Sucre Official Capital of Bolivia

Sucre was founded on November 30, 1538 with the name Ciudad de la Plata de la Nueva Toledo by Pedro Anzures, Marqués de Campo Redondo. In 1538 the Spanish King Philip II established the Audiencia de Charcas in La Plata.



Sucre is called “The City of Four Names”. Each of them represents a specific era of the city's history.


-Charcas was the indigenous name for the place upon which the Spaniards built the colonial city.

- La Plata was the name given to the emerging Hispanic city of privilege and honor.

-The name Chuquisaca was bestowed upon the city during the independence era.

-Sucre from July 10, 1839, it honors Don Antonio Jose de Sucre the great marshal of the Battle of Ayacucho (fought in December 9, 1824).




As of the 2001 census, the city of Sucre had a population of 247,300. Sucre is the constitutional capital of Bolivia, seat of the Judicial Branch of the Bolivian government and it’s where the Supreme Court it’s located, Sucre is also capital of the Chuquisaca Department. Located in the south-central part of the country, Sucre lies at an altitude of 2750m (9,000ft). Its lower altitude gives the city a warm temperate climate year-round.