Curriculum for Excellence has been introduced to raise standards of learning and teaching for all 3 to 18 year olds. It aims to help prepare children and young people with the knowledge and skills they need in a fast changing world.

One of the key entitlements of Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) is that all children should receive a rounded education, known as a broad general education, from early years through to the end of S3, before moving on to a senior phase in S4 to S6 which will include studying for qualifications. This provides your child with a wide range of knowledge, skills and exciting experiences that they can draw on as their lives, careers and job opportunities continue to change.

The 3-18 curriculum aims to ensure that all children and young people in Scotland develop the attributes, knowledge and skills they will need to flourish in life, learning and work.    The knowledge, skills and attributes learners will develop will allow them to demonstrate four key capacities – to be successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors.

Developing skills and attributes

It aims to develop four capacities, helping children to become:

  • Successful learners
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens
  • Effective contributors

Find out more about the four capacities.

Planning learning experiences and positive outcomes

The experiences and outcomes are an essential part of Scotland’s new curriculum and apply wherever learning is planned. They show progression in learning and set challenging standards that will equip young people to meet the challenges of the 21st century.

The title 'experiences and outcomes' recognises the importance of the quality and nature of the learning experience in developing attributes and capabilities and in achieving active engagement, motivation and depth of learning. An outcome represents what is to be achieved.

The experiences and outcomes are used both to assess progress in learning and to plan next steps.

The curriculum

The curriculum includes all of the experiences which are planned for children and young people through their education, wherever they are being educated. These experiences are grouped into four categories.

  • Curriculum areas and subjects 
    The curriculum areas are the organisers for setting out the experiences and outcomes. Each area contributes to the four capacities.
  • Interdisciplinary learning 
    How the curriculum should include space for learning beyond subject boundaries.
  • Ethos and life of the school 
    The starting point for learning is a positive ethos and climate of respect and trust based upon shared values across the school community.
  • Opportunities for personal achievement 
    Pupils need opportunities for achievements both in the classroom and beyond, giving them a sense of satisfaction and building motivation, resilience and confidence.
How do we plan our curriculum in Braehead Primary?

Skills for Learning, Life and Work

Curriculum for Excellence