Religious Emblems Program

A Scout is reverent. He is reverent toward God. He is faithful in his religious duties and respects the convictions of others in matters of custom and religion.

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, religious groups have developed the following religious emblems programs. The Boy Scouts of America has approved of these programs and allows the emblems to be worn on the official uniform. The various religious groups administer the programs. Check with your local council service center or contact the religious organization directly to obtain the curriculum booklets.

Four Steps To Get Started

1. Youth members must obtain the specific booklet for their religion. This booklet will contain information on all the lessons and service projects that they will need to complete. Each member needs to have his or her own booklet to document progress. Some religions also provide adult manuals for counselors and mentors. Check with the Quapaw Scout Shop, 3220 Cantrell Rd. in Little Rock to see if it stocks these booklets in its store, or contact the religious organization directly. The Chart of Religious Emblems lists all applicable religions and contains the addresses of those to contact for manuals if they cannot be obtained at the Scout Shop. Just "Click" the "Chart Above" to go to the website.

2. Parents must review the specific guidelines for their particular program: age/grade requirements vary from program to program; some programs require that the youth be an official “member” of the local religious institution, others may not; and each program determines who may serve as counselor (some require clergy, others allow parents or other family members). Be sure to look at specific eligibility guidelines!

3. Families should talk to their religious leaders and show them the booklet before beginning any program. Most of the religious emblems programs require that they be completed under the auspices of that religious organization, and many require the signature of the local religious leader. Again, check the specific eligibility requirements for your religious program.

4. The young person needs to complete the requirements, obtain the proper signatures, and follow the instructions to order the emblem/award. The emblem can be presented at any time of the year and should be presented in a meaningful ceremony, preferably in the member’s religious institution.

Key Points to Remember:
  • Each Scout will earn the religious emblem for his specific faith
  • Parents and religious leaders are the teachers, not the unit leader
  • Most religious emblems programs have more than one level. A young person who has earned a religious emblem as a younger Scout, may progress to the next level and earn another emblem.

  • The universal square knot is worn over the left shirt pocket of the Scout uniform. 


Useful Links for Religious Emblems Program

We would be very proud if our Scouts earned their religious emblems. Please talk with your child about these programs. Even though this is a project that will be done with your family and your clergy, we are interested in your child’s progress and want to encourage him as much as possible.

John McAlister,
Jul 10, 2014, 12:15 AM