Awards‎ > ‎

Friend of Geography

Jim Wanket and Jerry Rohde
In 1995 the first Friend of Geography Award was established to recognize persons who, though perhaps outside the organizational structure or membership of the California Geographical Society, have nevertheless contributed mightily to the cause of geography in California (and beyond). The first award was given to Frank Baughman, DDS of Porterville. It has been awarded irregularly since, but always to deserving recipients.

Jerry Rohde (right) accepts the Friend of Geography Award in 2015 from President Jim Wanket

Past Recipients of the Friend of Geography Award
Year Name Affilation
 2015 Jerry Rohde     Humboldt State University
 2014Gary Booher        Los Angeles Geographical Society
2013 Eugene Turner California State University, Northridge
2012 Robert and Bobbé Christopherson American River College / Prentice - Hall - Geosystems
2011 Barbara Gleghorn and Scotty Weurker Environmental Activists - Palos Verde
2010 Steve Koletty
University of Southern California
2009 Gail Hobbs Pierce College
2008 Pam Figge California State University Chico 
2007 Marcia Fagan Principal, Kimberly Elementary School 
2006 [none awarded]  
2005 [none awarded]  
2004 Tom McKnight Memorial, UCLA
2004 Stuart Allan Allan Cartography, Raven Maps & Images, Benchmark Atlases
2003 [none awarded]  
2002 [none awarded]  
2001 Joan Clemons UCLA
2000 Yumiko Tsuneyoshi San Diego State University
1999 [none awarded]  
1998 Jack Dangermond Environmental Systems Research Institute
1997 Joseph Beaton Cal Poly Pomona
1996 Beth Cantrell Thomas Brothers Maps Educational Foundation
1995 Frank Baughman DDS, Porterville
Special Awards
1994 Huell Howser KCET Television
1975 Carl Nelson Denoyer-Geppert Co.