Earle J. Gluck Training Award

Image result for earle J gluckEarle J. Gluck (May 23, 1900 – February 19, 1972), was a radio pioneer, born in Maryland. One of the originators of WBT-AM in Charlotte, NC. The station dates to December 1920, when Fred Laxton, Earle Gluck and Fred Bunker set up an amateur radio station in Laxton's home. Four months later, the station received an experimental license as 4XD. The trio decided to go commercial in 1922, and incorporated as the Southern Radio Corporation. In April, the station signed on as the first fully licensed radio station south of Washington, D.C. WSB in Atlanta was the first station in the Southeast to actually broadcast, a month before WBT. However, the Commerce Department only authorized WSB to broadcast weather reports until it received its license a few months after WBT.

Gluck then moved on to Charlotte's WSOC, for which he was also an originator, and was also a pioneer in Amateur Radio and was active in the hobby from its infancy. He also was an active community leader and served on the Housing Authority of the city. He was a charter member of the Charlotte Amateur Radio Club and was instrumental in offering guidance and advice in its organization. Gluck also served in organizations such as the Kiwanis Club, Civitan Club and the Boy Scouts of America. He died in Charlotte, NC. After he became a Silent Key, his wife donated some of his amateur radio equipment to the Club.

In 2007, he was admitted into the Radio Hall of Fame.

1975 Mike Elliott 1976 Shirley Ferguson 1977 Roy Segee 1978 Julius Pinkston  1979 Joel Moser
1980 Jim Hancock 1981 Al Selby 1982 Susan Wampler 1983 Louise Fair 1984 Harold Patterson
1985 Phil Briggs 1986 Patsy Patterson 1987 Charles Knight 1988  Willis Joseph 1989 Barbara Bogan
Zeke Clark
1990 JoAnn Lee
Dave Marquis
1991 Susanne Miles
Dave Campbell
1992 Maria Lemke
John Ashworth III
1993 George Maillet
Peggy Maillet
1994 Mary Horne
Stephen Pace
1995 Don Whitehead
Max Treece
1996 Bill Tyler
Joy Tyler
1997 Al Ferrell 1998 Marvin Bethune 1999 Emily Pentecost
2000 David Keller
Staton Boyette
2001 Jeff Worboys
Bruce Fowler
2002 Kenn Bullock
Dwight McKnight
Bill Womack
2003 Larry Banks
Dick Parks
Del Whittaker
2004 Tanya Hartje
Stan Nester
David Royster
2005 Bob Marum
Jim Sutton
Tom Ward
2006 Dave Evans
Greg Jednak
Mark Morris
2007 Micheal Hartje
Lon Nigro
Eddy Via
2008 Roger McFadyen
Bob McLaughlin
Andrew Woodard
2009 Barry Douthitt
Don Eaker
Susan Eaker
Peter Heikes
Miriam Olynick
Bill Rose
2010 Jim Goda
Ken Hilton
Mark Spisak
Ben Yarborough
2011 Bob Coughlin
Craig Orr
Darin Reynolds
Darren Seigler
2012 Donnie Crump
Christopher Gamble
Bob Lang
John Lee
2013 Dan Hardesty
Rick Jensen
Rick Messina
Peter Olynick
2014 Julia Sain
Paul Summers
Dennis Tucker
Michael Turner
Scott Whitlock
2015 James K. Flynn
Mike Malysko
Steve Mazur
Kristine McGuire
David Ruggles
Ricky Williams (Youth)
2016 David Crowe
Malinda Cobb
Steve Cannon
Kendall McAteer
Zach Rose
Nick Zanzot
2017 Joe Ernst
Catherine Howard
John McLean
McKenna Jahns