics.com and Phys.org)

H. W. Lee et al., “Polarization-dependent coupling to plasmon modes on submicron gold wire in photonic crystal fiber,” Appl. Phys. Lett. 93, 111102 (2008). (link)                                           (Highlighted in Vol. 18, Iss. 13 Virtual Journal for Nanoscale science and Technology)


March 2018
Howard represented Baylor to present our research at the "Baylor Research at the Hill" event in DC. (link)
February 2018
Howard is awarded for the 2018 NSF CAREER AwardThis award allows him to develop an integrated program of research and education focused on nanoscale tunable metasurface devices. Congratulation! (news)
February 2018
Qiannan completed her visiting at Baylor and return to China. Goodbye and good luck, Qiannan!
February 2018
Khant's paper on ENZ optical fiber is published in Scientific Report. Congrats!
February 2018
Oleksiy's paper on ALD fabricated AZO absorber is published in Material Research Express. Congrats!
January 2018
Quandong Huang from City University of Hong Kong joined us as visiting scholar. Welcome Quandong!
October 2017
Howard is selected as one of the ten 2018 OSA Ambassador. Congratulation!  (news)
October 2017
Catherine and Howard are selected for the "Robert S. Hyer Award" as a pair of student and research advisor for their work on zero-index materials for ultra-thin optical devices. Congratulations!
October 2017
Dr. Subhajit Bej from University of Eastern Finland  joins our group as postdoc fellow. Welcome Subhajit!
September 2017
Jingyi received Shim C. Park and Theresa Park Memorial Physics Scholarship. Congratulation!
September 2017
SPIE Student Chapter at Baylor University is officially formed. Thanks Jingyi for making this happen!
September 2017
Howard presented in the DARPA YFA Kick-off meeting and officially received the YFA award. (news).
August 2017
Howard is awarded the 2017 DARPA Young Faculty Award. Congratulation!
July 2017
Howard organized a successful session in META 2017 conference on "Advanced Passive and Active Metasurfaces" with Prof. Din Ping Tsai (Academia Sinica Taiwan) . Thank you all the invited speakers to present in the session! 
July-August 2017
Howard presented invited talks in META, CLEO-RIM, ICOCN conferences in Korea, Singapore and China. 
May 2017
Howard presented an invited talk in SPP8 conference. Thank you Prof. Din Ping Tsai for the invitation!
May 2017
Howard is selected for the Baylor Young Investigator Development Award ! 
March 2017
Lee's group receive undergraduate Research and Scholarly Achievement (URSA) Award!
March 2017
Welcome Jinqiannan joins us as visiting scientist from Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications
March 2017
Two of our papers on LIBS are published in Optics Express and Journal of Modern Optics. Congrats to Jeremy!
Jan 2017
Howard gave an invited talk and organized a session in nanostructured optical fiber in PQE 2017
November 2016
Dr. Satyendra Kumar Mishra from City University of Hong Kong joined us as a Postdoctoral Fellow. Welcome Satyendra!
September 2016
Our recent paper on "Gate-tunable conducting oxide metasurfaces,” is published in Nano Lett. (link)