Department at a Glance

Department of Biosciences was established under the developmental grants of UGC during the IV Five-year plan in the year 1978. Department of Biosciences offers Masters course in Biosciences with three different streams viz. Zoology, Botany, and Microbiology. Department also offers M.Sc. Microbiology on self-financed mode. The Curriculum is based on the UGC-CSIR NET Life Sciences syllabus with Choice Based Credit System (CBCS). Department offers M.Phil. and Ph.D. in the area of Environmental Biology, Medicinal Plants, Plant Tissue Culture and Industrial Microbiology as well as Environmental Microbiology. more than 100 students have been awarded Ph.D. degree in various subjects.

Recently, Department has been recognized by UGC for Special Assistance Programme (SAP-DRS-II) with thrust area of environmental toxicology and ecogenomics. Faculties of the department have been completed several research projects funded by National and International funding agencies like CSIR, ICMR, NPC, DST, UGC, DOD, UNESCO, and ONGC. Department had signed as MOU with Kagoshima University of Japan along with Department of Chemistry and Aquatic Biology.

Department has well-equipped laboratories with good analytical instruments like HPTLC, HPLC, PCR, UV- VIS Spectrophotometer and Carl Zeis and Nikon Photo microscopes with fluorescence, phase contrast and dark field microscopy facilities. Department has bioinformatics and PARAM SHAVAK supercomputer facility from the GUJCOST. Shri Bapalal Vaidya Botanical Research Center which is part of Bioscience Department has been established in 1994 with donations from public to conduct research in medicinal plants. About 10 Postgraduate students are offered free studentships every year from the Department Fund. Department also offers three UGC fellowships for pursuing doctoral degree. 

About University

Veer Narmad South Gujarat University is a public university located in the Surat city of Gujarat, India, one of the fastest growing city in India. The University was originally established under the South Gujarat University Act, 1965 passed by the Gujarat State Legislative Assembly and was renamed in 2004 in honor of the famous scholar and Gujarati poet Veer Narmad. The University has endeavored to be an institution of excellence in higher education since its existence, keeping in view of the regional needs and the emerging trends in the global scenario. The University, re-accredited 'A' grade with 3.02 CGPA by NAAC in 2017. Incorporated in 1967, the university offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses.  The university offers nearly 30 Graduate and 37 Post Graduate, 6 PG Diploma and 18 Diploma programmes in 25 Post Graduate Departments, 85 Grant-in-Aid Colleges, 161 Self-financed Colleges/institutions and 40 Post Graduate Teaching Centres under 12 faculties.