History of Troop 942

Our Troop was first chartered in 1937, sponsored by the Moffitt Bible Class, Steele Street Methodist Church.  Initially identified as Troop 42, a prefix, 9, was added to the Troop number in 1956, to signify the Scouting District the Troop was in, making the Troop number 942.  In 1974, the church moved to the current Wicker Street location, and was renamed Saint Luke United Methodist Church.

Troop 942 is the oldest continually operating troop in Lee County.  2012 marked our 75th anniversary.


1937-1961    AC Hood
Photos and clippings 1937-61
1962         Dalton O'Guin
1963-1964    Duncan McRae
1965-1966    Fletcher Rosser
1967-1973    Dan Jones
1974-1975    Jimmie Wicker
1976         Jimmy Bridges
1977         Dan Jones
1978-1982    Tom Lee
1983-1985    Bill Rudeseal
1986         Barry Souders
1987-1996    DP Dusenbury
1997-2005    Ralph Meeks
2006-2014    Danny Barber
2015-2018    Kevin Kirkman
2018-Current Roger Lyons

Silver Beaver


 The Silver Beaver Award is the distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America.  It is the highest adult award presented at the council level.  Recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council. 

Troop 942 is fortunate to have had several leaders that have put in the hard work, sacrifice, dedication and years of service to have qualified for and been awarded the Silver Beaver Award.

          AC Hood (1953)

          Dan Jones (1974)

          Jimmie Wicker (1979)

          Barry Souders (1982)

          DP Dusenbury (1995)

Courage in Action Award

The Courage in Action Award was established in 2009 in memory of our friend, leader, and Eagle Scout, Lewis C. Lawrence, Jr.  Recipients are Scouts of Boy Scout Troop 942 that have worked diligently to overcome obstacles in their Scouting journey.  The Courage in Action Award is presented annually, at the Scout Sunday service.

Recipients have been:

    2009 Curtis Hickerson

    2010 Zachary Hunsucker

    2011 Riley Gray

    2012 Dean Lessick

    2013 Jake Patterson

    2014 Calvin Moore
    2015 Korey LeMaster
    2016 Tanner Carroll
    2017 Bryson Lyons