Awards‎ > ‎

Student Scholarships

Felix Rodriguez and Jim Wanket
The California Geographical Society has moved its web presence to

Please bookmark the new page.

The CGS annually awards scholarships to college and university geography students to further their education.  The primary award is the David Lantis scholarship, given each year to one graduate and one undergraduate student.

The David Lantis Student Scholarship is named after the organization’s seventh president, from CSU Chico. David Lantis received the Distinguished Service Award in 1976 and was named Outstanding Educator in 1991. Now deceased, Lantis authored numerous articles and textbooks including a California geography textbook used by educators throughout the state. He was a strong supporter of the California Geographical Society.

Pictured above is 2014 winner Felix Rodriguez recieving congratulations from Jim Wanket.

The award is made during the annual conference each spring.  For details direct your browser to the upcoming conference webpage.   There you will find a flier regarding the application process.

Past Lantis Scholarship Recipients

2015 Stephanie Lopez, CSU Stanislaus (undergraduate)
Heather Lewis, CSU Stanislaus  (graduate)

2014  Felix Rodriguez, CSU Northridge (undergraduate)
 Anay Palafox, CSU Fullerton (graduate)
 Matthew Wigginton Conway, UC Santa Barbara (undergraduate)
 Zia Salim, San Diego State, UC Santa Barbara  (graduate)
Rose Ramirez, Saddleback College (undergraduate) 
Stacie A. Townsend, UC Davis (graduate)
Natasha Hanley, CSU Stanislaus (graduate)
Brittany Gale, Saddleback College (undergraduate)
Rosamaria Rosen-Teeple, UC Davis (graduate)
Elizabeth Bettencourt Machado, CSU Stanislaus (undergraduate)
Mae Frantz, California State University, Stanislaus (graduate) 
Jenny Novack, University of Southern California (undergraduate)
Diana Muncy, Humboldt State (undergraduate)
Kim Pham, California State University, Fullerton (graduate)
Daniel Hermstad, San Francisco State University (undergraduate)
Amy Marie McGrann, UC Davis (graduate)
Subpages (1): Student Travel Award